Shell Energy Retail "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Shell Energy Retail Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated 29 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Shell Energy Retail CEO Colin Crooks
Colin Crooks
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pension scheme could be improved(in 20 reviews)

  • "You don't get sick pay for the first few days which is a shame(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent working environment without pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent working environment without pressure

    Cons

    I really didn't find any cons working here

    Advice to Management

    Good going

    Shell Energy Retail2019-11-29
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Credit Specialist 

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time

    Pros

    Working environment, door to door service

    Cons

    Shifting, politics, shared service so far from stakeholders

    Shell Energy Retail2019-10-17
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Risk Specialist in Durban
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Competitive salary 2. Conducive working environment 3. Great staff

    Cons

    High labour turnover Immediate resignation so

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Shell Energy Retail2019-04-22
  4. "First Utility - Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very engaging and always have the best interests at heart for all employees. Very flexible working environment and great team spirit.

    Cons

    Can sometimes get very hectic with little time to reflect.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-02-11
  5. "The Life At First Utility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Advisor Home Movers in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great atmosphere - Friendly, approachable working environment - So much opportunity to develop and gain experience in multiple areas whether that be Sales, Customer Service, Billing, Test Analysis, Business Analysis, Product. Myself personally receive so much opportunity to develop my skills purely from showing willingness to learn and the capability of the ability I possess. - Great Channel Manager and Team... Manager support - Great to build communication and networking skills. - Overall a fab company to work for.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Staff tariff could still do with some improvements. - Whilst opportunity comes in great amounts. Interview prep is not. Helping individuals face the interview environment would be a great help. I have a an extensive PDP but due to having OCD, fail at the interview stage due to not being able to articulate myself in the false environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep excelling and improving. I've seen great work and development in the three years I've worked here.

    Shell Energy Retail2018-04-12
  6. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time

    Pros

    High paced, modern working environment with some excellent leaders. Internal development of colleagues is high on the agenda with a culture of looking out for the customer and each other. Also a Tech led business, which makes you feel like you work for more than just an average energy company. Firstperks allows colleagues to save money on everything from Christmas shopping to the next holiday away, 25 days... holiday and competitive salaries.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pension/Paternity/Maternity meets minimum statutory requirement

    Advice to Management

    We lose too many good people due to restrictive pay increase policies when applying for internal vacancies.

    Shell Energy Retail2017-12-11
  7. "Innovative and Entrepreneurial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, accessible leadership, entrepreneurial spirit, no blame culture, nice working environment, can do and get things done attitude, feel valued as a member of staff, innovative and technology led, willing to take risks, customer focused

    Cons

    multi site location (soon being fixed!)

    Advice to Management

    Organisational structure needs to be adjusted to support multi product strategy

    Shell Energy Retail2017-11-02
  8. "Great People & Great Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Interim Human Resources Manager in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail for less than a year

    Pros

    As a challenger utility company, the enthusiasm and camaraderie of the people in the business is very evident. This is a company that has grown rapidly and the people I work with couldn't be better. The working environment is very good. The offices are well equipped and modern. Meeting rooms, rest rooms and restaurant are all well equipped and nicely decorated. The technology is also up to date and good to use.... The business is forward looking and is clearly going places despite the challenges in the broader industry. But it's the people that make working life a pleasure or a pain and in the case of First Utility, they are definitely a big positive.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's early days, but from a work perspective I haven't got any complaints. However, the benefits package could do with modernising and I know this is something that is actively being worked on

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving forward, keep hold of all these great people and to do that, maybe invest a little bit more in benefits in the future

    Shell Energy Retail2017-11-08
  9. "First Utility Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good progression opportunities , a lot of scope to move teams and to move up. Great colleagues create a friendly and relaxed working environment which makes the office welcoming.

    Cons

    Only receive statutory maternity/paternity pay!!!

    Advice to Management

    Improvements could be made to internal communications, as can be slow to come out and reactive to events rather than prior notice.

    Shell Energy Retail2017-10-20
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Promises much, delivers little"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    #Fairly steady income #Nice office (that we are moving out of) #Nice working environment

    Cons

    # Lack of a pay rise #Poor career development # No room to develop new skills/training #None existant Mat/Pat pay #New positions are filled before or without being advertised / interviewed for #Severe lack of cross department communication #No benefits / bonus #Lack of parking spaces

    Advice to Management

    There are a few major issues. I along with most of my team have never had adequate training for the roles that we do. A large part of this stems from the fact that departments do not speak to each other. There are so many tools that could make my job a lot easier which I don't have access to and for reasons unexplained am not given training on. It just seems to be excuse after excuse. Issues with pay as well,... yes starting wage for most roles is competitive but swapping roles isn't some people are held to a 10% only increase on their current role with other people being given what they want. (a friend of mine got a 25% increase, where as I got 10%). Which is one of the many inconsistencies that come from HR. Not to mention the fact in another team a member of staff has been made the new manager of the team without the role being advertised or interviewed for. There are many cases of if you face doesn't fit you won't have any support or help to progress and most managers have their 'favorites' but I believe this was a step too far. The lack of good progression routes, wage increases, bonus scheme or Maternity or Paternity pay have meant I have seen many good colleagues leave the business.

    Show More
    Shell Energy Retail2017-10-05
Found 16 reviews