Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,075 Ratings
  1. "It gave me headaches."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well thought out plan for every thing needed done at the store.

    Cons

    Some plans were insanely strict. Some people don’t understand respect amongst coworkers. Hardcore training.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to hire people who actually are people person.

    Ross Stores2019-11-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Store protection specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - SPS in Alhambra, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours , work with school schedule

    Cons

    Stand throughout the shift can be boring

    Advice to Management

    Work with employers

    Ross Stores2019-11-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Easy but soul crushing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Protection Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very easy job, pay was above minimum wage. Fulltime hours (before store got rid of the SPS program entirely)

    Cons

    Almost a pointless position, can’t stop thieves from stealing only deterring

    Ross Stores2019-11-21
  4. "Not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    20% discount double discount twice a year

    Cons

    low pay rotating staff not enough hours

    Ross Stores2019-12-12
  5. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchant Support in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours and great benefits.

    Cons

    Paid for parking out of pocket

    Ross Stores2019-11-04
  6. "401K"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mark Downs in Mira Loma, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love that as part time I get the 401K and stock options. If you have 25 hrs a week you can get these benefits. I just increased my 401K to 50 % and stock option is 10%.

    Cons

    None great management at our store and amazing employees.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep telling Employees Thank You ours do and it can make your day.

    Ross Stores2019-11-02
  7. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FES in Humble, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No Pros, all Cons. Yes it's that bad!

    Cons

    Low pay; Horrible management at the Humble, TX store when I was there. I felt like I was in the mean girls movie. Shoppers are horrible too. They will throw items on the floor and everywhere else. They will also let their kids make huge messes in the toy section.

    Ross Stores2019-12-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Sales/FES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kaneohe, HI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, decent management, discount and double discount, flexible

    Cons

    Higher management does less work and gets paid way more as well as bonuses that hard work sales associates don't get.

    Advice to Management

    Reward your employees who work at least 20hrs or more a week with bonus incentives, gift cards, etc. Sales associates are the reason your store is clean and keep your customers coming back.

    Ross Stores2019-10-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Its okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is nice. Some managers were more unreasonably strict than others.

    Cons

    Standing for long periods of time. Dress code is too strict.

    Ross Stores2019-11-14
  10. "Warning do not work here!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Associate in Carbondale, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is no Pros to working at this company

    Cons

    The biggest problem I had is they expect you to do all this work in a certain amount of time and usually the time that they give you is not reasonable and if you do not complete it you can be fired for it and also do not trust anyone not even your own supervisor because they will lie to your face and go behind you and stab you in the back the first chance they get this company does not care about it employees at all... I worked for this company for over a year-and-a-half and they do not care about their employees

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to start telling the truth and not lying to their employees

    Ross Stores2019-12-05
Found 4654 reviews