REI Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

REI Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
REI CEO Eric Artz
Eric Artz
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great coworkers and management really does a good job of working with you to create a satisfying work/life balance(in 160 reviews)

  • "Great people, your coworkers become your friends(in 99 reviews)

Cons
  • "They keep expenses down by not providing full-time work for most of the staff(in 106 reviews)

  • "When you are working part time you cannot expect large paychecks(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pretty good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Sumner, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at REI part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, company looks out for you, hours aren't bad

    Cons

    Lack of work can be an issue

    REI2019-12-05
  2. "Great place to work, minimal benefits if you don’t work much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at REI part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits for part time and full time, finally a living wage, recognition for successes, no expectation to sell a certain number of memberships

    Cons

    If you work less than 20 hours a week on average you’re not eligible for health benefits, schedule can be sporadic at times

    Advice to Management

    Improve career pathways for corporate opportunities not just retail

    REI2019-12-04
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Manager in East Hanover, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, upward mobility

    Cons

    Very pc also you can get lost in the mix if you don’t make yourself heard.

    REI2019-12-03
  4. "Friendly Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at REI

    Pros

    Coworkers were always nice. Management was flexible.

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours given. Some weeks it would be 12 and then 2.

    REI2019-12-04
  5. "Good place to work, mobility possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REI part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people, your coworkers become your friends - It's possible to make moves from lower level positions into store manager/corporate management - If you work hard it gets recognized - Great to work at a company with good goals

    Cons

    - A lot of the culture comes down to how the individual store is run. Some are run more corporate than others, with sales & membership goals always on their mind - At the end of the day, I was just a cashier and days felt monotonous. But it's the best entry retail job you could have!

    REI2019-11-26
  6. "It's Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist 

    I worked at REI part-time

    Pros

    Great Coworkers Great benefits Working with like minded people Positive work environment

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on selling memberships

    REI2019-12-09
  7. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at REI part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organization has strong values, working with like-minded, friendly people

    Cons

    No big downsides - long hours and stressed customers can be tiring but REI offers a good amount of break-time.

    REI2019-11-21
  8. "Great perks, low income and hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Outdoorwear Specialist 

    I worked at REI part-time

    Pros

    culture was cool, discounts, training

    Cons

    no guaranteed hours, low hourly wage

    REI2019-11-22
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Worker 

    I worked at REI part-time

    Pros

    Nice environment, great team to work with

    Cons

    weird and often inconsistent hours

    REI2019-11-20
  10. "Great culture, retail pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Associate 

    I have been working at REI full-time

    Pros

    Awesome company culture and benefits.

    Cons

    Retail pay is not sustainable for the Bay Area.

    REI2019-11-12
Found 1598 reviews
</>Embed