Rite Aid Certified Pharmacy Technician Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Rite Aid Certified Pharmacy Technician Reviews

Updated 19 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
37%
Recommend to a Friend
Rite Aid CEO Heyward Donigan
Heyward Donigan
0 Rating
  1. "I enjoyed my time here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rite Aid full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at an extremely busy store so the days always went by fast. I always knew what was expected of me coming into work and my fellow employees were all awesome. NextGen computer system is the best of any pharmacy I've ever worked at and super easy to learn and navigate.

    Cons

    Customer issues, working weekends, sometimes long hours.

    Rite Aid2019-12-20
  2. "Good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training and development Good management Benefits

    Cons

    Schedules flexible but posted only one week ahead which is hard to organize your circumstances.

    Rite Aid2019-12-08
  3. "Corp has high demands for low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great and friendly coworkers. Medical benefits

    Cons

    Low wage and corporate demands numbers

    Rite Aid2019-09-05
  4. "Pharmacy Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician 

    I worked at Rite Aid part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Knowledgeable experience, made some great connection with co-workers.

    Cons

    Not a fair pay basis

    Rite Aid2019-08-01
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Highly Skilled Labor For Almost Minimum Wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Chesapeake, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The main reason I stayed with the company for nearly 4 years were that I had a very flexible schedule and I loved my coworkers. I also genuinely enjoyed working as a pharmacy tech. It was easier to request time off for holidays than at previous employers.

    Cons

    The wages are disgustingly low for skilled labor that requires you to have a certification and involves something as sensitive as handling medication and confidential healthcare records. Opportunities for advancement were slim to none and the annual review process by default awarded a whopping 2% raise regardless of how hard you may have worked. We were also increasingly pressured to fill my prescriptions with fewer tech hours and, once again, wages did not adjust in proportion with these expectations. I watched the morale of my immediate supervisor and fellow techs rapidly deteriorate accordingly. There was also an irritating emphasis on trying to up-sale by pushing flu shots on to customers who usually just seemed annoyed, and yet there was no tangible monetary incentive to do so for anyone other than upper management. Oh wait, my mistake: techs were offered the exciting prospect of a whole $100 if we exceeded their unrealistic expectations (a process that would occur over the course of an entire season). While tech wages stagnated, the CEO gave himself multiple pay raises. If you want a concise illustration of everything wrong with capitalism, look no further than Rite Aid!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pharmacy technicians are skilled laborers, pay them accordingly. Let your pharmacists be the judge of how many tech hours their stores require, not bootlicking district managers who stop by once a month to tell you to peddle more flu shots so they can get their bonus.

    Rite Aid2019-02-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Certified Pharmacy Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the staff was quite friendly and are willing to work with you on things that need improvement in a constructive and friendly manner. If you needed more work you were generally able to go to different stores for more hours Had a structure to follow

    Cons

    Not enough techs to help pharmacies out; you'd get called often on your off days Not always enough help to get things done. Never got the raise I was told I was going to get after getting certified; had to constantly be on someone (pharmacist or district manager) and never got anything out of it. Was never told about my benefits or what I had to do to maintain them; never got a booklet to read on my own time. No set schedule

    Show More
    Rite Aid2019-01-31
  7. "Certified Pharmacy Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Mooresville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rite Aid part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pharmacy Tech Schedule. Environment. Team is good.

    Cons

    Pay isn't good in comparison to other certified pharmacy tech jobs.

    Rite Aid2018-09-03
  8. "Pharmacy technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Norfolk, VA

    I worked at Rite Aid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a wonderful pharmacy staff.

    Cons

    Low pay, conflicts between store managers and the pharmacy, district managers won’t have back with unreasonable customers.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the individual pharmacy needs over the desired cohesion you might want on procedure. A slow pharmacy and a high volume pharmacy will have different procedures for efficiency. Don’t mess with that if you don’t need to.

    Rite Aid2018-08-07
  9. "Pharmacy tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Moreno Valley, CA

    I have been working at Rite Aid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work at

    Cons

    I have no cons about working there

    Rite Aid2018-05-22
  10. "Don’t work for them!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rite Aid full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My fellow pharmacy technicians and pharmacists.

    Cons

    They do not value their employees. The highest raise thus far has been 30 cents...

    Advice to Management

    Always be aware of what other pharmacies are paying their techs... Ultimately the lack of leadership from our district leaders is just petty.

    Rite Aid2018-06-15
Found 112 reviews