Primark Retail Operative Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Primark Retail Operations Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
30%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Primark CEO Paul Marchant
Paul Marchant
35 Ratings
  1. "Penneys - Dublin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark full-time

    Pros

    I worked for 5 years and i would recommend to Work because it was a great environment to work. When you work 1 year they increase 1.5 your minimum wage , they increase 3rd year and 5th year as well. Christmas bonus.

    Cons

    They should provide an uniform for staff

    Advice to Management

    I dont have any complain about management.

    Primark2016-09-04
  2. "Room for growth if interested"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    hourly wage increases year on year good work environment good company culture room for progression to head office roles if interested

    Cons

    late hours and early starts management can belittle staff sometimes

    Advice to Management

    dont just order around and delegate tasks to store assistants, ask them for advice and help out with merchandising

    Primark2019-03-18
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Primark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Standing for long periods of time. Can be a bit stressful at times.

    Primark2016-03-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities for career devlopment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The entry salary is above average and there are numerous opportunities for role progression. Their recent store openings across Europe has also opened avenues for employees to work abroad or relocate permanently. The large number of employees in each store, means its easy to make lots of new friends.

    Cons

    Extremely busy retail periods such as the Christmas Holidays, can become hectic and often stressful. Also for individuals studying in college, it can be difficult to achieve time off for exams and study. With such a large number of employees in each store, you may not meet everyone that you work with.

    Advice to Management

    I think more consideration should be given to grant time off for exams and college work. School should be the number one priority and Primark should be encouraging their staff to achieve great results, as oppose to damaging them by not granting sufficient time off.

    Primark2014-07-07
  5. "Fantastic working enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Operative in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel. Possible to rise within company.

    Cons

    Days off may not always be perfect

    Advice to Management

    Keep going

    Primark2014-03-26
  6. "Decent job to move on from"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Operative in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hire with no experience, big stores, lots to do, always room for promotion, usually overtime readily available

    Cons

    Very little training, low pay, no support or motivation from management, small contracts, low working hours when not got overtime e.g. after xmas

    Primark2019-08-28
  7. "Great company but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operative in Bournemouth, England

    I worked at Primark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities if you work hard if you are in a good branch

    Cons

    Some branches are managed by the wrong people and it won't matter how good you are unless you are friends with the managers you won't get promoted.

    Primark2019-07-22
  8. "Great for a past time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operative 

    I worked at Primark part-time

    Pros

    Loads of students similar age, good breaks

    Cons

    Long hours, messy people, worked every weekend Saturday and Sunday

    Advice to Management

    Try to work around students schedule

    Primark2019-07-21
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operative in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere and great for making friends

    Cons

    busy most of the time

    Primark2019-05-21
  10. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operative in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Great colleagues Always opportunities to pick up extra shifts

    Cons

    Treated like dirt by management

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with the same respect that you seem to think you deserve.

    Primark2019-04-04
Found 115 reviews