Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,093 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount of 20% all time and 40% occasionally(in 282 reviews)

  • "20% discount applies everyday and as many times as you want(in 238 reviews)

Cons
  • "Part time night shift not to bad(in 209 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage , no opportunities to grow(in 177 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to work! *Job title was Team Member but it wouldn't let me put it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community OUtreach Specialist in Arden, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility. Pay is good. I am not sure about other locations but at the Arden, NC location....awesome management all around! Working hard will move you up if that is what you are looking for.

    Cons

    Like most retail, customers can be a bit of a pain

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring great managers like Ms. Green

    Ross Stores2020-01-18
  2. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant, Retirement in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, entertaining job when an ORC walks in.

    Cons

    Boring! But better than cutting grass or washing dishes!

    Ross Stores2020-01-18
  3. "Employment at Ross dress for less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There’s many pros to working at Ross dress for less. I Amazing coworkers and managers, it’s hard to look for another job when because I fear I won’t be able to get such amazing coworkers and managers that are flexible with my schedule. Employee discount of 20% on everything everyday and even 40% discounts every couple of months a year. As someone that likes to shop working at Ross is great because I get to see the amazing and random inventory we receive.

    Show More

    Cons

    Retail is retail, and the general public will always surprise me in ways I wish not. It can get pretty crazy during the holiday season and the store can easily become a disaster if mismanaged. Considering the hard work the employees put in and success of the company Ross dress for less doesn’t pay their employees what they should.

    Advice to Management

    Take pride in your store and your employees. Invest in your relationships with your coworkers because working it’s more fun working with your friends than your coworkers.

    Ross Stores2020-01-17
  4. "Great Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conformia Software 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership is always making sure that you have all the tools to complete your tasks

    Cons

    Lenient call off policy allows for a flux in personnel each day

    Ross Stores2020-01-16
  5. "Hi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very excited people to work

    Cons

    Non flexible job and no

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of bad manager

    Ross Stores2020-01-14
  6. "Loss prevention associate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Associate in Rock Hill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is fair, although we are paid equal or less than most associates that work in the DC and provide safety, security and well-being 24/7 for them.

    Cons

    You have to work for a temp agency before becoming a Ross employee. I was able to work 60 days as temp employee and I was asked to roll over to be a Ross employee. When I did, I didn’t have access to any benefits until I’d be there for another 60 days. So don’t expect to get insurance or any other benefits right away.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to schedules changing and especially mandatory overtime. That was not told to me in my interview.

    Ross Stores2020-01-14
  7. "Great place to work but room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve been at Ross for 3 years & the company is invested in growing its employees. On boarding & training is top notch.

    Cons

    Work life balance in merchant organization is challenging with small buying teams. Zero flexibility to work from home & no flexible work options. Experience is dependent on manager as most buying teams are 1:1.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in technical training at all levels. Support & encourage a healthier work life balance- employees shouldn’t feel guilty about leaving at 7pm if the work is done. Implement flexible work from home options.

    Ross Stores2020-01-12
  8. "It's an ok job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Advance positions quickly You get a raise every year Starting pay is good

    Cons

    Little Hours Lots of gossip Favoritism Doesn't really follow around ur schedule

    Ross Stores2020-01-13
  9. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planning Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture Supportive upper management A lot of growth potential

    Cons

    Not able to work from home

    Ross Stores2020-01-10
  10. "You will never know what you will come out if the store with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great deals, must love to organize and make things neat

    Cons

    you must love to organize

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    Ross Stores2020-01-10
Found 4698 reviews