Primark "no staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Primark Employee Reviews about "no staff discount"

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Primark CEO Paul Marchant
Paul Marchant
912 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay was not great and no staff discount(in 128 reviews)

  • "Also - no discount except from in December where you get 10% off at Christmas(in 127 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Limerick, Limerick

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Great student hours Great mix of young and older workers Staff have good rapport with managers Pension scheme

    Cons

    Late nights Can be very busy during peak periods such as summer holidays/ Christmas No staff discounts (except during Xmas)

    Advice to Management

    Encourage staff more and praise staff for their efforts

    Primark2018-05-08
  2. "Primark Dublin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work in. Lots of overtime available. Good pay and Flexible hours

    Cons

    No staff discount offered. Management were not approachable No acknowledgement of hard work

    Primark2017-07-13
  3. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primark part-time

    Pros

    I love my job in Penneys. They are a great company to work for . Ive worked for the past 16 years in O Connell st . The treat the staff with respect most of the time.

    Cons

    No staff discount . Communication between management and staff is often not there. Sometimes the staff are not consulted on visual merchandising which is wrong as the staff deal with the public more then the management

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with the staff more. Let staff be more involved with merchandising within the vm guidelines, teach staff the rights and wrongs of day to day running of a dept

    Primark2016-03-14
  4. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Marble Arch, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good break room No two days are the same Opportunity to work in different sectors of the ckmpany

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid No staff benefits

    Primark2019-12-04
  5. "Part time associate review london"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work Good hours Good managers

    Cons

    Minimum Wage No staff discount

    Primark2019-11-09
  6. "a horrible experience but colleagues were friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the other staff that were on the same level as me were nice

    Cons

    no staff discount or incentives, bad management (multiple managers telling you to do different things, sometimes no manager on my dept), very short staffed (on some days I was the only person on the entirety of mens accessories and then on top of this I was expected to help on menswear), they would purposely make shifts 15 mins shorter than the entitled break period so we would not get adequate breaks, customers... were rude and would often speak down to you and throw stuff on the floor for you to clean up, when working after closing they would turn the heating and lights off making it uncomfortable to work and by the end of my time working here I had been referred to occupational health due to it making my mental health worse and physio due to developing back problems while working here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    hire more staff to spread the work load and don't shorten shifts i.e. 5h 15 mins.

    Primark2019-10-02
  7. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Made some good friends, employ straight out of high school

    Cons

    Management on power trips, aircon broke all summer so store was like a sauna, staff not allowed drinks, no staff benefits or discount, asked to tell customers primark doesn’t use sweatshops which is untrue

    Primark2019-07-15
  8. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Primark part-time

    Pros

    It’s a fairly easy job. Staff are nice and you make good friends. It’s easy to pick up more shifts if you want to. You’re always doing something so you’re never bored

    Cons

    It’s very repetitive and the store gets very messy and due to this you often have to stay later than your shift is. Customers aren’t all that nice but it’s the same in every retail job really. There’s no staff discount other than a mere 10% during Christmas.

    Primark2019-06-24
  9. "Weekend job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Short shift (4 hours) Good Pay - wayyy above min wage if you under 25

    Cons

    Work every bank holiday even Boxing Day Repetitive/boring No staff discount No time off in November/December

    Primark2019-05-26
  10. "Average retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Primark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime is always available Good group of people to work with Easy job

    Cons

    Hardly any training Bounced about from till to shop floor etc Low pay and no staff discount Customers are some of the worst

    Primark2019-05-08
Found 128 reviews