Reynolds American Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Reynolds American Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American President and CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
9 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, good benefit. The company is growing fast, create many opportunities for career advancement

    Cons

    Winston-Salem is not the nicest city to live

    Reynolds American2020-01-22
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Old boys club operating in 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture can be great which is based on your division manager. Company car is a great perk (minus the $175 month cost).

    Cons

    The company has not changed its promotion process in the last 30 years! In order to move up they want you to relocate in order to go from TM -AM. Even if there is an opening available where you currently work, for some reason “the old boys club culture” wants you to prove you self my uprooting and doing the same they did. The issue I have with this is that it seems it’s more important to “earn your stripes” by moving, rather than promoting the right talent I spend a decade at the company, and have moved 2 times for promotions, only to find out that other CPG companies don’t make you move this much, and can still be successful. Additionally, RAI only promotes from within the company. This is great for current employees, but by choosing this strategy the are alienating so much senior level talent doing amazing things. All because they do not have tobacco experience? Again, this goes back to my point that although RAI seems quite progressive on the surface, deep down it’s still an old boys club culture. To truly make it, you have to move 4-5 times and prove that you can endure that, versus your work results. My best advice to anyone at RAI: take their incredible training and implement those learnings at another company.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-10-19
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Great Career Opportunity, not!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are above average

    Cons

    Career development goes to young inexperienced attractive women. Nepotism and cronyism are the keys to advancement.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-08-31
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Great company, but improvement is needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company offers good benefits from company vehicle to competitive medical insurance plans. In addition, there are other misc benefits that include EAP, gym, Thrive, 16 week parental leave, etc. RAI provides great training programs for Territory Managers and above (examples include workshops, trips to Corporate, week long training for managers, etc). Opportunities for growth are available, but like in any other organization of similar size and similar structure, reasonable mobility is needed and as you approach higher level roles, promotions might not be as frequent. When an employee voices their desire to build their career with the organization, a plan is placed to help them achieve desired goal.

    Cons

    - Mobility can be viewed as cons for the company. Like i mentioned above, reasonable mobility is needed when trying to get promoted, so it depends on the individual and their personal situation - there are many employees that are totally fine with this requirement and some that are not so much - Work Life balance . For some positions it is becoming more and more challenging to balance both. We used to talk a lot about this topic, but it is slowing down and instead we talk about productivity. Productivity is important and needs to be discussed especially in the company that is constatntly evolving, however, we shouldnt ignore work life balance. - Inconsistent workload. There are many same level positions that have absolutely different level of workload while pay is the same.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-07-08
  5. Helpful (17)

    "DO NOT TRUST THE PROCESS! Leave NOW. They are deleting negative reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Division Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company vehicle Hard to get fired

    Cons

    Your product kills people Your work will not be recognized based on merits

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-04-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great environment to work in.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Reynolds American2019-02-28
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Senior Division Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Division Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company culture has improved dramatically with new executive leadership.

    Cons

    Evaluating performance is too subjective. Still some "not good" people being promoted that should not be managing people.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2018-10-28
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Company Car, Laptop, Internet & Cell phone reimbursement.

    Cons

    Negative business. While they pay great, they expect you to work way to many hours. Only promoted if willing to relocate. Do not post jobs. Reviews are open, but if you make a mistake, they seem to never get past it.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2018-08-24
  9. Helpful (34)

    "Times have changed..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Division Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Company vehicle ($175) -Benefits -401k Match -Pension (if applicable)

    Cons

    -Lack of transparency has led to an uncertain feeling in the field. Personnel moves are announced without the understanding of what has caused the movement. This leads to the field to speculate on what is happening. With BAT changes coming between now and Vegas, transparency is needed. -Pay is not adequate for the work being done by TMs. As our portfolio grows, one would assume profits would also grow to reward the people in the field. The company is also hemorrhaging money on different initiatives, POS/materials, and recalls. This only creates additional work that is not compensated for. When it comes to pay, the company is in a negative feedback loop that it can't get itself out of. -I have dealt with numerous TM vacancies, both on my team, along with my team assisting other divisions to cover. It seems as if we have stopped hiring additional personnel, which turns vacancy coverage into the new norm putting additional pressure and workload on TMs. I've had candid conversations with some of my top performing TMs and they are burnt out. This worries me on how long they will stick around as I can only say "use informed decisions" so many times... -Territory Managers can be treated as juveniles. In some ways they are put on a pedestal (rightfully so) as they are the front lines of our company, yet the environment they work in consists of constant coaching with little to no positivity. Lack of metrics and true 'goals' give TMs a feeling of being lost no knowing if what they are doing is right. In some divisions within the region, TMs are given curfews or restricted on where they can go for nightly entertainment during meetings. TMs are adults with college degrees, and in some cases twice the age as their managers. They need to be treated like it.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2018-09-19
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who actually do work

    Cons

    Management and leadership is incompetent - unfortunately. Live in a bubble and haze of smoke. British American tobacco running the show at RAI. Sad what it has become. No spine.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2018-08-24
Found 57 reviews