Rocket Internet Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Rocket Internet Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Rocket Internet CEO Oliver Samwer
Oliver Samwer
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced startup with some talented people from across the globe(in 36 reviews)

  • "Steep learning curve, the very best in performance marketing and digital marketing(in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great team but internal growth limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Analyst in Berlin

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great boss on the international finance team - great exposure across all portfolio companies - good office perks / central location

    Cons

    - difficult to see obvious opportunities for growth within the company - high turnover so no such thing as "culture"

    Rocket Internet2019-12-09
  2. "Awesome learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Dhaka
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great combination of startup + consulting/VC environment. Rigor and innovation combined

    Cons

    Resource management can be short-sighted, Inside Politics

    Rocket Internet2019-09-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Internet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Just average, and I mean it

    Cons

    Extremly average, and I mean it even more

    Rocket Internet2019-09-18
  4. "Most Hand's-On Entrepreneurial Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    as in the title. Great place to learn and jump in.

    Cons

    Depends on what you expect.

    Rocket Internet2019-08-27
  5. "Too much politics for a startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Country Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet for more than a year

    Pros

    You can shuffle between multiple ventures or projects

    Cons

    The MD in Dubai and in most other regions are data driven, highly educated, young but lack business sense are short on experience and are unable to contain the direction of the venture and surly not able to influence the negative culture.

    Advice to Management

    Stop blowing helium balloons and sucking the blood of investors. Fix your products (apps /websites) before expanding into new regions. Fix the basics of your business model, enhance technology and stop being a fraud. Also becoming genuine is a good start (but I doubt this advice is actionable since RI concept is mainly a copy cat of other companies)

    Rocket Internet2019-09-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "stressful atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can learn a lot if you want

    Cons

    Incompetent managers, lot of stress, demand for long hours, bad atmosphere

    Rocket Internet2019-08-14
  7. "Everything is about growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool and fast-growing environment. Friendly colleagues

    Cons

    The fact that everything is about growth harms the culture

    Rocket Internet2019-07-05
  8. "Good learning curve, lots of responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience Quick promotion possibilities

    Cons

    Low starting salary Lots of pressure Shark mentality

    Advice to Management

    Better work ethics

    Rocket Internet2019-07-11
  9. "Average experience at rocket internet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Internet full-time

    Pros

    There was a steep learning curve which I thoroughly enjoyed. It is the place to go if you are highly motivated and driven

    Cons

    Small teams and high turn over in a number of start ups

    Advice to Management

    more structure and SOPs!

    Rocket Internet2019-06-05
  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Network Engineer in Berlin

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly - Supportive - High Tech

    Cons

    - Strict Time limits for projects

    Rocket Internet2019-05-16
Found 365 reviews