RailCrew Xpress Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

RailCrew Xpress Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
29%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
RailCrew Xpress CEO Brian OHara (no image)
Brian OHara
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to learn about the railroad(in 13 reviews)

  • "I loved working with the crews for the railroads(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The dispatch team will terminate you for no reason(in 13 reviews)

  • "Low pay and on Calll 40 hours a week no regu(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It's Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RailCrew Xpress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have some good benefits.

    Cons

    They are strict on OT.

    RailCrew Xpress2020-01-15
  2. "A good job for those needing driving experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RailCrew Xpress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are looking to build time with driving experience this is a good way to do so. The management was kind and understanding and the job is cut and dry. A great position for flexible people who enjoy travelling and seeing new places and faces. A plus if trains are an interest too. If you are in "available" status then you answer your phone and accept the jobs. Thats how you build credibility and you earn the next job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Maybe not a great place for people unwilling to be flexible, not a good place for careless drivers or those with road rage of any caliber.

    Advice to Management

    I had to move on as i accepted a full time position with a major logistics company. If the pay were comparable I would definitely choose RCX. But its not so I had to move on. Maybe one day I can return.

    RailCrew Xpress2019-09-17
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RailCrew Xpress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Full time Independent work environment

    Cons

    Wait too long for ride Or ride is over your schedule time

    RailCrew Xpress2019-08-30
  4. "Rewarding as far as Safely Transporting Train Crews to their destinations. Enjoyed many of the conversations also."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RailCrew Xpress

    Pros

    Looking for Trains all over the Countryside, with a vehicle full of Railroaders and their equipment was great.

    Cons

    Couldn't get enough Transports. Making good paychecks is hard at 8.75 hourly.

    Advice to Management

    More Transports, atleast 10.00 an hour.

    RailCrew Xpress2019-07-16
  5. "Very adventurous job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transportation Engineer in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RailCrew Xpress part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved getting to know new people and traveling to different places.

    Cons

    Getting up on the middle of the night to work. And knowing I was still sleepy. To me that was dangerous.

    RailCrew Xpress2019-07-05
  6. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Driver 

    I have been working at RailCrew Xpress full-time

    Pros

    Travel to different places. Great mgmt

    Cons

    No steady work at the moment. Trips are slowing down.

    RailCrew Xpress2019-06-27
  7. "RUN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Amazon Delivery Driver in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RailCrew Xpress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can’t think of any

    Cons

    The dispatch team will terminate you for no reason

    RailCrew Xpress2019-06-14
  8. "Hectic and rundown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RailCrew Xpress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the rail guys. Most of them are great.

    Cons

    Not enough sleep no schedule to follow. They ask what shift you want and it doesn't matter u get called anytime day or night. No time for anything but get a call. Never know when to sleep.

    Advice to Management

    When you ask what shift you want stick to it! If you are not going to pay good then let people give you tips! Make sure employees get more than 8 hours to sleep and have a life.

    RailCrew Xpress2019-06-14
  9. "Not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RailCrew Xpress full-time

    Pros

    Good hours great part time job Management is great

    Cons

    On call pay could be a little more

    RailCrew Xpress2019-03-30
  10. "Horrible and unsafe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Amarillo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RailCrew Xpress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can watch movies while waiting for crew.

    Cons

    Very unsafe and treated like dirt.

    Advice to Management

    Care

    RailCrew Xpress2019-04-12
Found 108 reviews