S.A. Brain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

S.A. Brain & Company Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
31%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
S.A. Brain & Company CEO Alistair Darby
Alistair Darby
1 Ratings
  1. "Rewarding bad behaviour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at S.A. Brain & Company

    Pros

    Good pension and benefits Fun industry! Tight knit colleagues

    Cons

    Negative and ruthless work culture fuelled by CEO his appointed leadership team Unstable (many redundancies) Old fashioned Unethical HR Pay not competitive or in line with industry average CEO rewards and promotes senior managers who have a documented track record for severe micromanagement, grievances, bullying and high turnover of passionate staff

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees and your employees will take care of your business

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-10-15
  2. "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Profit Improvement Manager in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Field based, 35 hours per week

    Cons

    Can be a lot of hours on the road

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-08-26
  3. "great pub, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress in Lisvane, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    customers are friendly and the atmosphere is great

    Cons

    shifts get changed online without notice, we wouldnt know about it unless we check

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-08-15
  4. "Changable strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loads of different pub environments to work in.

    Cons

    Too many changes in strategy, not giving enough time for idea's to be executed creating uncertainty for staff and customers alike.

    Advice to Management

    Give time and support to any strategy that gets approved.

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-06-21
  5. "Minimum Wage, Minimum Effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Cardiff, Wales

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, easy job with no real responsibilities

    Cons

    Minimum wage, can be reluctant to allow you to progress through the company.

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-04-21
  6. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at S.A. Brain & Company part-time

    Pros

    Management were excellent, I worked with a great team of people

    Cons

    Didn't feel wanted/needed/appreciated by the higher up management, no incentives, minimum wage for unsociable hours

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-04-01
  7. "Worst Management Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Whitchurch, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at S.A. Brain & Company part-time

    Pros

    Get to meet a lot of different people, tips can add up to a decent amount when working in restaurant area of pub

    Cons

    Low pay, tips are split evenly even when you're waiting more tables than the other staff, no breaks even when legally entitled to one working 8+ hour shifts, management is a disgrace and does not care about employees

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-03-11
  8. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at S.A. Brain & Company part-time

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with. Decent tips

    Cons

    Poor management. No proper training. Management seemed to be lacking basic managerial skills

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-01-29
  9. "Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at S.A. Brain & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Give you a job possible progression

    Cons

    Salary and dont staff up enough

    S.A. Brain & Company2018-10-10
  10. "Standard employers. Mixed ethics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Invests in staff training. Offers a lot of job opportunities throughout Wales..

    Cons

    Limited range, controlling core products and gross margin. It determines pub viability, and as such, job security and community wellbeing.

    Advice to Management

    - Dissolve the beer tie. - Adopt an ethical code to stand by communities, not destroy them.

    S.A. Brain & Company2018-03-10
Found 44 reviews