Reynolds American Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Reynolds American Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 19 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Old boys club operating in 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture can be great which is based on your division manager. Company car is a great perk (minus the $175 month cost).

    Cons

    The company has not changed its promotion process in the last 30 years! In order to move up they want you to relocate in order to go from TM -AM. Even if there is an opening available where you currently work, for some reason “the old boys club culture” wants you to prove you self my uprooting and doing the same they did. The issue I have with this is that it seems it’s more important to “earn your stripes” by... moving, rather than promoting the right talent I spend a decade at the company, and have moved 2 times for promotions, only to find out that other CPG companies don’t make you move this much, and can still be successful. Additionally, RAI only promotes from within the company. This is great for current employees, but by choosing this strategy the are alienating so much senior level talent doing amazing things. All because they do not have tobacco experience? Again, this goes back to my point that although RAI seems quite progressive on the surface, deep down it’s still an old boys club culture. To truly make it, you have to move 4-5 times and prove that you can endure that, versus your work results. My best advice to anyone at RAI: take their incredible training and implement those learnings at another company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the outdated promotion process. I understand that working in new markets gets you diverse experience, but it’s not an end all be all. Also remember that this is big tobacco, in order to retain and keep talent you should look at hiring from the outside. There are many directors at RAI brining in 300-400K a year not having impact. Just because they moved 5 times should not mandate them a leadership role . Bring... in new perspectives at higher levels. The best thing I ever did was take the top notch training and apply to another CPG company, and it’s been the best move ever. Also, I didn’t have to move 3 times!

    Show More
    Reynolds American2019-10-19
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Great Career Opportunity, not!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are above average

    Cons

    Career development goes to young inexperienced attractive women. Nepotism and cronyism are the keys to advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on most qualified for job. Learn how to be managers and how to make decisions.

    Reynolds American2019-08-31
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Great company, but improvement is needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company offers good benefits from company vehicle to competitive medical insurance plans. In addition, there are other misc benefits that include EAP, gym, Thrive, 16 week parental leave, etc. RAI provides great training programs for Territory Managers and above (examples include workshops, trips to Corporate, week long training for managers, etc). Opportunities for growth are available, but like in any other... organization of similar size and similar structure, reasonable mobility is needed and as you approach higher level roles, promotions might not be as frequent. When an employee voices their desire to build their career with the organization, a plan is placed to help them achieve desired goal.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Mobility can be viewed as cons for the company. Like i mentioned above, reasonable mobility is needed when trying to get promoted, so it depends on the individual and their personal situation - there are many employees that are totally fine with this requirement and some that are not so much - Work Life balance . For some positions it is becoming more and more challenging to balance both. We used to talk a lot... about this topic, but it is slowing down and instead we talk about productivity. Productivity is important and needs to be discussed especially in the company that is constatntly evolving, however, we shouldnt ignore work life balance. - Inconsistent workload. There are many same level positions that have absolutely different level of workload while pay is the same.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are a lot of constructive comments on this website that should not be ignored, but instead carefully reviewed and discussed. While our portfolio, our programs and contracts are evolving, there is true need to reevaluate current workload and responsibilities for various field roles. Every company experiences turnover every year, but it seems that we have been experiencing this more now than in the past... (resignations, vacancies, etc). Solicit open and candid feedback from all levels, dont try to justify the current situation, just take it all in, review and work on putting together a plan that can create positive change for your employees that will lead to better distribution of workload and work life balance.

    Show More
    Reynolds American2019-07-08
  4. Helpful (16)

    "DO NOT TRUST THE PROCESS! Leave NOW. They are deleting negative reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Division Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company vehicle Hard to get fired

    Cons

    Your product kills people Your work will not be recognized based on merits

    Advice to Management

    Do not allow people to be in leadership positions who aren't leaders. SDRs are lazy and over paid, get rid of them, reduce salaries.

    Reynolds American2019-04-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great environment to work in.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Reynolds American2019-02-28
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Senior Division Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Division Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company culture has improved dramatically with new executive leadership.

    Cons

    Evaluating performance is too subjective. Still some "not good" people being promoted that should not be managing people.

    Advice to Management

    Abolish performance panels.

    Reynolds American2018-10-28
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Company Car, Laptop, Internet & Cell phone reimbursement.

    Cons

    Negative business. While they pay great, they expect you to work way to many hours. Only promoted if willing to relocate. Do not post jobs. Reviews are open, but if you make a mistake, they seem to never get past it.

    Advice to Management

    Management in Midwest needs to retire already. More attitude of catch you doing something bad instead of coach you to success

    Reynolds American2018-08-24
  8. Helpful (33)

    "Times have changed..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Division Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Company vehicle ($175) -Benefits -401k Match -Pension (if applicable)

    Cons

    -Lack of transparency has led to an uncertain feeling in the field. Personnel moves are announced without the understanding of what has caused the movement. This leads to the field to speculate on what is happening. With BAT changes coming between now and Vegas, transparency is needed. -Pay is not adequate for the work being done by TMs. As our portfolio grows, one would assume profits would also grow to reward... the people in the field. The company is also hemorrhaging money on different initiatives, POS/materials, and recalls. This only creates additional work that is not compensated for. When it comes to pay, the company is in a negative feedback loop that it can't get itself out of. -I have dealt with numerous TM vacancies, both on my team, along with my team assisting other divisions to cover. It seems as if we have stopped hiring additional personnel, which turns vacancy coverage into the new norm putting additional pressure and workload on TMs. I've had candid conversations with some of my top performing TMs and they are burnt out. This worries me on how long they will stick around as I can only say "use informed decisions" so many times... -Territory Managers can be treated as juveniles. In some ways they are put on a pedestal (rightfully so) as they are the front lines of our company, yet the environment they work in consists of constant coaching with little to no positivity. Lack of metrics and true 'goals' give TMs a feeling of being lost no knowing if what they are doing is right. In some divisions within the region, TMs are given curfews or restricted on where they can go for nightly entertainment during meetings. TMs are adults with college degrees, and in some cases twice the age as their managers. They need to be treated like it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Adjust with the times. The company was great 15+ years ago when it aligned with the generations that made up trade marketing. Those same practices will not work with today’s generation. Ask what the field wants/needs and make adjustments sooner than later. Let HR handle Glassdoor. Fake/inflated comments will not bring in talent, and will only paint a bad picture to the current employees of the company. These... posts show the field that management is not listening to their concerns and is publicly masking the obvious issues. Use the time invested in 'cleaning up' Glassdoor to make actual changes to retain and gain talent in the field.

    Show More
    Reynolds American2018-09-19
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who actually do work

    Cons

    Management and leadership is incompetent - unfortunately. Live in a bubble and haze of smoke. British American tobacco running the show at RAI. Sad what it has become. No spine.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging and stop justifying your own existence You speak about harm reduction but still support tobacco cigarettes globally

    Reynolds American2018-08-24
  10. Helpful (53)

    "Isn’t What it Used to Be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Division Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Far and away, the people who work at the company are best in class. Reynolds has passionate, caring people and they are in great danger of losing them if they continue down the path they are headed. Flexible work schedule, vacation time (3 weeks to start, 5 weeks after 5 years, 2 floating holidays, etc.), matching 401 k, and tuition reimbursement which is definitely the best I’ve seen in the CPG industry.

    Cons

    Where to start? I’ve read so many of these reviews, and having held multiple roles over many years, I have a lot to of thoughts and a very unique perspective to give. I’d like to say that a resounding theme is TM’s being overworked. Many might say that this could be misconstrued as them whining which I wholeheartedly disagree with. TM’s are not opposed to hard work; what they are opposed to is being exploited and... not being fairly compensated for a vastly increasing workload (ie being responsible for four + times the amount of brands) with increasing tracking mechanisms and reporting that make them feel micro-managed and suffocated. They used to be praised for being Category Advisors and are now highly executional, weighed down by too many tasks, overwhelming directions that don’t drive the business, and overbearing Managers that think contests will motivate them when all it does is add additional pressure they don’t need. To top it off, they have folks from Home Office come into town who refer to them as “knuckle draggers” in casual conversation which totally destroys any shred of morale they may have had left and confirms any suspicion they had of what the people in Corporate actually think of them (and yes, that really did happen). Compensation for TM’s and AM’s needs to be re-examined. The workload is not appropriate for the pay, and the demands are too stressful for the job description. Please look at what Managers are saying and doing in the field—CE competitions, insane tracking of TM’s, bullying, etc. As a fellow Manager, I have become alarmed at what I have seen my peers do and what TM’s have reported to me. My cries to HR have fallen on deaf ears and it seems that this is now the culture of the organization. What once was a great, motivating place to be is now a toxic, stressful, “Big Brother” type of place. And in case you all were wondering, HR is there to protect Reynolds, not you. The need to move in order to be promoted is antiquated and stops many hard-working, deserving people from advancing in the company. It makes me disappointed that this practice is still in play in 2018, when so many CPG companies dropped it in the 80’s and 90’s. Reynolds still has a military mentality where you have to drop everything within a week and relocate your family in order to move up. Sacrifice all, and be rewarded. Turn down an opportunity, and be black balled. I have seen many peers and friends end up in absolutely horrible locations and suffer from depression and be extremely unhappy as a result. Many, many people I know have left the company as a result and are much happier in the long run. Lastly, as many have stated, this is not a place for women. I have been told multiple times throughout my tenure that I have only earned my place because the talent pool needed more women in Management and that’s why I was there. This, despite having earned an “above the line” rating every year since being employed at Reynolds. Nearly every Manager told me this since my employ—-Maybe not directly, but it was heavily implied that it would certainly “help my trajectory”.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This company used to be great. It used to be a place that I was proud to say I worked at. I would wake up every day and be excite to go to work. I want that feeling back. Do the right thing. Treat people better. Pay them what they deserve. Stop the constant tracking. Trust your employees—-you hired all of us for a reason. If you don’t start to improve things, your vacancies will go from 135 to 235. Get it together.

    Reynolds American2018-08-20
Found 56 reviews