Find jobs for Research Engineer

Saint-Gobain Research Engineer Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
67%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Saint-Gobain Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Pierre-André de Chalendar
Pierre-André de Chalendar
8 Ratings
  1. "Underestimated"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Research Engineer in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain for more than a year

    Pros

    Good recognition of the employees

    Cons

    Too many times underestimated because new in the company

    Saint-Gobain2020-05-19
  2. "Inspiring place to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people that care about both the applications and the science, inspiring environment, safety is a must

    Cons

    Benefits could be better, too many projects/person (can be stressful)

    Saint-Gobain2020-02-22
  3. "Research Engineer I"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer I in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good organisation for senior employees

    Cons

    it isn't a good choice who are just starting their career. very less / no learning.

    Saint-Gobain2020-01-19
  4. "Decent Company but High Turnover"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Engineer Co-op in Northborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain for less than a year

    Pros

    Good wages, perks, and benefits.

    Cons

    No incentive to stay on board. Company prefers to hire externally than promote internally and uses a high number of interns/co-ops/temp workers.

    Saint-Gobain2019-10-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work and life balance

    Cons

    Lack of futuristic vision

    Saint-Gobain2019-09-07
  6. "Research Engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Engineer 

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Work & life balance

    Cons

    Salary is not so competetive

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2019-04-08
  7. "Great company to develop a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multiple businesses offering different work profiles

    Cons

    Sometimes the decision making can be slow

    Saint-Gobain2019-02-03
  8. "good place to explore"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All good, challenging role and best work/life balance

    Cons

    No cons I observed

    Saint-Gobain2018-09-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Researcher"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Engineer in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, people and work life balance.

    Cons

    Bad HR policies, salary and HR people.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2018-04-25
  10. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovative and open minded culture. Lot's of very smart people, get to work with others globally in both R&D and manufacturing. Good safety cultures and company core values. Clear progression of roles, typically good resources to accomplish projects. Lot's of community events and ways to get involved outside of work. Work life balance is overall good but fairly often travel or long hours will change that. Matching 401k and pension plan.

    Cons

    Too much administrative work needs to be done by each person. Benefits are not that great. They will tell you it is competitive with the industry but why settle for average? Vacation time starts at 2wks, should be three for people coming out of college/grad school. Salary is good at first but quickly stagnates due to low cost of living wages that often barely beat out inflation. Too much time spent presenting results.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2018-01-12

    Saint-Gobain Response

    January 15, 2018HR DIrector

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to see you like working at Saint-Gobain. I know the administrative part of the role is not exciting (for anyone :-))! It is critical, however, to ensure we maintain our competitive advantage and our IP so thanks for taking the time to execute on this part of your job. As far as hiring diversity, we do this! We have over 32 Nationalities and 50 different schools represented here. We pride ourselves in hiring those who will look at problems differently. We reward those who deliver the best results to their businesses/customers, not those with the most tenure. Please see HR to get a better understanding of the process. I think we can clarify this for you. Thanks again!

Found 20 reviews