Scrapinghub Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Scrapinghub Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Remote - 20 VLs per year + holidays of your country which you can move around, effectively making them sort of like VLs - Salary can be good depending if you live in a low cost of living country

    Cons

    - Not so high salary - Not much room for growth - Sometimes it gets really hectic depending on which client/project you are handling

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-10-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, smart people around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart and skilled people, wide-variety of projects to contribute, lots of open source contributors, truly multi-cultural dynamic environment, no micro-managing, personnel is kind and helpful.

    Cons

    The HR and Finance division needs improvement, they lack in quality compared to other teams. Management is aware apparently.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-08-29
  3. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub for more than a year

    Pros

    completely remote company .. freedom to select your own working hours

    Cons

    No chance to be part of company shares.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-08-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A completely remote company with highly skilled employee from more than 20 countries spread around the world. There is not a central office, you are always in the loop by chat and video conferences. Very challenging and interesting problems to solve. Flexible working hours from Monday to Friday and you take the bank holidays that apply to your country.

    Cons

    No chance to be part of company shares. No 401k or similar retirement plans.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-08-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Remote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Lima, Lima Region
    Recommends

    I worked at Scrapinghub

    Pros

    Really interesting problem and remote work.

    Cons

    Low salary and really demanding.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-08-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time

    Pros

    - Great minds. You work with some of the most awesome people you can imagine. - Trust and commitment. - Full remote positions. - Working with open source. - Engineer driven company.

    Cons

    The usual remote working cons. Sometimes, communication gets difficult due to different timezones. Also, working remotely with people from so many different cultures and backgrounds can lead to misunderstandings.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-06-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer in Cochabamba
    Recommends

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, lots of technical challenges, great colleagues, work from home

    Cons

    you may not like scraping webcontent for ethical reasons

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-06-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to work, lot's of freedom and trust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to work anywhere, anytime. Friendly and smart colleagues. A culture of trust, management doesn't get in your way.

    Cons

    I don't see much mobility inside the company besides the usual dev -> manager promotion. No career plans. Communication can also be a problem sometimes, specially when people from different timezones are working together (team work suffers).

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-05-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working for Scrapinghub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Python Developer in Zagreb
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work, flexible hours, part-time or full-time employment, amazing colleagues from all around the world, company develops its own products and the least stress I've ever experienced at work :)

    Cons

    For me the only con was my inability to structure my time efficiently given so much freedom.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-03-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Committed to remote work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is absolutely committed to worldwide remote work - you will never have to visit an office, work times are flexible to accommodate workers anywhere in the world, tasks are typically asynchronous Core code quality is high. Well organized (ticket tracking, work schedules, etc). Chat rooms were the norm for communication. Everyone I worked with was friendly and open minded. Reasonable deadlines, respectful of home responsibilities.

    Cons

    Client insourcing is hit or miss. It was sometimes difficult to identify who to contact for different things, or to get assistance/cooperation when there wasn't a clear contact (diffusion of responsibility).

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2015-12-18
Found 26 reviews