Primark Retail Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Primark Retail Assistant Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Primark CEO Paul Marchant
Paul Marchant
167 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Killarney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and good hours.

    Cons

    Can get busy around Christmas

    Primark2019-06-02
  2. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So many chances to progress to management/ other roles even without a college degree - they care about experience in the company more than education

    Cons

    Part time contract means you have to work a late night shift and a saturday

    Primark2019-05-26
  3. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Christmas bonus. Great opportunities to move up in company or work abroad. Working with young fun people

    Cons

    Some managers can be difficult. Good working Hours are not guaranteed when part-time Weekend work

    Advice to Management

    Be more appreciative of staff efforts. More praise

    Primark2019-05-01
  4. "The wages are really good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Primark Retail Assistant 

    I have been working at Primark part-time

    Pros

    Not working for the money Easy job

    Cons

    Managers can be strict. Can get little hours

    Primark2019-04-12
  5. "Sales Associate Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay. 1 euro rise each year for first three years.

    Cons

    Long hours, sometimes miscommunication between managers and staff. Managers under pressure taking it out on staff.

    Primark2019-03-12
  6. "Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Primark Retail Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is not bad overall

    Cons

    Part time contract - Little Hours Short Shifts

    Primark2019-02-11
  7. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I have been working at Primark for less than a year

    Pros

    Very busy store always something to do. Staff Management and HR are all very nice. You can work your hours around other commitments.

    Cons

    Work can be a bit repetitive at times.

    Primark2018-10-15
  8. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and many opportunities to grow in the company

    Cons

    Very busy period and you Have to be Fully flexible to Apply now

    Primark2018-10-09
  9. "Good for college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible hours for part-time work which is key as a student to have my college timetable accommodated. Wage increases each year up until 16 euro and hour. Employees receive Christmas bonus of 2 weeks wage. Good opportunities to progress.

    Cons

    Contract hours are set at 11.5 for most employees so hours are very inconsistent. Many late shifts are worked regularly. Cannot guarantee a full week of hours regularly.

    Advice to Management

    Management for the most part are nice, often neglible of what the job is like for the employee and this is a frequent source of disagreement.

    Primark2018-10-17
  10. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work place Friendly management Fast paced

    Cons

    I don't not have any cons with the company.

    Primark2018-09-19
Found 541 reviews