Reynolds American Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Reynolds American Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
75 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Spanish Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great Team Awesome Leadership

    Cons

    The "succession" or opportunities for advancement is somewhat frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-11-30
  2. "Great company, great people, awesome benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always learning, and fast transforming business

    Cons

    None, sometimes things get frustrating but that’s with any job .

    Reynolds American2019-11-24
  3. "Be ready to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay People Company car Flexibility People

    Cons

    Everyone is super busy. Downtime is minimal if you want to succeed.

    Reynolds American2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stable company with solid pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company has fantastic benefits and the expectations are low for their employees.

    Cons

    The company does not promote based on merit at all.

    Reynolds American2019-11-01
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Old boys club operating in 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture can be great which is based on your division manager. Company car is a great perk (minus the $175 month cost).

    Cons

    The company has not changed its promotion process in the last 30 years! In order to move up they want you to relocate in order to go from TM -AM. Even if there is an opening available where you currently work, for some reason “the old boys club culture” wants you to prove you self my uprooting and doing the same they did. The issue I have with this is that it seems it’s more important to “earn your stripes” by moving, rather than promoting the right talent I spend a decade at the company, and have moved 2 times for promotions, only to find out that other CPG companies don’t make you move this much, and can still be successful. Additionally, RAI only promotes from within the company. This is great for current employees, but by choosing this strategy the are alienating so much senior level talent doing amazing things. All because they do not have tobacco experience? Again, this goes back to my point that although RAI seems quite progressive on the surface, deep down it’s still an old boys club culture. To truly make it, you have to move 4-5 times and prove that you can endure that, versus your work results. My best advice to anyone at RAI: take their incredible training and implement those learnings at another company.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-10-19
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible autonomy of daily schedule.

    Cons

    Store managers and owners can be difficult to work with.

    Reynolds American2019-09-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mgr in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good people, good benefits, good location

    Cons

    tough industry that can be volatile

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-09-15

    Reynolds American Response

    September 20, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our industry is challenging, and we believe these challenges pose great opportunities for us. We appreciate your 10+ years of dedication to our team, and hope your experiences while with us were meaningful and that you were able to grow professionally as a result.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "TM's do alot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time

    Pros

    TM's and the teams

    Cons

    Upper management can be a little worried about job stability therefore creating extra work for the TMs who have enough going on

    Reynolds American2019-09-18
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Just my outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits such as vacation allocation and tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Everything else! Work load is unreasonable. Marketing strategies are questionable. They claim to be innovating but are always 2 to 3 years begins from the competition.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-08-20

    Reynolds American Response

    September 10, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our industry continues to evolve, and we're energized by the challenges that come with this evolution. Territory managers are the frontline of our business, and we appreciate and acknowledge your dedication. Diverse leadership is one way that we will continue to lead the transformation of our industry. Diversity plays a critical role in our future success which is why we're committed to making Reynolds American Inc a more inclusive and diverse workplace.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Nurtured by Reynolds - Blossoming with JUUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Just like other reviews on here. Great hard working people. Company car (you have to pay for) and matching 401k 6%

    Cons

    • Car This has been mentioned several times here. Company charges $175 per month. My company over pays me to pick my own company car and stash the rest in case of something. But I don’t have to pay $175 of my net salary to the company. • Competitive salary. This is the most common compliant out of all the reviews. The salary is very substandard in today’s market. Salary in the 50k range in high cost of living areas are not sustainable. Companies inside and outside the area are paying wages way beyond this company. This is also demoralizing the TMs witnessing this. • Tenured Turnover Companies as large as this already anticipate turnover and its to be assumed that they have a certain number of an acceptable percentage of turnover. But from my region you just see a plethora of TM3’s with a wide array of experience and best practices to share leave for JUUL. This is just the beginning as it will continue to be a chain reaction. When 1 TM leaves there are 5 other TMs waiting a few months more to hear the feedback of how much better it is. Then those 5 will leave and tell 5 more and so on. This has been happening for about 2 years at least. And the candidates coming in are people that have been fired, laid off, or desperately looking for any type of work because their savings ran out. Do you want to hire these people? Sure you can replace the team lead TM with someone else. But the combination of poor candidates coming in and exceptional, experienced TM leaders going out is not by any means a wash. Average starting salary in my area for a field sales position is 70k. At 50k no one is going to leave their positions for less pay unless it’s for the reasons listed above.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-09-18
Found 492 reviews