SMRT Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

SMRT Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
SMRT Group Chief Executive Officer Neo Kian Hong
Neo Kian Hong
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good bonus even through public transport business facing a lot of cost pressure(in 24 reviews)

  • "Interesting colleagues and work life balance(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Red tapes are still present, similar to many of the other stat boards and governmental sectors(in 12 reviews)

  • "Too many ex-military bosses who do not know what they are doing(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assistant Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Engineer in Bishan New Town, Central
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SMRT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid rice bowl, generally good work culture among the ground staff.

    Cons

    Lots of politics among the middle to higher management.

    SMRT2020-01-13
  2. "Nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SMRT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus is good 13 month Flexi benefit

    Cons

    Poor basic pay Hiring process is mainly through their network and not about skills and knowledge Poor succession planning and career management.

    Advice to Management

    Improve management plan for career development.

    SMRT2020-01-18
  3. "Good management trainee scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMRT full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay package and bonus

    Cons

    May be overworked, engineers tasked to do everything

    SMRT2020-01-03
  4. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SMRT full-time

    Pros

    4 days rotating Shift Work

    Cons

    Lack of communications of objectives and directions by middle management. Unfair and bias appraisals. plenty of politics.

    Advice to Management

    just get rid of the deadwood to change to more positive culture

    SMRT2020-01-14
  5. "glass ceiling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Tampines New Town, East
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMRT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    listen to orders like ARMY

    Cons

    Ex SAF top management hires retiring SAF for senior management

    SMRT2019-12-14
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SMRT full-time

    Pros

    Interesting colleagues and work life balance

    Cons

    Management must be more willing ti listen to people on the grounds

    SMRT2019-11-26
  7. "Career retiring ideal place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMRT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance and ideal place for retirement...

    Cons

    Nothing much to comment further

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    SMRT2019-11-18
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMRT full-time

    Pros

    Stable and a good bonus

    Cons

    A lot of ex-uniform personnel

    SMRT2019-12-02
  9. "Station Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Station Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SMRT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    long working days in a day or in a week = OT. free travel.

    Cons

    long working days in a day or in a week = too tired to even do anything on off day(s). lack of manpower for ground staffs, hence the OT. lack of manpower for ground staffs during disruptions, only god knows how it feels. blame or scapegoat culture.

    Advice to Management

    implemented too much exercises, just like in the military - enough with the dramas please. when in reality during peak hour and CROWDS of various personalities and attitudes, those moments are our battlegrounds for ground staffs on daily basis.

    SMRT2019-11-22
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMRT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team work among colleagues, challenging and enriching career, learning on the job

    Cons

    Culture was the main reason I left but it could be transient. When I first joined I was taken aback by the extent of micromanagement and bullying tactics of the department . Apparently a lot of staff had left due to the boss. The boss left subsequently ( as she could no longer handle the stress and her divorce) . Hence things could have changed for the better .

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers who motivate

    SMRT2019-12-07
Found 167 reviews
</>Embed