Reynolds American Director Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Reynolds American Director Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
2 Ratings
  1. "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lots of positive challenges and opportunities to shine

    Cons

    challenges associated with being in tobacco business

    Reynolds American2019-02-14
  2. "Top Notch in Every Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reynolds American takes great care to recruit top talent and onboard new employees in a way I’ve not experienced in my 20-year career. That means you get the chance to work with smart people who are set up for success. The culture is friendly and supportive and the opportunities from a business and personal development standpoint are profound. The benefits package is generous and the company truly lives the... “great place to work” accolades they’ve received. While Winston-Salem, NC is a smallish city, it has a lot to offer once you get to know it. The new CEO, Ricardo Oberlander is a transformative leader and it’s exciting to hear him talk about the innovative path the company is on. So many people have been here for decades, literally. That’s a testament to the culture, leadership, and real opportunities to grow and shape your career.

    Show More

    Cons

    The acquisition by British American Tobacco has certainly ushered in change. While transitions like that always make people uneasy, the overall mood is positive and forward-looking.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value the people that are committed to the company and stay transparent.

    Reynolds American2018-04-11
  3. "One of the best corporate jobs around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I joined RAI more than 10 years ago because I thought it would be an interesting, challenging job. Boy, was it ever. Yes, it's a high-performing culture with high expectations and there's a lot of work, but you do grow and you are well rewarded as other reviewers have said. Mostly, I enjoy the stimulation and working with some terrific people in a very collaborate environment.

    Cons

    The negative flip side of a dynamic environment like ours is ... lots of change

    Advice to Management

    Manage down, not just up. People will love you for it and give you their loyalty.

    Reynolds American2018-04-10
  4. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Planning, Director in Winston-Salem, NC
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits and people

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities are scarce because of long tenured upper management

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Reynolds American2017-12-07
  5. "Great Pay and Benefits. Has a Coherent Strategy but Follow-Through Has Been Erratic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits and commitment to employee development and well being are outstanding. Committed to a diverse workforce. Great opportunity to start on the "ground floor" and work your way up.

    Cons

    It is the tobacco business, which is in constant decline. While the stated corporate strategy is "Transforming Tobacco" the lion's share of revenue and profits still come from traditional products such as combustible cigarettes and moist snuff. Efforts at innovation are well-intended but so far have not really caught on with consumers.

    Advice to Management

    Pick a strategy and stick with it.

    Reynolds American2016-11-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American

    Pros

    I have worked for Reynolds for over 15 years and have never once considered leaving. What has kept me here is the people more than anything. I truly feel that the company cares about my success and my well being. The best part about RJR is that they promote from within. If you put in the effort, you can advance your career and reach your personal goals. Not to mention, the benefits are truly outstanding! But... one of the greatest things about this company is the shared vision of success. The vision translates to all levels which ensures that we are all working toward the same end result.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no complaints about RJR. If I did, I wouldn't be here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! I am proud to be a part of this organization and look forward to seeing where the future takes us.

    Reynolds American2016-09-24
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Vibrant culture with great employees. Relevant and interesting research. Opportunities to engage with cross-functional and cross Op-Co. Fast paced. Centered on employee growth and opportunities. Flexible work hours with remote access capabilities. No two days are the same. Change is constant. "Boredom" is not a word that is ever used.

    Cons

    Challenging deadlines and changing priorities can be a bit stressful. Not enough time for planning; we are very reactionary.

    Reynolds American2016-09-18
  8. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. High performance culture with dedicated, talented, passionate employees working to reduce the harm from cigarettes and Transform Tobacco.

    Cons

    Controversial industry subject to ongoing undeserved criticism.

    Reynolds American2016-09-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    a lot of positive things going on, dynamic work environment , company on a very solid footing for future, they invest in their people, a very high performing culture pay and benefits above average world class tools and training - opportunity to advance

    Cons

    tobacco industry has a lot of negative perceptions most of which not valid - legal industry - operating very ethically

    Advice to Management

    keep it going important as Susan Cameron will be leaving soon, but I think leadership team behind her is very solid poised to continue great things

    Reynolds American2016-04-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great work environment and challenging work.

    Cons

    Many employees have a sense of entitlement.

    Reynolds American2015-09-30
Found 14 reviews