Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,064 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount of 20% all time and 40% occasionally(in 280 reviews)

  • "20% discount applies everyday and as many times as you want(in 234 reviews)

Cons
  • "Part time night shift not to bad(in 209 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage , no opportunities to grow(in 177 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Specialist in Kapolei, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    many people in same position so flexible and easy to switch shifts

    Cons

    pay, too lenient on people who call out a lot, not enough full time positions

    Advice to Management

    management at ross is significantly more easy going than any other place i have worked but still professional

    Ross Stores2019-11-13
  2. "Hard worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tree Trimmer in Perris, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always on time never miss

    Cons

    Always need to be doing some thing

    Ross Stores2019-11-11
  3. "Alright. Busy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cash Office 

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Nice managers and coworkers

    Cons

    Boring. Mediocre pay. Rude customers

    Ross Stores2019-11-09
  4. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchant Support in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours and great benefits.

    Cons

    Paid for parking out of pocket

    Ross Stores2019-11-04
  5. "401K"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mark Downs in Mira Loma, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love that as part time I get the 401K and stock options. If you have 25 hrs a week you can get these benefits. I just increased my 401K to 50 % and stock option is 10%.

    Cons

    None great management at our store and amazing employees.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep telling Employees Thank You ours do and it can make your day.

    Ross Stores2019-11-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales/FES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kaneohe, HI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, decent management, discount and double discount, flexible

    Cons

    Higher management does less work and gets paid way more as well as bonuses that hard work sales associates don't get.

    Advice to Management

    Reward your employees who work at least 20hrs or more a week with bonus incentives, gift cards, etc. Sales associates are the reason your store is clean and keep your customers coming back.

    Ross Stores2019-10-26
  7. "Retail Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Hollywood, CA

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced, paid breaks, 40% discount

    Cons

    Long lines, understaffed, few hours

    Ross Stores2019-10-29
  8. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Menomonee Falls, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to ask for off

    Cons

    Hours were inconsistent Managers had favoritism of other employees

    Advice to Management

    Stop continuously hiring new employees then complain how you are not able to distribute enough hours to your employees.

    Ross Stores2019-11-12
  9. "Area manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clayton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great trading, flexible hours, great management.

    Cons

    Low pay, not enough employees at night. I was closing manager and didn't have enough employees to cover every department to get everything the upper management expects

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ross Stores2019-10-25
  10. "Friendly coworkers, too much expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best coworkers anywhere Discount Pay Holiday pay sometimes

    Cons

    Closing shifts Little pay raises Working on holidays

    Ross Stores2019-10-24
Found 4625 reviews