Robert Walters Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 737 of over 886 reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters CEO Toby Fowlston
Toby Fowlston
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, collaborative working environment(in 48 reviews)

  • "good training and support, international environment(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but to be expected in recruitment(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Recruitment Consultant Dublin

      May 9, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant Dublin in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High levels of trust and autonomy, Excellent Client base and Reputation. Really nice people who all help each other and excellent new starter training - you are given everything you need to succeed and technology (Surface pro and iphone) for is great.

      Cons

      None that i can think of right now

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great training and great people

      Apr 27, 2021 - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The remote onboarding experience is fantastic. The training makes you feel ready to go and the support and welcome from everyone right up to MD level is fantastic from day 1. Everyone is there to work hard and support each other, there's no workplace drama or cliques which you can find in some places. Managers are excellent, colleagues are so warm and ready to help you fit in.

      Cons

      There aren't really any downsides. When I read reviews prior to joining I was concerned by some stating it was long hours with no balance. If you want to put in extra hours and work that's up to you but it's not something that is encouraged and work/life balance is highly promoted. There's trainings on how to manage time effectively, hard work can be rewarded with an early Friday finish and managers will call you out if they think you're overworking to avoid you burning out.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for!

      Apr 21, 2021 - Senior Technical Recruiter in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with their competitor for a number of years before joining RW and I absolutely love it so far. The training has been brilliant- fantastic trainer from the UK and Directors and managers coming into the sessions as well. The team are lovely, very supportive, and a very collaborative vibe throughout. Was on-boarded remotely due to Covid and it went smoothly with no hiccups so that was great. Great collaboration on an international level as well!

      Cons

      I have none so far!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great business excellent career growth

      Apr 12, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great business excellent career growth

      Cons

      unobtainable targets at times throughout the year

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Nov 13, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With recruitment being a generally competitive business to work in, RW & WP work together as a team, cross-selling, encouraging & supporting each other where possible. There is many opportunities available to grow and progress within the company, not to mention the opportunity to transfer to one of their 31 offices across the globe. My first day here was also the day everyone was sent to work from home. In such a strange and unfamiliar time, I was made to feel so welcome & given so much support & training to help me settle in.

      Cons

      I haven't experience any cons during my time here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Overdue for change

      Nov 10, 2020 - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Training - Some people - Drink cart on Fridays

      Cons

      - Turnover - Bonus structure - Communication

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your review, although I am disappointed to read that your experience didn’t live up to the high standards we strive for. It’s true that this is a difficult time for many businesses, but we continue to invest in building a positive, rewarding work experience for all our employees. I’m always keen to get more detailed feedback, so if you’re interested in setting up a confidential conversation, please email me at louise.campell@robertwalters.com. Thank you, Louise Campbell Managing Director, Robert Walters Ireland

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Shocking Leadership in Dublin

      Mar 18, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training and staff are excellent

      Cons

      The targets giving to people coming into the business are way over the top. People are coming into sales for the first time have similar targets to managers and Seniors. Sadly the directors in Dublin are finite thinkers and just focus on putting money in their own pockets and not feeding the people that drive the business. On some occasions you could even hit your target and not be given a bonus because your team didn’t reach their overall target. It’s a shady set up and nothing is black and white. Every few years they have a mass exodus of people seeing the light and they panic and make you feel worthless for leaving. Saying the grass is not greener and I can assure you it is!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for sharing your comments with us, although I was obviously disappointed to read your appraisal of our management team here in the Dublin office. In my experience, having worked with the directors in the Irish business since 2004/2005, you would be hard pressed to find more committed, ethical Individuals who have sacrificed both time and personal gain to ensure that we, as a team, succeed. I could not be prouder right now of the team of people I work with in the Dublin business and that applies to everyone from our directors to our junior consultants, to our back office staff. Our team ethos doesn’t suit everyone, but having worked for Robert Walters through 2 major economic down-turns, I am incredibly grateful to be working in such a team environment right now, where the level of support from all our colleagues across the world is demonstrated on a daily basis. I am happy you said that the staff and training is excellent – this training is run by the directors of the business, which I believe shows our ongoing commitment to our staff. I wish you success in the coming months as I be-lieve that our industry will need every support it can get. If you ever wish to discuss your experience further, please feel free to give me a call — I would be happy to speak with you. Thanks, Louise Campbell Managing Director, Robert Walters Ireland

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Recruitment Consultant

      Oct 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Team spirit, Flexible working and incredible Client base. People very friendly and a lot of very senior Consultants who have a great network and Industry experience. Have hired some excellent people in the past 6 months who are very quality driven and genuinely care about the levels of service and quality of work. Crossover between Walters People and Robert Walters is great - lots of cross selling. Management team is really strong, with great reputation.

      Cons

      Coming from an Industry background, it takes time getting used to the highs and lows - you can control the process as well as possible but still you may not get the result you need. However a lot of support is given to new starters with really good training program, so expect this will even out over time !

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Consultant

      Aug 25, 2019 - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training, autonomy and genuine people.

      Cons

      There has been a lot of change which has impacted the environment. To compensate, management are taking on too much work and not delegating.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your comments. I appreciate your feedback and understand that the recent changes have affected our people in different ways, and I regret that they had a negative impact on your working environment. I’d be interested in getting some more details from you—if you’d like to email me on louise.campbell@robertwalters.com, I’d be happy to arrange to have a confidential conversation. Louise Campbell Managing Director, Robert Walters Ireland

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Recruitment Consultant

      Feb 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you're a junior recruitment consultant they will hold your hand so you're not thrown in at the deep end.

      Cons

      You will make significantly more money at any other agency given Robert Walters pooled bonus scheme.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for taking time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear you felt there was a supportive environment for new recruiters here at Robert Walters. While we understand that our team profit-sharing model is unique in our industry, we feel that it’s a positive difference that helps build our supportive, team-based culture and ensures we put clients and candidates first. We also offer competitive base salaries with a broader range of perks and benefits to make sure we’re compensating and rewarding our people fairly. If you have any other feedback, or if you would like to discuss further, we’d be happy to hear from you at hr.admin@robertwalters.com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 737 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

    Robert Walters logo
    or