Shell Energy Retail "pension" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Shell Energy Retail Employee Reviews about "pension"

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Shell Energy Retail CEO Colin Crooks
Colin Crooks
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pension scheme could be improved(in 20 reviews)

  • "You don't get sick pay for the first few days which is a shame(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pension"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Really impressed so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great salary - Flexibility to work at home 2 / 3 days a week or as required - Flexible hours promote a healthy work / life balance - Top of the range Mac Book Pro - Large car park with free electric charging - High quality cooked food and snacks on offer - Safety is top priority

    Cons

    - Benefits not as good as other places I've worked - Minimum pension - Toilets feel too public

    Shell Energy Retail2019-11-14
  2. "Pleased to join Shell Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee wellbeing programs Monday fruits Great on-boarding process for new developers 15" Macbook pro Enthusiastic team Great manager and team lead Flexible working hours Work from home Nice perks Table tennis Football table Massive car park Canteen with ok prices

    Cons

    Lack of sit/stand desks Cable management on desks could be better Pension scheme could be improved

    Shell Energy Retail2019-10-02
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Lack of Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time

    Pros

    Some genuinely nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Awful salary and pension. First perks does not make up for this. Nobody gets actually promoted only secondment and "glide paths", you show faith in the company and they reward you with a lot of extra work and for some reason could make you wait almost a year for the salary you were promised. This shows that the company does not trust its employees and at the very least does not want to pay them for the job they are... doing. It is well known that external hires are vastly overpaid, yet there is confusion about why people want to leave. The company culture is not professional for the majority, though it likes to pretend to be. A day in work can feel like a day in school, which makes it difficult to remain positive. I am happy I left but I really hope that they learn to take pride in their employees and behave more like an adult business.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop your employees. Behave like professionals.

    Shell Energy Retail2018-10-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexibly (Ability to work from home and start/finish times) - Base Salary is Competitive - Research days - to go and find out about new tools and start a conversation internally - Software department culture: cohesive, collaborative, friendly, and fast paced and strong agile delivery philosophy . - Innovative approaches with technology to new business needs with good open conversation with business... stakeholders. - Excellent place to learn and develop. - I have found the high street stores discounts very useful (saved a few quid) - Fruity Friday (Free fruit on a Friday) - Management (In the Core Platform / Business Technology Group) is some of the best I have worked with. Clear communication - right from the start. Set clear expectations. Always happy to help remove blockers without mic

    Show More

    Cons

    - Rest of benefits package (Pension, Maternity / Paternity etc) - Communication of long term vision (hopefully to be address in up coming company day) - Canteen lacks choice and is expensive - Facilities team are more often blockers than facilitators, for example booking rooms is like a game of roulette. Which leads to loss of efficiency and effectiveness.

    Advice to Management

    I can imagine quite difficult problems to solve, but have a look at Pensions and Maternity / Paternity.

    Shell Energy Retail2018-06-11
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Good company, need to brush up on employee retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, great work/life balance, flexible working

    Cons

    Not enough cross training opportunities, not enough training altogether. Benefits are the bare minimum, no maternity/paternity pay, lowest pension contributions that are a must. Although it's a nice to have, in my opinion fruity Fridays and voucher schemes are not really a benefit.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees more, and help their progression within the business.

    Shell Energy Retail2018-04-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Culture, friends, mentors and more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in development has always been - for me - a struggle to work in a place where the team work together, teach and learn from each other and with no elitism. Culture You are constantly encouraged to better yourself as an engineer from your team mates, leads, principles and above. Since being here my skill's have improved further as well as my knowledge and as a person. With the introduction of internal... user groups for certain tech and presentations you can watch or give, the culture is a breath of fresh air. Team mates There is a lot of knowledge which is shared without any issues. Everyone is there to help whenever they can, from software engineers and up. Tools The world of web development is a fast paced and constantly changing, given the chance to explore with research days allows your knowledge to grow and the products we write then benefit. Our tool set is constantly growing.

    Show More

    Cons

    Only one I can think of is to have a better pension contribution, but that is clutching at straws!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and culture you provide to allow me/us to enjoy work so much!

    Shell Energy Retail2018-05-04
  7. Helpful (12)

    "They just want positive reviews- a discriminatory member of staff- bias from HR-the great cover-up by a senior employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer First Adviser in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Initially, everything was going well and the training was fantastic. The 4 members of Staff were amazing and they let me perform my prayers during the 4 of 5 week training period. However, my group was meant to be given full 5 weeks of training, as that was part of the scheduled training programme. But we were only given 4 weeks of training. Whilst the other group were given full 5 weeks and my group was told... by the discriminatory member of staff 'that you don't need training' not only is this a clear deviation from the required training programme but also preventing one to carry out their role adequately. Even though, a Senior Member of Staff, he clearly said to my group that 'you all still have 1 final week of training which is on the floor' We were told by the discriminatory member of staff that 'help' will be given by the floor walkers, but it was my group who had to walk the floor to get our customer queries resolved. The female floorwalkers were always helpful but the male floorwalkers were lazy and laid back. However, when the time for prayer commenced, the discriminatory member of staff prevented me from going to my prayers and stated that 'you can't go mate, regardless'. Even though I explained to him that, previously I've been permitted to go for my prayers by the other 4 members of staff. Therefore, I don't understand what's his problem? He responded that 'the rules here are different (even though it's still the same company) we can't have the entire row of people (pointing at the row in front) go for prayers'. I responded that the likelihood of that row going for prayers is very unlikely due to most being non-Muslim. I raised a grievance with HR but it was sugar coated by an obnoxious member of staff from HR as an 'issue of miscommunication' rather than religious discrimination. (The member of staff from HR wasn't impartial, if he was, it would've resulted in him acting contrary to his contract, which requires one to 'act in the best interest of the Company' regardless of anything else.) However, thereafter, I was permitted to go for my prayers, but 20 days before my probationary review meeting, I was told by the discriminatory member of staff that my probation is going to be extended. (Even though I was above target for my stats and I was never absent, as well as providing him with 21 customer accounts, whereby customers said that I've been helpful.) I spoke to a senior member of staff and he advised that 'it's your manager's job to gear you towards passing your probation and not failing it. Also, he needs a legitimate reason to extend your probation, not an illegitimate one.' Thereafter, I was constantly being micromanaged and having unnecessary 'coaching sessions' where the discriminatory team manager was using it as an opportunity to bully and harass me. I raised a grievance with HR but it was disregarded by a member of staff from HR and he told me that (the discriminatory member of staff) 'is a professional who wouldn't do that'. Not only is the above response inadequate, it doesn't negate the discriminatory member of staff's inappropriate behavior, nor does it justify extending my probation, 20 days before my probation review meeting. But I came to realise that the points raised in the grievance, were mentioned to the discriminatory member of staff via chat, by a member of staff from HR and those were the points that the discriminatory member of staff was now 'coincidentally' trying to now focus on so he can save himself. Eg I was told by the discriminatory member of staff that he'll give me coaching for Nelly questions. But I wasn't given a single coaching session and when I raised it with him he ignored it and when I raised a grievance about it, he stated that 'his password wasn't working and that's why he couldn't have the session'. I spoke to a Senior Member of Staff but she was not being impartial and was protecting the discriminatory member of staffs behaviour, as she was dependant on his team's stats. Therefore, she let me 'resign with immediate effect' at my 'discretion without force' so everything could be covered up by her. She said that 'she'll look into my concerns and it'll have no bearing on my reference' We left the room and she decided to converse with me about resigning, so the people on the 'floor' cannot know why I'm actually leaving (Religious discrimination, bullying attitude, an extension of my probation 20 days before review meeting) She didn't have the decency to walk me from my desk to out of the building, as she didn't want others to see or know about the true nature of her cover-up. Also, rather than discipline the discriminatory member of staff, she promoted him to a different department so a lid is placed on everything. Lastly, another team member within my team, she left before me and I don't blame her, as I can see why she left. Pros: -was never discriminated by the 4 members of staff during training -was permitted to perform my prayers -met good people throughout -helpful floorwalkers (some, not all) -others from HR are generally helpful and approachable

    Show More

    Cons

    -discriminatory member of staff -A bias member of staff from HR who is subjective and not objective -constantly micromanaged -Treated as a number, not as a person -I was never off sick, but if you do get sick you'll not get sick pay -You're required to arrive 10-15 mins early each day, which is 50 minutes-1 hour 15mins per week. It's unpaid -I left without another job as it was that bad -It didn't apply to... me, but you can't start a family, due to poor maternity and paternity pay -basic pension -Read the customer reviews about the company and some of its employees -Gossipy & nosey/ busybody culture within departments

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It falls on deaf ears; therefore it's advised that one stays well clear. As it's only a matter of time until you start to experience the same inadequate, unprofessional experience from a senior colleague and the bias from a member of staff in HR. (Check the other review ‘Get out while you can!’) However, I would advise potential employees that you work for an employer who is impartial, just and not discriminatory.... Advice to the member of staff from HR is that he should continue selectively making use of the English language and words, to negate any concerns raised and covering up for the inappropriate discriminatory behavior of a senior employee or any other senior employee for that matter. As well as not discipline those who act contrary to legislation and the Company values.

    Show More
    Shell Energy Retail2018-05-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work, although can't be long term."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great supportive teams. Very good flexible working.

    Cons

    A pension contribution of 1% is not acceptable for a company of this size. I am aware that it is increased in line with the statutory minimum but this still is not acceptable. I don't know how I can stay at First Utility long term if this doesn't change significantly - I want to be able to stay but I don't think I can!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff as if you want them to stay, otherwise they will move on, even if they don't want to, but want to be able to afford to retire at some point!

    Shell Energy Retail2018-03-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Service Executive in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are class, development opportunities are there if you take your job seriously, lots of overtime potential, interesting future for the business. Wage isn't too bad. The takeover from Shell looks to offer good expansion going forward.

    Cons

    Employee benefits - it's hard to see a serious long term career being built where there's such a poor pension (government minimum legal requirements), no maternity/paternity pay nor sick pay. No bonus' for either personal performance nor company performance. All we can seem to offer our employees in recruitment is free fruit on a Friday and some very minor discounts off some shops e.g. 4% off Tesco. Employee... retention - The turnover of staff seems to be very high, although I don't know the actual %. We're losing very good staff in all areas of the business, potentially for the above reasons?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The cons that I mention make it feel like this company can only be a stepping stone, as I know I can't work here if/when I have a child and if I want to take my pension seriously I'd need to look elsewhere in the coming years. Ideally I don't want to leave, as I am developing well and want the company to be successful but can't gamble on my future. Please put serious consideration into retaining staff, with what... some see as basic employee benefits.

    Show More
    Shell Energy Retail2018-02-15
  10. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time

    Pros

    High paced, modern working environment with some excellent leaders. Internal development of colleagues is high on the agenda with a culture of looking out for the customer and each other. Also a Tech led business, which makes you feel like you work for more than just an average energy company. Firstperks allows colleagues to save money on everything from Christmas shopping to the next holiday away, 25 days... holiday and competitive salaries.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pension/Paternity/Maternity meets minimum statutory requirement

    Advice to Management

    We lose too many good people due to restrictive pay increase policies when applying for internal vacancies.

    Shell Energy Retail2017-12-11
Found 20 reviews