River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Aug 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 of over 1,805 reviews

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits - staff discount, uniform allowance; friendly team(in 150 reviews)

  • "250 plus uniform allowance every 6-8 weeks(in 138 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours(in 62 reviews)

  • "The salary they offer is only minimum wage(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "minimum wage"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Assistant

      Mar 19, 2019 - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, benefit in kind of clothing, staff discount, understanding managers, friendly staff

      Cons

      minimum wage. Only get time and a hald on Sundays and Bank Holidays, not double time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Bad company to work for

      Jul 28, 2020 - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company discount you get 40% off full price stuff

      Cons

      The pay is shocking, i started in river island when i was 17 and i started on €6.50, ik am now 20 years old and i only just got minimum wage.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Sales Advisor

      Sep 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount on the clothes in the store

      Cons

      The salary they offer is only minimum wage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Part time sales staff

      Jan 16, 2019 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice managers and good training systems.

      Cons

      Poor pay and low hour contracts. Staff under 21 paid below minimum wage.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Disappointed.

      Jun 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - 40% discount on clothes - the work is relatively easy - no qualifications/experience necessary

      Cons

      - 40% discount is up to a maximum of €300 worth of full priced items per month. Not allowed to let your friends use it. You must say it is for your family if you want to let close friends/partner use your discount. - Most shifts were 4 hours long. I was on 12 hour contract which meant I worked 4 hours each day for 3 days. - Management had clear favourites. I have seen employees get into trouble because the manager didn't like their outfit. Managers and other staff members will talk about you behind your back. - No clear company policies. Management threw the words "company policy" around when it suited them but often contradicted themselves. - Minimum wage. Even at supervisor level it's not any better. -Must BUY clothes to wear to work. While the discount provided is good (enough) when clothes are no longer on the shop floor or go into sale (which happens regularly) you are no longer allowed wear these clothes to work. This means the majority of your wages go back to the company. -Shops often have little or no security and shop lifting is rife

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Not pleasant

      Apr 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      40% staff discount, management were nice to begin (not after)

      Cons

      below minimum wage if under 20, 8 hours a week to begin

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      They exploit young people - DO NOT FALL FOR IT - worst job I have ever had.

      Jan 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can potentially make new friends.

      Cons

      Where to start? This company would pay you less than minimum wage if they could, wages are abysmal. They make sure all their staff are young, interview is basically about how you look/dress, they don't care about any other qualities. They will make you work 5 days a week, 4 hours each day and there is no chance for more hours. The reason for this is they don't have to pay lunch times. Its cheaper for them to hire 2 people at 4 hours than one person for 8. You are buying into the mentality of this place being a hipster place/cool place to work, but that is how they exploit. They bribe the staff by giving a discount in your wages to spend on the overpriced clothes in the store. Pay is monthly, expect no more than €800 PER MONTH. Can an brand like River Island that pays peanuts not manage weekly pay for students and young people living week to week? Pathetic. The management. Rude, obnoxious, nosey, horrible disgusting people. The ones I had to work with at least in the store on Grafton Street.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for your review.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Absolutely appuling

      Sep 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good discount for all staff Very motivational team Staff encourage you as much as they can.

      Cons

      •Pay is very poor. €8.45 P/H including retail experience, It's appuling. •They expect you to work with no break so they don't have to pay. •Your only doing 4 hour shift each day, they don't take you on full hours over one day. •They don't spread your shifts longer within the week. •You would be earning more on the social welfare as I calculated it. •I was spending more on travel expenses to go to work then actually working 4 hours a day Complete & utter disappointment. •I personally think the management want to up do their standards for their staff. They should give longer hours, better pay (Applies to all staff with previous retail experience) to not work below minimum wage. I found that insulting. •I want to say very clear to all new employees you won't go far working in their; they want you to work for less, you won't go by 5 hours a day, their ONLY 4 hour Shifts spread over 7 days. Appuling. •Your coming out with more money on the dole €800 per month, as opposed to the company your only coming out with less every month. How on earth can you survive off that?😱 Personally Not worth your time. You won't progress into manager very hard to get in their even when you try your best, get employee of the month, you try so hard they just won't take it on board. •They won't upskill you •They expect you stay in "Reject" and think you'll be okay with that. They don't like you to move around they want you to stay in one section. •They don't give you a chance. •They expect you to be fine with your pay is just embarrassing and not doing you any favours. •They don't give you any Christmas bonus, •They won't do anything for you when you ask for more hours to the management " they forget" when it comes to next roster. •They give you Late notice if you where successful for the job. •If you request a day off, sometimes the management forgot that you've got that Day off and they have you down on the roster already, then it's up to you to get your shift swapped around unprofesssional rover islasnd!!! Disaster. •They don't phone to tell you inadvanced they have moved your shifts around they expect you to know this by yourself with out no notice. •They never pick up their phones. •They expect you to reach sales targets and know everything before you start your shift. They have "team talk".

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for your review. We pay the national living wage which is in line with the rest of the high street. As we are a privately run business, we have no need for a union. We're sorry you felt this way and would have loved for you to have got in contact with HR with your concerns while you were with us.

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Advisor

      Oct 3, 2017 - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff discount Friends I've made along the way

      Cons

      Minimum wage, heavy work load, long hours over Christmas/St.Stephens Day, lazy managers, no motivation to work, no room to move up the ladder, no life outside work due to late working hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for your feedback, we'll take it on board.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Advisor

      Jun 28, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Management in store can be very accommodating, Good discount.

      Cons

      Low pay - paid basic minimum wage with no opportunity to increase. Difficult to progress - supervisor/management jobs are difficult to find and very competitive. No progress to head office. Head office does not seem to understand how basic business works. They refuse to put money into their stores and staff.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for your feedback. We currently pay National Living Wage and encourage progression throughout our business. We have some great success stories. If you wish to discuss progression, please feel free to speak with the team at our River Island Academy and they'd be happy to advise you. Our dedicated Shop Fitting team here at Head Office are consistently ensuring our stores look as amazing as they do, any ideas will be welcomed. We offer work experience across head office for those external and internal candidates who wish to experience a different side of the business. If this is of interest, please get in touch with the Recruitment Team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews

    Popular Careers with River Island Clothing Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at River Island Clothing? Share Your Experiences

    River Island Clothing logo
    or