SYKES Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

SYKES Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,333 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It can be a little tricky to maintain customer service scores but it is nothing major(in 79 reviews)

  • "I have nothing but good things to say about my time I have been with sykes but I've always enjoyed call center work(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "BEST CALL CENTER I'VE EVER WORKED FOR - GREAT PROGRESSION"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Support in Shannon
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES

    Pros

    fun environment, made friends, great training provided, i got promoted to supervisor of the floor within two years even though i never had any call center experience before i came to sykes. Sykes is not for some people but it is for people who put the work in - people who do this will really enjoy their time working for sykes

    Cons

    like any call center it can be stresssful at times and busy but once the day is over you leave all that behind in work.

    Advice to Management

    communicate with team better, create more fun things to do in the office to keep up morale!

    SYKES2011-08-12
  2. "Enjoyable place to work, despite redundancies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Shannon
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teams and floor supervisors. Inclusive culture.

    Cons

    Poor business outlook, ultimately resulting in the movement of an entire contract overseas.

    SYKES2016-05-03
  3. "Good for starting out in customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES for less than a year

    Pros

    Working Monday to Friday on a rooster from 7 to 5.30.

    Cons

    No development possibilities No clear management directives Vendor: lower than average salary for the industry

    SYKES2015-07-17
  4. "Ok to work for a while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Shannon

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and good relocation package but you must stay more than 9 months to don't pay it back

    Cons

    Some managers should change job. Half of the management was family related!!!

    Advice to Management

    Change some of you

    SYKES2013-04-03
  5. "Nice experience. Friendly environment, I've enjoyed the most of time here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    SYKES In SHANNON IS Good for A Starting Point in Shannon
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES

    Pros

    The multicultural environments, there are people from the whole Europe. Account managers who are helpful and respectful (maybe the ones I have are not the same so bad described by other commentors).

    Cons

    No chance of career development. You can stay here one year in order to get the experience for a new job after. The location is rather far from lively places (20 km from Ennis or from Limerick), so you should arrange an accomodation in the small Shannon town.

    Advice to Management

    I've no advice to give them. Maybe you can pay something more the employees, so you won't see such flux of coming and leaving people.

    SYKES2011-09-26
  6. "Over all it was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Shannon
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    I can see that a lot of people are writing negative comments, many of these former employers. This company is great if you are looking to "start" your career! If you are already qualified you should know that this is an entry level position type of company. They offer great training, they give you experience in a call centre environment something that is becomming a neccessity in applying for jobs now, they offer... excellent benefits and a good working environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons are if you are senior with experience you won't like it! It would be similar to repeating baby school after high school! All of you with your negative comments on the company you are being unfair. You took the job, you were not forced into it and no it is not slavery when you get paid and have the free will to leave. People starting their career need opportunities like this.

    Advice to Management

    Check this site more often and the people who give negative reviews, give them negative references!

    SYKES2011-09-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stay far away!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Shannon
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES

    Pros

    The people at ground level are fun to work with as long as they have been hired for the right reasons and not just their language

    Cons

    Top office management are lazy, indecisive, uncaring and unprofessional. Everyone is a number. There is a 3 year pay freeze, close to minimum wage salary and no thanks for the hard work. Very unprofessional environment.

    Advice to Management

    Close the site down and move all the business to Cairo where they have no clue how to manage a call centre operation.

    SYKES2011-09-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Shannon
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES

    Pros

    sick pay after six months. maternity pay.

    Cons

    no vision, managers could not manage the way from a paper bag. In the few years i work here progression is nearly non exist. It looks like the managers are writing the reviews. outlook for Sykes Shannon is bad. money is probably as low as it can ge we have pay freeze since i start. most people i know want to leave.

    Advice to Management

    increase the money.

    SYKES2011-09-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Only stay to work for Sykes, Ireland, maximun for 2 months."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Support in Shannon
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES

    Pros

    Just to get the technical expertiese and fun. Nothing more, nothing less.

    Cons

    Very poor managment. Eventhough it's a multilingual calling centre, most of the super-visors are Irish and fail to understand how most of the European markets work, such as Germany. No possibility for advancement The managment is pressuring you to the point you fail to do your job.

    Advice to Management

    I have nothing to add, because I believe that all these years, the previous employees provided them with feedback but they choose to do nothing about it.

    SYKES2011-01-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Support in Shannon
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    Paycheck on time. Nice people working there.

    Cons

    Very bad management. No communications between managers. Facilities onsite are poor. Bad canteen.

    Advice to Management

    Just hire some managers with better skills

    SYKES2010-04-29
Found 3274 reviews