Rackspace Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Rackspace Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the core values here is to treat Rackers (coworkers) like Friends and Family and it shows in our office(in 137 reviews)

  • "Great culture easy going but work hard play hard(in 128 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other(in 122 reviews)

  • "Too many middle management tiers(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked with Rackspace for more than 1.5years. Every single day I enjoyed working in the company. The management has a vision and they know what they are doing. Excellent support from management and the support team. Great opportunities available for performers.

    Cons

    Nothing as such to mention

    Advice to Management

    The company is doing great, excellent leadership.

    Rackspace2020-01-23
  2. "One of the best organisation I worked with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Ample opportunities to learn new technologies along with management skills. 2. Great work life balance as they provide work from home option as well if you genuinely need it. 3. Very friendly environment. Every one is willing to help each other. 4. This is the only company where you can reach out to HR department easily. If you will ask for help they will immediately respond to your queries. 5. Very friendly and approachable management. 6. One of the best knowledge base they have to make your daily operations smooth.

    Show More

    Cons

    Was not able to find a single one during my tenure.

    Rackspace2020-01-20
  3. "Rackers are good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Windows Systems Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people working at Rackspace make it a good place to work

    Cons

    Career progression can be slow

    Rackspace2020-01-18
  4. "Great place to work but could use better benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer() in Blacksburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Super flexible scheduling. Loads of time off. Managers that care. Snacks and drinks provided daily.

    Cons

    Raises haven't been great the last few years. Benefits aren't competitive. However, I think these things will get better in time.

    Advice to Management

    Better 401K and HSA contributions.

    Rackspace2020-01-17
  5. "a solid job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer II in Blacksburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rackspace is super chill about queerness. A lot of people have anxiety about how they will fit in with their coworkers. They may have a very real fear that they could be openly discriminated against for their sexual orientation or gender identity, since queer people are vulnerable in that way in Virginia. Not only are sexual orientation and gender identity specifically included as protected characteristics in the employee handbook, but also I have never detected even a hint of prejudice from my coworkers on the topic. It really sucks that something so foundational is remarkable, but for a queer person considering Rackspace in Blacksburg, it's important for you to know that you'll be safe here. The work/life balance is very healthy to the extent that I can take vacation time on a whim, with morning-of notice being fine. This also makes self care easier, because if I can easy take a day just because I want to, it removes the need to justify if I feel unwell enough to need rest. we also get tons of vacation time. I've been with the company long enough that I get the maximum amount: 35 days paid time off plus the 6 or so set holidays. The work itself is engaging. We're giving a lot of autonomy for creative problem solving. The office is responsible for a wide range of technology as well, so if you find that you are unsatisfied with one thing, you could try out another. The best part about working for Rackspace is absolutely the people. Everyone is friendly, taking a genuine interest in your well-being. It may be some of the flavor of Blacksburg as well, but it's a core part of Rackspace culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    While the Blacksburg office is super neat, Rackspace corporate can work against us sometimes. The Blacksburg office isn't part of Rackspace's core business, so we get forgotten at times. Though in cases of increasing corporate wankery, being forgotten is sometimes a blessing. Rackspace has a history of falling behind and catching up on salary. We've gone though a multi-year belt-tightening since we went private. Hopefully that abates soon, but we'll see. I still make more money than I need for the area, but I also know that I'm not maximizing my income by staying with the company. Similarly, career advancement is not reliable. In the past, it seemed like the number one factor for getting a promotion is to have a manager who fights for it the hardest, regardless of merit. In recent years there really just hasn't been the budget. People have even been leaving for other places and the positions haven't been allowed to be back-filled. Although if you're reading this considering a job opening, perhaps that trend is over.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This section is kind of funny for me, because I get that for most companies this would be a place to actually give advice, but in the Blacksburg office, we're so integrated that management already knows everything that could be an improvement. It's just that the corporation above us doesn't allow for some of the things that are most inhibiting us at the moment.

    Rackspace2020-01-13
  6. "Amazing Benefits, Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer III in Blacksburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work in the Blacksburg office and it is a shining star among the dev community. One of the core values here is to treat Rackers (coworkers) like Friends and Family and it shows in our office. Everyone here knows each other by name we have monthly get togethers and many holiday events etc. Some of us play games after work together etc. everyone just has fun exploring their job and their interests together. Outside of the culture though Rackspace is an awesome place to work. I get 260 hours of PTO per year (I believe only 180 at start but even that is awesome) meaning I can take vacation and get the relaxation and recharge I need. Our office has super flexible hours some people come in as early as 5am and some as late a 11am. For Blacksburg our pay is very high as well several coworkers have stay-at-home spouses and live comfortably with multiple kids on a single salary from Rackspace. Health benefits are great as well Rackspace covers the vast majority of our health costs I believe my monthly cost is only $10-20. Rackspace might just be the best place to work for work/life balance. No one asks questions about last-minute vacation or any other reason you need to be out. Our office in particular cares about your health above all else and you do what you need to do with no real worry of any work issues. My work stays at the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    Volatile senior leadership. It rarely affects the Blacksburg office directly since we aren't the main corporate office but since going private we have had several CEOs over the past few years with entire new leadership teams. Our office is fairly insulated as we have our own internal leadership though so as long as you go to Blacksburg I think there aren't any major cons.

    Rackspace2020-01-07
  7. "ELT is Single focused on IPO, get onboard or put on the life vest."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in San Antonio, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Flexibility, Pay is decent

    Cons

    The current ELT is solely focused on IPO. Which is a fine goal, unless you are a prospective employee or current employee without stock options. It is very clear how/why IPO is worth it for them, but to us, without options, we are being pushed to work insane hours for no end goal. If you decide to come here be sure to negotiate enough to make yourself content with this state of things.

    Advice to Management

    Your Senior staff is entirely void of diversity. Kevin's directs give up any semblance of personal life when they took their roles. Subroto praises those employees who send emails in the middle of the night, as he has stated on multiple Open Books that his hobbies are work and reading about work. There are many areas of the business that are waiting on decisions from ELT. Please provide clear guidelines to the secondary leaders, that items that will not yield benefit in the next 12 months will not be funded. Going IPO will provide an influx of Capital, and then ELT may approve longer-term initiatives.

    Show More
    Rackspace2020-01-21
  8. "Great place to work for devs and engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer I in Blacksburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture at Rackspace was something I immediately noticed when I first stepped into the office. It's unlike any other place in this area. Everyone there is a part of an enthusiastic, "fanatical" team. The office is full of banners for schools, home countries, lgtbq+ pride, donuts, memes, you name it. Desks are open pods so it's easy to work with teammates and across teams. Work hours are very flexible and we get a large amount of time off. The office is dog friendly, and some bring their dogs in every day and many bring them in at least once a month. This is an office filled almost entirely of devs and engineers which makes the atmosphere fun and highly technical. There is tons of room for growth and professional & personal development. Rackspace even gives time off to support this growth. Some other perks of the job are free snacks/soda, a monthly company lunch, weekly events like yoga/frisbee/basketball, and a very casual dress code. Feel free to work in flip flops and a t-shirt if you want.

    Show More

    Cons

    For a long time, this office felt ignored by the main San Antonio office. With a new CEO things are finally looking up, though.

    Advice to Management

    Keep fighting for opening more positions. Recruit from the nearby fresh talent from schools like VT/RU/JMU!

    Rackspace2020-01-07
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and environment, amazing ethnic diversity

    Cons

    Promotions and pay rises were extremely slow.

    Advice to Management

    Not sure what it is like now, but recognising team members, that are in the background who do alot of ground work.

    Rackspace2019-12-31
  10. "Software Engineer Remote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Remote in Manchester, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good job. Lots of freedoom

    Cons

    Enjoyed job. Lots of freedodom.

    Advice to Management

    leave engineer alone in role. too important a resource. to collaborate.

    Rackspace2019-12-30
Found 1613 reviews