Smashbox Cosmetics Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Smashbox Cosmetics Reviews

Updated 23 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
50%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Smashbox Cosmetics Brand President  Beth DiNardo
Beth DiNardo
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Gratis, Great co-workers (SOME), Dog friendly(in 7 reviews)

  • "great discount and company support(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "The only con I had was that there wasn't a position for me to move up into, but there is room to grow in your position and take on more work(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Make Up Artist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashbox Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great allocation Been creative Great training Great products Targets realistic

    Cons

    Was very clique in management and alot of favoritism But since have had new management

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-09-23
  2. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Smashbox Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    Education Commission People Discount Experience

    Cons

    Salaries Management Commission Progression Support

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-04-17
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashbox Cosmetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They give you oppprtunities to train at their nearest headquarters, ie seasonal school and for big launches

    Cons

    Not really makeup related, all intense sales target based Intense probationary period, no room at all for absences and you need to be hitting your targets 100% and very good IPT always or else they probably won’t offer you a longer contract with the company

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-03-25
  4. "Good job for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashbox Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    Lots of great training

    Cons

    Not the best pay/ no benefits

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-02-05
  5. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smashbox Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great discount and company support

    Cons

    can not think of any cons

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-07-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashbox Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount on Estée Lauder brands was good

    Cons

    Started off great working there, company went downhill over the years. No room to grow in the business Area manager completely ignored our counter for months - no response even when I quit No support from higher managers

    Advice to Management

    The management need to pay attention to their staff, I had no counter manager for 8 months so I had no commission, and my area manager ignored the hundreds of messages that I sent to her - even the email to tell her that I resigned. The company started off good but became the worst job ever, it felt like there was no support from the brand

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-07-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Makeup Artistry in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smashbox Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount on products Free style uniform

    Cons

    Very much laidback management

    Advice to Management

    To be more fair and caring

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-06-04
  8. "For more advanced Makeup artists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashbox Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, good teamwork, Nice coworkers

    Cons

    Not allowed to fail. PERIOD.

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-04-17
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Wish I had better things to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smashbox Cosmetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Pay exceeds the industry norms -Gratis

    Cons

    I truly wish I had better things to say about working for this company. I came on board with many years of industry experience and career successes under my belt, with high hopes. Unfortunately, terrible management and a extremely unprofessional atmosphere runs rampant throughout the cosmetics side of Smashbox. There are seasoned Smashbox veterans who are rude, catty, and overbearing. I observed and experienced multiple bad business practices during my short time there. They gaslight their employees and make them feel like they are the problem, when really the company is struggling because of the extremely poor leadership. After massive restructuring people were thrown into jobs that they clearly were not ready for and it shows. They only enforce policies when it benefits them, and favoritism runs rampant. My advice to anyone being courted to work for Smashbox Cosmetics is to think twice. They will offer a great sum of money, but the company culture is pretty terrible. I’m happy to say that after moving on from Smashbox with some good but hard lessons learned, I am with a company I adore who are a great example of what a well run business should be.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your field team needs massive restructuring. Smashbox needs a new look, vision, and mission. You can’t demand change from your employees with poor leaders at the top.

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-04-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smashbox Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Since it’s owned by Estée Lauder Companies, there’s a comprehensive benefits package, i.e. 401K, Full medical, dental, vision, paid maternity & paternity leave, flexible summer hours, etc.

    Cons

    Horrible leadership and management. Toxic work environment. Brand itself has lost its vision and identity.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better people and quit hemmoraghing money in the wrong places. Invest in better products and better packaging. Influencers can only take you so far.

    Smashbox Cosmetics2019-03-06
Found 56 reviews