Scrapinghub Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Scrapinghub Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
95%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Remote Working Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time

    Pros

    flexible working hours, work anywhere with stable Internet access, allowances on equipment and education (courses, books), colleagues from around the globe.

    Cons

    not a stress-free and transparent working environment, no clear time logging guidelines, too much text chatting at times.

    Scrapinghub2017-10-13

    Scrapinghub Response

    November 24, 2017Head of Human Resources

    Thanks for taking time to review us and for commenting on our flexible working hours and working from anywhere. I've noted your thoughts on working environment, time logging and text chatting. We had our first Company get-together in Spain this month and communication is one of the things that has come up as something we need to improve and it's now on the Senior Leadership Team agenda. Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. Angela Piper, Head of Human Resources

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Remote - 20 VLs per year + holidays of your country which you can move around, effectively making them sort of like VLs - Salary can be good depending if you live in a low cost of living country

    Cons

    - Not so high salary - Not much room for growth - Sometimes it gets really hectic depending on which client/project you are handling

    Scrapinghub2016-10-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote work; great people; no, really amazing people.

    Cons

    Boring tasks; impossible to grow.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-11-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, smart people around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart and skilled people, wide-variety of projects to contribute, lots of open source contributors, truly multi-cultural dynamic environment, no micro-managing, personnel is kind and helpful.

    Cons

    The HR and Finance division needs improvement, they lack in quality compared to other teams. Management is aware apparently.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-08-29
  5. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub for more than a year

    Pros

    completely remote company .. freedom to select your own working hours

    Cons

    No chance to be part of company shares.

    Scrapinghub2016-08-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A completely remote company with highly skilled employee from more than 20 countries spread around the world. There is not a central office, you are always in the loop by chat and video conferences. Very challenging and interesting problems to solve. Flexible working hours from Monday to Friday and you take the bank holidays that apply to your country.

    Cons

    No chance to be part of company shares. No 401k or similar retirement plans.

    Scrapinghub2016-08-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Remote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Software Engineer in Lima, Lima Region
    Recommends

    I worked at Scrapinghub

    Pros

    Really interesting problem and remote work.

    Cons

    Low salary and really demanding.

    Scrapinghub2016-08-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time

    Pros

    - Great minds. You work with some of the most awesome people you can imagine. - Trust and commitment. - Full remote positions. - Working with open source. - Engineer driven company.

    Cons

    The usual remote working cons. Sometimes, communication gets difficult due to different timezones. Also, working remotely with people from so many different cultures and backgrounds can lead to misunderstandings.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-06-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer in Cochabamba
    Recommends

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, lots of technical challenges, great colleagues, work from home

    Cons

    you may not like scraping webcontent for ethical reasons

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-06-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to work, lot's of freedom and trust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to work anywhere, anytime. Friendly and smart colleagues. A culture of trust, management doesn't get in your way.

    Cons

    I don't see much mobility inside the company besides the usual dev -> manager promotion. No career plans. Communication can also be a problem sometimes, specially when people from different timezones are working together (team work suffers).

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-05-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews