Reynolds American Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Reynolds American Account Manager Reviews

Updated 25 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
3 Ratings
  1. "Account Manager - Upstate NY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Fantastic Benefits -Strong Focus on Talent Development -Transparent Leadership -Opportunities to Grow Professionally -Progressive Mindset on the Tobacco Category

    Cons

    -No obvious cons to the job. We are in the midst of transforming an industry and with that comes a fast paced environment with at times a heavy workload. That’s all part of the excitement!

    Advice to Management

    In recent years there seems to have been a larger emphasis on both transparency and leadership development. Please continue to emphasize these two areas, the future is bright with RAI because of it!

    Reynolds American2019-04-26
  2. "Great place to work, great team and improving benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company car, 401k match, enhanced benefits, recent increase to pay structure, enhanced career path outline (including international positions), opportunities for advancement, challenging and rewarding work., opportunities for advancement. Like most other places, your boss and your team play a large role in how you like a company or your job. I have been on multiple teams in different parts of the country and have... enjoyed working with each team.

    Show More

    Cons

    Work life balance can be stretched at times with multiple initiatives running at once.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to evolve and keep leadership solid, especially at the local level, where it matters most for trade employees.

    Reynolds American2018-12-24
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Company Car, Laptop, Internet & Cell phone reimbursement.

    Cons

    Negative business. While they pay great, they expect you to work way to many hours. Only promoted if willing to relocate. Do not post jobs. Reviews are open, but if you make a mistake, they seem to never get past it.

    Advice to Management

    Management in Midwest needs to retire already. More attitude of catch you doing something bad instead of coach you to success

    Reynolds American2018-08-24
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reynolds provides in depth training that is applicable to the entire CPG industry, not just tobacco. The benefits package is lucrative once you make Director, and it is decent for everyone else. Personally, I have been able to move up some with the companies, but also back down a level during a recent merger.

    Cons

    The company has taken to a strategy of endless brand launches, packaging changes, and forced promotional products to capture the ever-shifting consumer that is price shopping. Relationships with customers have been damaged severely by the financial burden to just meeting the inventory requirements for our programs. I have worked internally in marketing and in sales, and there are many different directions being... pushed for each brand among the multitude we sell. Cohesive strategy is not something I have seen in the past year. We talk a lot about transforming the industry with vapor, but we are currently getting destroyed my more innovative competition. Pay is not competitive to our competitors in the industry. This should be fixed immediately.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Equalize pay with Altria, ITG for TMs. Analyze what impact is actually made by the endless string of remerchandising, promotions, and brand launches. The time/money/effort here could be truly maximized to gain real SOM through increased CE time/offers and lifestyle events beyond the C-Store.

    Reynolds American2018-02-26
  5. Helpful (21)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule. CPG is an ever changing typically fast past industry. Best thing about Reynolds - They really do a great job training the employees on aspects that really enhance their skills, making the sales force the best / most intelligent and prepare for any CPG career. I will always stand by that!

    Cons

    Working for Reynolds used to be great and there was a lot of pride associated to working for Reynolds. However, the culture started to change when people from outside the industry were hired and put in charge. The work became mundane and tedious, and there was very little return on investment with our time. Your happiness within Reynolds has a LOT to do with your manager and the management team (region you are... in.) Unfortunately, there are many managers in place that should not be managers. When you have an entire management team who rarely wants to say good job, but instead looks for the small details that "could have been better," even when business outcomes are a success, it really makes you wonder "why bother if all I'm going to get is more criticism,” and created a big lack in motivation and pride. Again, working for Reynolds used to be great, but within the past two years, the culture severely changed, management become more authoritative versus coaching, and the work load became mundane and felt never ending with the amounts of vapor product coming out that wasn't selling, and with room that didn't exist. Lastly, the lack of movement was very frustrating. There used to be an idea of when you would be getting promoted, or know that the next move was somewhere near but once BAT bought Reynolds, that was over. There is zero transparency now and you have employees that are bottlenecking the company while great employees sit and wait, and get all they can out of a position when they should be challenged with a new opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get back to the basics. Coach. Remember, cigarettes and moist products pay the bills and we need to continue our focus on those products and making our TM's the best and most strategic sales force in CPG. Quit picking the TM’s and AM’s apart. Sometimes good is good enough in this ever changing industry, and you will continue to lose good employees if you don't treat them the way the deserve.

    Reynolds American2017-12-30
  6. Helpful (19)

    "Key Accounts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to start your career with, 401k program with company match. Resources are plentiful with co-workers wanting to help for the most part, strong brand portfolio also. For rural area salary is sufficient.

    Cons

    Organization has become top heavy with massive turnover, the field is not a lucrative place to be anymore due to the following item(s)- - workload exploitation - endless launches - bringing on more categories yet still not salary adjustment. - upward movement has become taboo, with field TM's leaving due to realization of what their job really entails. Bottom line: as of the past 2-3 years the job has... become More stressful yet the basic concept of pay for performance has left the room. Do you blame territory managers for being unhappy?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More positions for upward movement...

    Reynolds American2017-12-23
  7. Helpful (5)

    "You can find someplace better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Not exactly sure if there are any; meetings I guess. The National sales meeting was fun. It’s in Las Vegas

    Cons

    District Managers picking on their territory managers, retailers during ramadan, the company buying their market share thru consumer engagement coupons

    Advice to Management

    Middle Regional Management: Stop the lying, undermining , and back stabbing that goes on daily. District Mangers care only about themselves , and care little about the people they lead. Instead they are constantly looking to apply more pressure on their team. On the other hand, if you can’t handle your territory or do your job well, you will be given a promotion!! The less you do the more they will reward you,... especially if you are from a southern tobacco state. Better yet , management will do cartwheels , If you have an internet mba! You didn’t go to college to sell tobacco...

    Show More
    Reynolds American2017-12-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Account Manager - look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not many currently looking at what other companies offer. Here are some : -Flexible schedule -Personal Gas -Masters Degree reimbursement -Car wash stipend -

    Cons

    Plenty of cons; -Poorly paid versus the competition -Workload of 2017 - Home Office is completely out of touch with the reality in the field. -Promotion structure - expect you to put your life on hold for a phone call and 30 days notice to move. No say at all in where you go. They expect your whole family to up and move their life for an average pay increase - Promotion process - you are at the mercy of management... individuals who may have spent 1 or 2 days with you. Many are reluctant to promote. - Company hiring externally when many employees are ready for Promotion. - Company cares more about diversity statistics over hiring the right person. - Management cannot handle any type of challenging or criticism but expect TMs to take ALL feedback and implement without question. - Rigid progression path - not everyone wants to go the route RAI has mapped out. Be flexible not everyone wants to be a DM. Give the opportunities for varied career progression. - Technology in the company and given to employees is terrible. The job takes longer daily because of the poor technology. Get it right and spend money on a proper IT department! - Your career depends solely on having a good DM or KAM. If you don’t get this you will never get promoted

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have to change the Promotion structure. What is the timeframe and options candidates may have? It’s time for so many DMs to go, plenty that are just picking up a pay check and taking a position of somebody who is wanting to progress through the company.

    Reynolds American2017-12-27
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Account Manager-RAI Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cell phone,internet,training conferences, retirement plan,GMC SUV The company is always on the frontier of unique type benefit services, a market leader for this in regards to employees.

    Cons

    This company at its current state, is not for everyone. The field is to the point of exhaustion and being under valued and extremely underpaid, despite the roo rahh accolades. Reynolds needs to realize... the times have changed, the new generation is not going to just sit around for years to find out all of a sudden at the blink of an eye they have to move (for a minor pay bump). The org structure is rigid... with... limited promotion opportunities and even more limited pay. I honestly would stay away from this company now, I am looking for a new job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Think about cost of living... example: Pacific Northwest

    Reynolds American2017-11-18
  10. Helpful (17)

    "AM-Turnover City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Topeka, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can work with great people, over the yeArs I have worked with some smart folks which have now left unfortunately within the past 2 years. The health insurance is nice, a car allowance is allowed for a flat monthly fee.

    Cons

    The company has dramatically changed for field employees over the past 2 or so years and is getting worse. The field gets slammed with irrational and ridiculous expectations yet compensation doesn't seem to match the added work. Also, stay far away if you have a life or want to see results from your hard work. This job is pointless.... younger on m-boarded employees are amazed at how complicated selling cigs has... been made out to be..actually kinda funny.

    Show More
    Reynolds American2017-10-31
Found 39 reviews