Social Tables Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Social Tables Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Social Tables CEO Dan Berger
Dan Berger
59 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I could go on and on about how much I love Social Tables and why! Would recommend to any of my friends! Great people, awesome workspace and office, collaborative environment, work hard/play hard with flexible vacation schedule, ability to take on different duties outside of your department, hardworking individuals and executive team and CEO who is incredibly transparent. We have weekly Happy Hours in the office and weekly meetings where our CEO will answer any questions you may have. We also have monthly Town Halls that allow the team to come together. Between HH, employee awards shows throughout the year, Family weekend, and many clubs, this is a great place to work! Incredibly happy in a great downtown location. We have a great product so working with our customers and clients is always fun!

    Cons

    We are a hospitality company so for the most part, people are inclusive. We focus a lot on culture, and sometimes forget that it isn't about who you know in the company but should be based on merit and performance. Long hours. Not given too much independence when it comes to your daily activity. Pressure does not come from above, but more from peers.

    Continue reading
    Social Tables2016-07-07

    Social Tables Response

    July 7, 2016VP of People Operations

    Hi Tabler - thanks for the review. When we revised our core values a few months ago "Data is Our Diplomat" was added specifically so that we make our decisions with a more performance based approach. If you ever find that you metrics are noticed or driving your advancement let's chat about that!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Family Matters!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the reviews on here talk about the awesome new office space; free snacks and soda; the fun social culture; and the exciting work that we do. All are true. I think one of the things that hasn't been written about much is something important to me and many like me who are both career-focused and family-oriented. A lot of what you'll see written in articles portrays Social Tables as a young, hip, fun, and hard-working environment. While definitely the case, I will say from first-hand experience that the company is also flexible and extremely supportive of changes in lifestyle--from having kids to moving cross country. As long as you prove your worth, continue to work hard, and contribute as a high performer, they understand that family comes first. This is just a great example of a young company continuing to adapt to curveballs thrown its way during its growth phase. So far I have been impressed with the way everything has been handled--yes, even some of the negative things that have gone on.

    Cons

    This isn't necessarily a "con" as much as it is a heads up to anyone considering employment with Social Tables. The work is challenging and the pace is fast. You need to be ready to come to work every day and shrug off some stressful situations. One of our mottos is: "fail fast and often."

    Continue reading
    Social Tables2016-04-11

    Social Tables Response

    April 12, 2016VP of People Operations

    Thanks for the review. I'm glad that you feel supported and that you posted this view of the company.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "I <3 Social Tables"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Tables

    Pros

    Social Tables is truly a hospitality company - everyone who works here and everyone we work with is genuinely caring and wonderful to interact with. On top of that, ST has all the best perks of any great tech start-up: fast paced environment, industry transforming technology, upward mobility, bright pink walls & fun conference spaces, hover-board & razors for in-office transportation, unlimited PTO, extremely intelligent managers... on and on.

    Cons

    No pets allowed in the office :(

    Social Tables2016-03-16
  4. Helpful (25)

    "A company in need of a serious wakeup call"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New office is nice. Some people are great and work really hard! CMO is great and should be a model of how things should be done.

    Cons

    Social Tables has all of the elements on the facade of a great company- a new office, startup culture, and young employees who work long hours. You can think of Social Tables like an onion. Once you start working here, it feels like a dream job, and then as you start to peel back layers (as you are there longer), you realize that there are some serious issues with the company. It starts from the top with in-experienced leadership. CEO is far too personal with some employees and lets friendships interfere with good management (and unwarranted promotions or opportunities). There is much pettiness involved- as is the case when valuable people left much to the chagrin of the CEO- and secrecy surrounding what really happened. You say the company has won a lot of industry awards for being so awesome?! Well- when you begin to realize that these awards are won due to one person writing in a sterling review of the company and not a general consensus, those awards begin to look fairly artificial. Apart from the young leadership up top (well, some older C level talent is being hired now) there is young and first time leadership and managing happening throughout the organization and it is clear based upon performance. The younger managers are really not in a position to be managing anyone - they do not instill confidence and are ineffective at leading the company forward and getting employees to be better versions of themselves (1 caveat is the CMO who is great and has a happy department despite his young age (so, it can be done)). Now- top level talent- well you can say goodbye to them because this company is either purging themselves of talent through firings that are questionable at best (get ready for all of your internal communications to be read by suspicious and petty leadership) or talented individuals across the company are leaving to pursue better opportunities that pay a decent wage for DC standards. Now- don't go complaining about salary at Social Tables, because the CEO will enter an emotionally anger charger tear filled speech to the entire company about how that "is ridiculous". Many employees are seeking to leave, top talent has already left, and management can't seem to find a solution to the many shortcomings of the company. Do yourself a favor and seek alternate employment if possible. A former top employee said so them self that, "the 3 year outlook of this company doesn't look great and it most likely won't be around). Get ready for an incredibly understanding and forceful reply from the VP of People in the comments section and take what you will from it. **You may note that there are so many great reviews posted on here besides this one- those are requested at the behest of leadership to help with hiring**

    Continue reading
    Social Tables2016-03-19

    Social Tables Response

    March 22, 2016VP of People Operations

    Hi Tabler - thanks for your feedback. I do respond to every post here good or bad to acknowledge that we've seen it and that we take your views seriously. I appreciate the feedback and welcome any suggestions you have to improve - we have several tools to help you with that, Dan and I each have office hours each week or if you need to be anonyomous you can use our weekly survey.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Smart People, Fun Environment, Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time

    Pros

    The people are SMART and driven to maintain and grow this successful company, but we have a ton of fun while doing it. The core values are not just something written on a website, but engrained into every decision made on a daily basis. Social Tables' personality can be seen in our brand new office- from the hot pink elevator bank to the meeting room with spin bikes in it we are definitely enjoying our home in Metro Center. I truly look forward to going to work every day, and when I'm not at work I'm bugging my friends and family with stories of all the awesome things I'm doing at Social Tables.

    Cons

    Change happens fast and often, if you like a lot of set rules and need a lot of structure to be successful this might not be the best fit for you. It's also definitely not a place that you can come to work and be on Facebook all day- each member of the company is critical to it's success and you have to be excited for that challenge.

    Continue reading
    Social Tables2015-12-31

    Social Tables Response

    December 31, 2015VP of People Operations

    Thanks for the review. I think we are all pretty excited about the new office!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "The place to be! Don't miss out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onboarding process is fantastic. Lots of talented people to work with. Company culture is great! Beautiful and accommodating place to work at. We know how to work hard and have fun at the same time! Social Tables software provides the best in class technology that brings properties and planners together. Everybody wants a piece of the pie - don't miss out!

    Cons

    A LOT OF CHANGE. If you don't like change and music, this is not the place for you!

    Continue reading
    Social Tables2015-12-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, young people who are fun but very professional.

    Cons

    Fast paced environment that is constantly changing (for the better), but it can be hard to keep up with if you don't like constant change.

    Social Tables2015-11-02

    Social Tables Response

    November 2, 2015VP of People Operations

    Thanks for the review!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product is revolutionary in the hospitality industry Customers love the product

    Cons

    Cramped Working Conditions In the growth phase.

    Continue reading
    Social Tables2015-08-24

    Social Tables Response

    August 24, 2015VP of People Operations

    Thanks for the review. Hold in there. Nice spacious new office coming in December 2015!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Fast paced, enthusiastic environment with driven employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Development Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a ton of pros to working at Social Tables, but the constantly evolving environment is definitely number one. Social Tables is filled with young, enthusiastic people who are full of passion and drive. This means that you get to surround yourself with people who are hungry to be the absolute best that they can be. We are encouraged to take on new projects and push ourselves to constantly improve. I can honestly say that has led to me learning more in the last year and a half than I did in all of my previous jobs. I'm involved in projects that I would have never dreamed of and given responsibilities that usually fall to those much more senior than myself. Thanks to the faith Social Tables shows in its employees and the opportunities that faith provides, I have springboarded my career by at least 5 years. Becoming part of the ST family was the best career decision I could have made!

    Cons

    Because Social Tables is a young, drive company where employees are given ample opportunity to stretch themselves and learn more, we work a lot of hours with the expectation that we will produce high quality work and be constantly evolving/learning. If you aren't the kind of person that does well in a super fast paced environment, Social Tables may not be the best fit for you.

    Social Tables2015-07-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Team, Exciting Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Social Tables full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The chance to work with new/exciting technology, you really get the feeling that you are doing things that have never been before/you are pushing technological boundaries.Everyone around is clearly very excited about what they are doing and it's hard not to get excited yourself. A definite feeling of autonomy and that you control where you are going in the organization.

    Cons

    Th downside to the upside of autonomy is that guidance can be lacking at teams on what it takes to go where. This works for people some people like myself but others may struggle with it so be aware. The hours can be long and a lot of people put in a lot of time so if you're looking for the typical corporate hour structure this is probably not your cup of tea.

    Continue reading
    Social Tables2015-07-13
Found 68 reviews