Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,075 Ratings
  1. "Good for Starting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Protection Specialist in Covina, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get access to security cameras which helps keep an eye on suspicious people. You also get walkie talkies for effective communication.

    Cons

    Standing the whole shift, no chair, stuck in one place unless you are a mobile, ridiculous self rating just to make sure you know your job when in reality its pretty instinctive to figure out what to do. If I had to restructure the organization for loss prevention I could clean it up and maintain high retention rates for the company at a slightly lower pay. You also have to stand in dress shoes and keep in mind you... are standing the whole time. Definitely go buy some comfort soles and if you are flat footed don't show up to your first day to work without it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If I had to restructure the organization for loss prevention I could clean it up and maintain high retention rates for the company at a slightly lower pay.

    Ross Stores2019-12-06
  2. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice atmosphere and there are nice customers

    Cons

    no cons at this establishment

    Ross Stores2019-11-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Loss Prevention Specialist at Ross Dress for Less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The majority of the time you will be getting paid just to greet customers.

    Cons

    Every once in a while you will have to deal with confrontation or theft.

    Ross Stores2019-11-15
  4. "Great Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer I in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The on-boarding process is great, very thorough and really helps you get started in your new role. A great work/life balance, no unnecessary long days, summer Fridays, unlimited sick time. Good benefits package.

    Cons

    Recent restructuring of the merchant roles doesn't give as much exposure for growth, it made it more limiting. Processes need updating, behind from a technology standpoint. Need an option for remote work at all levels. Need more opportunity to build connections with teams.

    Advice to Management

    Work to make sure all buyers are giving assistants the ability to work in a collaborative environment. It helps for growth if assistants can DO/OWN more of the business.

    Ross Stores2019-12-03
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Ross Stores

    Pros

    Flexible schedule with a great discount and awesome co workers

    Cons

    Management can be very picky

    Ross Stores2019-11-17
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Specialist in Kapolei, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    many people in same position so flexible and easy to switch shifts

    Cons

    pay, too lenient on people who call out a lot, not enough full time positions

    Advice to Management

    management at ross is significantly more easy going than any other place i have worked but still professional

    Ross Stores2019-11-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Hard Pass! Take an offer in SF and commute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Allocation Analyst in Dublin, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Comfortable and safe work choice - Flexibility with schedule - Great work-life balance for those who are family-oriented - Structured, formal training program - Ability to move to cross-functional teams with great fluidity

    Cons

    - Pay - Pay - Pay - Leadership and management - Reactionary (everything seems like an emergency) - Favoritism - Lack of loyalty to Analysts

    Advice to Management

    - Managers and directors need to get in touch with analysts' processes - Not everything is an emergency - Expectations and demands are way too high for way too little compensation - Have loyalty to analysts and managers who have been instrumental to the growth of the company - Pay people what they are worth

    Ross Stores2019-11-23
  8. "Hard worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tree Trimmer in Perris, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always on time never miss

    Cons

    Always need to be doing some thing

    Ross Stores2019-11-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Alright. Busy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cash Office 

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Nice managers and coworkers

    Cons

    Boring. Mediocre pay. Rude customers

    Ross Stores2019-11-09
  10. "It gave me headaches."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well thought out plan for every thing needed done at the store.

    Cons

    Some plans were insanely strict. Some people don’t understand respect amongst coworkers. Hardcore training.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to hire people who actually are people person.

    Ross Stores2019-11-25
Found 4652 reviews