Primark Retail Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Primark Retail Assistant Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Primark CEO Paul Marchant
Paul Marchant
183 Ratings
  1. "Retail assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time

    Pros

    Great management and great hourly pay

    Cons

    There is no cons of this job

    Primark2019-10-16
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Primark for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay No problem swapping shifts Friendly staff

    Cons

    Some days only 4hr shifts

    Primark2020-02-09
  3. "Great place to work in college and lots of opportunity beyond staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Rathfarnham
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very high hourly rate and Christmas bonus compared to other retailers.

    Cons

    Work a lot of hours at Christmas but that's retail

    Primark2020-02-06
  4. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Sales Assistant in Athlone
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primark for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned invaluable experience about the sales floor and how to ensure on giving good customer service.

    Cons

    There is no room to progress.

    Continue reading
    Primark2019-12-30
  5. "I'd stay only the management team isn't great in my store."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Assistant in Swords
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primark for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The money is great. Great opportunities to progress into Head Office. The people I work with are great.

    Cons

    Managers don't communicate very well and make it apparent to staff if they dislike each other. Staff are over worked and there's no gratitude for the work they do.

    Continue reading
    Primark2019-12-09
  6. "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primark for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, free Christmas dinner and vouchers, staff is nice when you get to know them.

    Cons

    Working here makes you realise how much horrible people there are out there. Don’t even get a hello out of some of them.

    Continue reading
    Primark2019-12-18
  7. "Penney’s review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Primark Retail Assistant in Newbridge, Kildare
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good starter wage. Colleagues become friends. The work isn’t too hard, it can just get monotonous. Uniform provided.

    Cons

    Some managers are purely power driven and can be intimidating but this can be found in any job.

    Primark2019-11-04
  8. "Great pay, bad managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing pay especially for a part time job for students, lots of hours available.

    Cons

    Constant stress on employees, unsupportive managers

    Continue reading
    Primark2019-11-17
  9. "Don't do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Clondalkin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleges, great money, paid weekly and Christmas bonus after your first year of employment

    Cons

    Management are horrible, regularly harassment against staff expecting you to work outside of your rostered hours without pay and expect full flexibility from you but don't give the same in return if you're circumstances change unexpectedly.

    Continue reading
    Primark2019-11-01
  10. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 

    I worked at Primark part-time

    Pros

    Good wages, good experience, good career opportunities

    Cons

    Managers not very nice, too strict and too hard to work for

    Primark2019-09-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 577 reviews