Pinterest Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Pinterest Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pinterest CEO Ben Silbermann
Ben Silbermann
194 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is very respected--my team management pushes us to take at least four weeks a year off(in 37 reviews)

  • "Nice office, great location, free food(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's grown quickly in the past few years, and growing pains are inevitable(in 17 reviews)

  • "The company is growing now and isn't as small as it was during my internship(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "partner manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good vibe and company culture

    Cons

    not great work-life balance in general

    Pinterest2019-06-29
  2. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Consultant in Oroville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pinterest part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Accommodating scheduling Cares about employees Perfect for college students

    Cons

    Might not be enough hours

    Pinterest2020-01-14
  3. "pro/con"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, great culture, stepping stone to better options

    Cons

    Low base pase, third party sourced

    Pinterest2020-01-09
  4. "Great company with a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Leadership truly cares about their employees and is approachable - Employees are helpful, supportive and kind - Everyone lives and breathes the mission - High ethical standards and great company culture - Awesome benefits

    Cons

    - Sometimes too many people are involved in a decision making process which can slow things down. - Pay can be at the lower end compared to other tech companies

    Pinterest2019-12-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place but lots of cracks with managers and the People team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment, decent perks, good work/life balance

    Cons

    It's challenging to manage at Pinterest. There is constant change on the people team where new processes, definitions, roles, projects are constantly being pushed down the manager's throats without much explanation to why the change is better. The perf cycle changes this time around is yet another change we have to deliver as managers and manage unnecessary turnover The People team have not developed effective manager trainings to really build this capability at the company and as a result, there are poorly trained, underqualified leaders running many critical teams.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    change for the sake of change is no change at all

    Pinterest2019-12-18
  6. "Valuing Impact & Creativity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Sourcer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my time at Pinterest, I've grown tremendously through the support of my team. I've been given the chance to work on high impact, challenging problems, and can see the direct throughline of my output to the company's mission. My time at Pinterest has flown by, mainly because of the great and challenging work, the great coworkers, and a product I personally use and can stand behind.

    Cons

    Decisions are sometimes made without transparency, or take a long time, which sometimes means IC's have to scramble to hit goals. But we're focusing on making decisions quicker and I think we're on the right track.

    Pinterest2019-12-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Function in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good Culture: one of the 'friendliest' companies I've ever worked for. People also truly almost always try to do the right thing and put our users aka 'Pinners' first - Manager: I'm lucky enough to work with a solid manager who's shown to have my best interests at heart. Has lobbied for me during promo time and built a good trust and working dynamic - Work Life Balance: you won't get totally crushed, all the time. People step up when needed, but otherwise working weekends is minimal, people respect vacations and minimal email responses required at night - Comp: very satisfied with my compensation. Have turned down other strong offers given they can't match what Pinterest is currently offering me

    Show More

    Cons

    - Pace/Execution: 'Niceness' has a flip side and means often people don't take large risks or execute fast enough. Our product roadmap hasn't dramatically changed in many years. This means we won't likely bend our growth curve anytime soon, but also means we probably won't run into Facebook-esque scandals

    Advice to Management

    Let's move and innovate faster! We all want Pinterest to succeed, and we already have the strong foundation and core product for it

    Pinterest2019-11-11
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compelling culture and product. Great colleagues made it worth coming to work.

    Cons

    Hyper-growth creates the problems hyper-growth creates.

    Pinterest2019-11-11
  9. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful company to work for and seriously I get to work with the best people from the top down

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. You’re amazing!

    Pinterest2019-10-25
  10. "Best job I’ve ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I truly enjoy coming into work every day. Everyone makes me feel loved. I love how I can see clear career paths, and I can contribute my gifts/talents and they are appreciated.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times

    Pinterest2019-10-26
Found 255 reviews