Ross Stores Area Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Area Supervisor

Ross Stores Area Supervisor Reviews

Updated 3 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
54 Ratings
  1. "Ross stores review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Supervisor in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great growing opportunities, friendly staff, and benefits.

    Cons

    Every store seems to be understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Try to promote more internal growth.

    Ross Stores2020-01-04
  2. "Not worth the headache"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Area Supervisor 

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers and decent pay for retail

    Cons

    Constantly under staffed and over worked

    Ross Stores2019-12-29
  3. "It's a good job, if you have a good manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time

    Pros

    There is room for growth

    Cons

    The company counts productivity by the minute, so it's hard to catch your breath in between projects.

    Ross Stores2019-12-23
  4. "Fast paced, inadequate staffing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Supervisor in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work community, benefits are okay, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Demands and expectations for store appearence unachievable with staffing provided

    Advice to Management

    Increase staffing especially during peak hours, would decrease theft and increase employee/management morale

    Ross Stores2019-12-10
  5. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management team (if their trained right and have a drive for success and results).

    Cons

    Apathetic area supervisors on occasion

    Ross Stores2019-09-15
  6. "This Area Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Supervisor in Florence, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There really are no Pros

    Cons

    Everything about the company is a con

    Advice to Management

    GET it together and you will stop with a high over turn rate

    Ross Stores2019-10-18
  7. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Area Supervisor 

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    I loved my co workers.

    Cons

    Management, messy stores, understaffed stores and very unorganized at times

    Advice to Management

    Help employees by optimizing scheduling

    Ross Stores2019-07-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Stay far away from the store in Lawton, Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Supervisor in Lawton, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to promote Yearly raise

    Cons

    Unorganized Management Negative atmosphere No accountability Gossiping Management is unprofessional

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to get a new management team, they are unprofessional, incompetent and lack any sense of empathy towards others. Some organization would be good. Along with showing appreciation for your associates. Once you do that, everything will be better

    Ross Stores2019-08-07
  9. "Not completely terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Supervisor in Fontana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The discount is great, as well as the people. The benefits are also great.

    Cons

    Very stressful in management. Corporate bosses will gladly try to destroy your self esteem. Some of them boast on how many people they make cry.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that PEOPLE work for you.

    Ross Stores2019-07-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Understaffed and underpaid and overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Area Supervisor in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can get all the overtime you want

    Cons

    It’s under staff and you’re paid they overwork you the expectations are too high and I feel like they don’t train you they set you up for failure

    Advice to Management

    You should pay better and train better that way people actually want to stay and work with the company

    Ross Stores2019-08-17
Found 192 reviews