Qtrade Financial Group Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Qtrade Financial Group CEO Bill Packham (no image)
Bill Packham
1 Rating
  1. "n/a"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qtrade Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work for

    Cons

    Not enough opportunities for promotion

    Qtrade Financial Group2019-07-14
  2. "good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Qtrade Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary excellent office great benefits

    Cons

    bad weather bad boss bad management

    Qtrade Financial Group2019-04-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Compliance Officer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qtrade Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Employees were great and dedicated

    Cons

    Upper management was extremely political and played too many cut throat games

    Qtrade Financial Group2018-11-14
  4. "working at Qtrade"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Qtrade Financial Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    high entreprenurial spirit and noted for can-do attitude

    Cons

    resource allocations were often misplaced

    Qtrade Financial Group2018-04-30
  5. "Hostway"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative 

    I worked at Qtrade Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Experience, great for learning, fun culture

    Cons

    Very Political, managers playing favorites

    Continue reading
    Qtrade Financial Group2018-03-22
  6. "Fair firm"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Qtrade Financial Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, nice people.

    Cons

    Chaos sometimes, some strange situation happens.

    Continue reading
    Qtrade Financial Group2018-01-01
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Marketing Department - Needs Major Improvement"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Qtrade Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent company to work for overall. Lots of pros like: - Everyone is helpful as the company is very client centric - Benefits such as extended health and dental - Vacation days are industry standard - Perks such as company / department lunches, social events, etc. - Salary is decent - Excellent work/life balance

    Cons

    - Management seems to be very out of touch with employees - Promotes an open door policy but does not follow through. Suggestions/ideas/requests from employees are rarely heard and even less likely to have any follow-up or follow through. - Managers tend to play favourites with certain employees and rules/exceptions apply to certain individuals in the department - Lots of micro-managing in the department with lots of overlap amongst many team members being tasked to do the same thing. As a result this creates department-wide dysfunction and chaos. Manager(s) seem to not want to be held responsible for how the department functions. - No opportunities to employees to escalate or suggest improvements to the department - This department in particular has a lot of dead weight. There are individuals on the team who after a couple of years is still incapable of doing what they were hired to to. Manager(s) tolerate and accommodate these employees even though it impacts the well being of the overall team. - Manager(s) in this department lack the skill sets to run this team properly. Too much time spent on gossiping, playing sides with upper management and executives, rather than doing what she/he was originally hired to do. - Very little empowerment, encouragement and support for team members. The manager is the first person to throw employees under the bus to save herself. - There is no room for growth in this department.

    Continue reading
    Qtrade Financial Group2017-05-07

    Qtrade Financial Group Response

    May 10, 2017Senior HR Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback. We at Qtrade take pride in our people and how we support them in their careers. We are sorry that your experience did not mirror this. We have recently rolled out more employee centric initiatives such as more one on one coaching and a review of our hiring and performance management process. These initiatives along with our commitment to always being open to listening to our employees concerns are designed to give everyone a voice in making Qtrade such a great place to work. We will take your feedback and look at ways that we can further improve our employee experience. We value your feedback and we welcome you to contact us if you still have concerns.

  8. "Good rank-and-file people. Stingy management."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Qtrade Financial Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best, hard-working, honest people I have worked with.

    Cons

    The temp pay is below living wage for Vancouver. Hard to stay long-term.

    Continue reading
    Qtrade Financial Group2017-04-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "disorganized management & limited growth potential"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Qtrade Financial Group

    Pros

    higher than average salary for some positions. That's it.

    Cons

    poor training procedures, too much middle management layers, incompetent HR dept ( i got cheated out of my final month's MSP coverage), little room for growth.

    Continue reading
    Qtrade Financial Group2016-04-09

    Qtrade Financial Group Response

    April 14, 2016Senior HR Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience at Qtrade did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to create an environment where everyone that works at Qtrade is valued and given the tools and support needed to succeed. We will take your feedback and look at ways that we can improve our employee experience. We value your feedback and we welcome you to contact us if you still have concerns.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qtrade Financial Group

    Pros

    Good pay Relaxed work environment Access to markets

    Cons

    Not much room to move up Not a place for the ambitious

    Continue reading
    Qtrade Financial Group2015-08-31
Found 16 reviews