Pocket Kings Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Pocket Kings Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Pocket Kings CEO Dominic Mansour
Dominic Mansour
2 Ratings
  1. "Maturing after a lot of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I have been working at Pocket Kings

    Pros

    Great people, who are totally focusing to doing awesome things. Some of the most technically strong people I've ever worked with. Lots of interesting work with a range of technologies. Never dull! Lots of change in the last while - mostly for the good. Top of the range hardware - latest tools and kit. Good salaries, good bonuses, good perks. Great food! Lots of free snacks - both healthy and unhealthy - 'all you can...

    Show More

    Cons

    Pressure environment - they hire you because you either have the potential or are already a really strong developer - then they expect delivery. High expectations of people who join them. Fast moving and fast growing market - very competitive in the marketplace putting demands on the teams to deliver fast and accurate code. You'll either love it for the dynamic environment, or you weren't good enough to be here. Recognition...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Offer more feedback to the teams - sometimes we're flying in the dark as to how well we're doing. Recruit more people fast!

    Pocket Kings2010-11-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Difficult environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Kings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great salary, all the tools you'd need to do your job are provided, multi-cultural workforce. great perks and benefits.

    Cons

    Shark tank atmosphere, no knowledge sharing, aggressive colleagues, no comms from mgmt, no social side, location wasn't great. Lot of firings.

    Advice to Management

    Respect the staff

    Pocket Kings2017-04-20
  3. "Great place to excel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Kings for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you worked hard and show an appetite for more, you were given opportunity to grow Invested in development of employee up skilling

    Cons

    Not a place to go for 9 to 5 work Lots expected over and above standard work rate

    Advice to Management

    Keeping rating in staff up skilling

    Pocket Kings2016-12-07
  4. "Good exposure to technology but gone through some rough times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Architect in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pocket Kings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of different languages and technologies make it an interesting place to learn. Chief Technical Architect is probably the best I have worked with. Both at technical and personal level.

    Cons

    Gone through some rough times Too much testosterone, and super stars. Career progression and lack of willingness to reward employees to their level/quality of contribution caused a good few people to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Get off the high horse, stop the politics. and come learn what is going on in the trenches.

    Pocket Kings2015-10-03
  5. "Was good at the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

      I worked at Pocket Kings for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, pay, subsidised canteen, smart people

      Cons

      Bad management, legal issues, office politics

      Pocket Kings2015-08-25
    • "Gaming or Gambling"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Pocket Kings full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Gourmet Lunch and free snacks

        Cons

        Nature of the business itself

        Pocket Kings2014-06-20
      • "Good experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Pocket Kings full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Ability to organize your own time in order to reach targets. Ability to work closely with different teams on site and understanding of requirements. 4 day week.

        Cons

        Weekend shifts are required and 10h shifts to compensate 4 day week.

        Advice to Management

        Give operators more opportunities to prove themselves and progress with the company

        Pocket Kings2014-03-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "Multinational Mafia Operation"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - CS Agent in Dublin, Dublin
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Pocket Kings full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Good food. Did I say Good Food. Yes? Well, that's about the only positive thing which can be said about this stinky operation.

        Cons

        Incompetent management promoting nauseating business practices. Ugly work environment with continuous spying by sorry so called team leaders and KGB / Stasi like management who ordered you to lie to customers.

        Advice to Management

        Get a life!

        Pocket Kings2013-09-08
      • "Good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Pocket Kings full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good atmosphere, good people to work with, young and fun.

        Cons

        Some manager are really uncompetent but I guess that is in every company

        Pocket Kings2013-01-03
      • "Worst company I worked so far"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Pocket Kings full-time

        Pros

        Good Package Food(this quickly went away after Black Friday)

        Cons

        Working atmosphere(sometimes felt like war zone) The only way to progress is to wait until people leave Management

        Advice to Management

        I hope PokerStars not going to make same mistakes.

        Pocket Kings2013-01-26
      Found 29 reviews