Petronas Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Petronas Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
92%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Petronas CEO Datuk Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin (no image)
Datuk Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin
164 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Competitive compensation with encouraging environment for learning and development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petronas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive remuneration and benefits package

    Cons

    Mobility across the organisation can take longer than average

    Petronas2019-12-05
  2. "Working here was fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Petronas part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly and very helpful staffs - Learnt a lot of things regardless of repetitive work - Very fun and fast pace as the department organized many events and talks that we had to join. - Most importantly, everyone in the department was super nice (Wells P&A team 2019) i miss them. :( . It goes with the saying “Its not where you are , but who you are with”

    Cons

    - The chance to be absorbed is quite low unless if you are a scholar from UTP or insanely genius or something.

    Petronas2019-11-19
  3. "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petronas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Good place for personal and career growth Competitive Fringe and benefits

    Cons

    You need to go through fix assessments to be promoted Such a big company that difficult for you to look at the big picture

    Petronas2019-11-19
  4. "Supportive and Friendly Team environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Crude Trader 

    I worked at Petronas full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative team , flexible working, support learning

    Cons

    Lots of politics, slow management, need more innovations

    Petronas2019-11-25
  5. "Good company to gain myriad of experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Petronas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Able to gain experience from conceptual design to detailed design, construction, commissioning, asset life extension, and decommissioning. Opportunities are abundant. Work-life balance depends on the job function and also tasks assigned, but generally, it is good especially for parents.

    Cons

    Career progression is slow, subjected to many factors other than job performance such as availability of position, support from superior, and relevance of experience gained throughout the year as compared to management's aspiration and expectation.

    Petronas2019-11-26
  6. "Top 500 fortune company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compensation Specialist in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Petronas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment and culture, many opportunity to improve knowledge and leadership skills

    Cons

    Taking sometime to understand and adopt culture beliefs

    Petronas2019-11-20
  7. "Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - HUMAN RESOURCE EXECUTIVE 

    I have been working at Petronas full-time

    Pros

    I get to see with a lot brightest mind.

    Cons

    might working late, but it’s okay

    Petronas2019-11-04
  8. "Place for long-term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Kuala Lumpur

    I have been working at Petronas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Huge company with many opportunities

    Cons

    Because of huge size, has many different sub-cultures

    Petronas2019-10-30
  9. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Petronas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, supportive colleagues, extensive exposure on oil & gas

    Cons

    Too many layers of reporting

    Petronas2019-10-24
  10. "Great company with good people development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Kuala Lumpur

    I have been working at Petronas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training program, good benefits

    Cons

    slow decision making by management

    Petronas2019-11-07
Found 493 reviews