Ritz-Carlton Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Ritz-Carlton Reviews

Updated 8 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Ritz-Carlton CEO Hervé Humler
Hervé Humler
563 Ratings
  1. "Good team and decent pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banquet Houseman in Truckee, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    service charge (tips) good team effort pay flexible hours

    Cons

    irregular hours long hours sometimes repetitive upper management

    Advice to Management

    none

    Ritz-Carlton2019-11-08
  2. "One of the best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager Banquet in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ritz Carlton is not a company it's a family

    Cons

    I will update if I will get

    Ritz-Carlton2019-11-05
  3. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Supervisor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Team, Culture, that ability to travel the world

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to balance work and life, but that is the industry

    Ritz-Carlton2019-11-04
  4. "Assistant Banquet Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Banquet Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Kempinski The Westin Katameya Ritz Carlton Cairo Semiramis Inter Continental Conrad

    Cons

    Self-confidence taking responsibility hard work training others

    Advice to Management

    Controlling all the queuing and assigning tasks to them according to the strength of each basket to solve the problems of the inmates

    Ritz-Carlton2019-11-01
  5. "Service Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton part-time

    Pros

    Incredible team of staff, very good camaraderie and the company takes care of it's staff very well.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any as I did not work for a long period of time and any opinions may be unjustifiable.

    Advice to Management

    -

    Ritz-Carlton2019-10-31
  6. "Not enough work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Fun coworkers * Opportunity to learn and grow within the company * Good networking opportunities * Guests are mostly easy to work with and the brand reputation certainly helps meet your sales numbers

    Cons

    * Expect to work after hours, though required to log in and off to be paid hourly. You will have a company laptop and must answer VIP requests even late into the night. * Executive team definitely has its flaws but what hotel does not. * Meetings were rather unproductive and taking time away from sales activities. * Don't believe the promise to work from home 1 day per week * Overtime calculated into your... salary, so expect to work a lot or not make your salary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give Managers individual offices rather than open cubicle concept. All properties are not the same, though I got the feeling many properties saw similar experiences. Everything depends on the market, if there is $$ coming in, everyone is happy!

    Ritz-Carlton2019-11-11
  7. "Worse experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Relations Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time

    Pros

    The Ritz Carlton reputation of course

    Cons

    Illegal obligatory unpaid overtime, food provided is sickening, discrimination on the expats: no promotions and no appreciation and no task force, salaries are very low: not worth it, shortage of staff all year, apathy: no one cares if you are sick and you need to work..

    Advice to Management

    You are losing the best employees and glorifying the idiots: nice str

    Ritz-Carlton2019-12-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Playing Favorites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering and Conference Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - good for your resume - used to receive excellent travel perks - locations impressive - product easy to sell - empowerment and holds staff accountable- most of the time

    Cons

    - overworked for the hours put in - some senior management should have left a long time ago - senior staff has their favorites, not everyone treated equally

    Advice to Management

    - pay staff what they are worth - stop upping the ante on goals and bonuse that are not achievable- this demoralizes the team - hold the senior leadership accountable worked at several properties when the company first switched to Marriott management. After many years in the hotel sales & catering space, I learned quite a bit after joining the company. There were definitely "favorites" who could do no wrong... which left a sour taste amongst the rang and file staff. The message was "you were selected, it is a priviledge to work for us". Unfortunately the company did not believe in paying its' managers compensatory wages for the amount of work required. Yep- it was great to have "RC" on your resume, but I needed to also pay the bills. Eventually left and continued my hotel career where I was able to attain a more sustainable work-life balance.

    Show More
    Ritz-Carlton2019-11-04
  9. "Rampant Unconscious and Conscious Bias"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Project Coordinator in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Discounted rooms occasionally. Lunch provided.

    Cons

    No such thing as Ritz-Carlton anymore, more like JW Marriott with a dull sparkle. Management bias will block or stunt your professional growth.

    Advice to Management

    Move along.

    Ritz-Carlton2019-11-03
  10. "Great Opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Rancho Mirage, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of work and opportunity for growth. I was promoted 3 times and had some amazing managers.

    Cons

    Favoritism, unfair, cutthroat and lots of drama.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of some management that pushes employees out. I’ve seen some great employees be put on a chopping block due to fellow employees manipulation.

    Ritz-Carlton2019-10-20
Found 1258 reviews