Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company CEO Bob Pryor (no image)
Bob Pryor
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Work life balance in company(in 13 reviews)

  • "Sound financial management, challenging assignments, good people that generally practice transparency and like each other(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Inconsistent raises across the board have led to frustration of some really great people(in 4 reviews)

  • "No cons that i ever experienced(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "NTT Data, Noida"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance Great chances of growing internally

    Cons

    Poor in wage revision 10 hrs shift is too much

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-10-15
  2. "Software engineer senior associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company

    Pros

    Good Work life balance in company

    Cons

    No carer growth or hike.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-08-22
  3. "Overall a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Sierra really cares about their people, and demonstrates integrity both internally and externally in all that they do. Great work life balance has been a huge asset.

    Cons

    Inconsistent raises across the board have led to frustration of some really great people. Lack of sponsored/focused training opportunities besides self-directed via online learning portal.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the key staff you need to retain in order to stay competitive, and ensure they feel valued through appropriate raises and interesting training opportunities.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2018-08-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to build a career, and awesome people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best part about Sierra, hands down, is the people. They're 95% really smart, driven people who are awesome at what they do. The 5% that doesn't fit that often doesn't stick around. Being able to rely on the people you work with to do what they need to do makes the day-to-day so much better. Also, I really get the sense that the senior leadership cares about the people and what they're doing. Sierra is... very flexible when it comes to work-life balance, and that's extremely important to me. Plus their Career Adviser program is a huge boon to anyone wanting a career versus a job.

    Show More

    Cons

    It can take a while for changes to happen, especially when rising through the ranks. Sierra has a culture of "if you want a promotion, do the work you want to be promoted into, then if it works out we'll give you the promotion", which can be a bit of a pain sometimes, but I can understand. Sometimes the only way to get the pay you're worth is to leave and re-join the company.

    Advice to Management

    Take a hard look at areas which have consistently under-performed year over year, and make sure it's still the best strategic thing to float those locations.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2017-10-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time

    Pros

    great culture. great benefit. great work/life balance.

    Cons

    lack of communication. can feel isolated at times.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2017-09-22
  6. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunities to work with various technologies Work Life balance is fair

    Cons

    yearly increments are not great

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2017-03-02
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is the right size to be able to tackle larger, interesting projects, but not so big that you can't pick up the phone and connect with someone on another project. Senior leadership team members routinely visit the various offices and know the employees. Plenty of chances to meet with colleagues at meetings and office events. Pay is good, and there is access to flexible/reduced work hours. There is a... consideration of people's need for work/life balance that I appreciate.

    Show More

    Cons

    The benefits (except for the RRSP match) are only average compared to other places I've worked. There seems to be a lack of access to different varieties of projects.

    Advice to Management

    Keep engaged with employees. In the challenging Alberta market it helps to know that you are valued and not just a line item on a spreadsheet.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2016-12-08
  8. "Senior Recruiter/Resource Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Recruiter/Resource Manager/Account Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent Culture, great people, good work life balance.

    Cons

    No room for advancement in my field. (Resource Management)

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2015-10-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good, not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sierra is a good company with lots of interesting work. I get the impression that the people actually care about you as a person and try to maintain a reasonable work-life balance for people. Opportunities for career growth.

    Cons

    You really need to fight for signficant changes in compensation. The company policy seems to be wait until they quit and see if they can do anything to make you stay. Most of the time the answer is rightfully - no. Also compensation for middle management is totally messed up. They aren't eligible or incented to go on the hourly models because they have a non-billable component to their job duties. As a result... the people under them are often making more than they are!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your middle management (principals and directors) are the stars. Take care of them before they leave!

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2015-05-22
  10. "Work/life balance encouraged!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, work/life balance is encouraged, team driven and there is always an incredible show of support for staff experiencing a trying time.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth within the company.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2014-04-11
Found 13 reviews