Pearson Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Pearson Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Pearson CEO John Fallon
John Fallon
197 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to build your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had excellent growth opportunities, great team spirit and flexible working options available.

    Cons

    Some rough days for Pearson and severe lay offs...senior management decisions sometimes appear impulsive...

    Pearson2019-11-25
  2. "Broken in need of Repair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They attract and hire incredible talent. Great benefits and compensation package. Provide flexible work hours which provides pretty good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Long term vision is lacking from the top down. Lack of good internal communication between teams creates tension and frustration. Product failure, miscues, and operational dysfunction prevent great sales reps from achieving on target earnings. Mediocrity runs rampant across all business lines. It's broken and in need of repair.

    Advice to Management

    Listen (really listen) to your talent. They are in direct alignment with your goals but they don't get the help they deserve.

    Pearson2019-12-09
  3. "Overall fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good life work balance. Work from home is possible

    Cons

    not very organized. Sometime things can be confusing

    Pearson2019-12-01
  4. "All good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TA Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good organisation to work for. Good opportunities for internal progression

    Cons

    Cannot think of any really

    Pearson2019-11-15
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager in Rotherham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working environment, pension & benefits

    Cons

    Excessive summer working hours every year

    Advice to Management

    None

    Pearson2019-11-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Don't Let The Title Trick You"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life Balance Decent pay for the scope of work

    Cons

    Poor communication Not many opportunities for growth and development I have a manager title but many of the duties are coordinator/entry-level work

    Pearson2019-11-22
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Where Dreams go to Die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair Work/Life Balance with reasonable benefits

    Cons

    Most tasks are obsolete Next to zero chance at career advancement Management tries to copy Google despite not being a tech company

    Advice to Management

    Stop relying on low-quality 3rd party vendors to do all of your services

    Pearson2019-11-17
  8. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson for more than a year

    Pros

    Market leader in the publishing sector

    Cons

    Can't think of any negatives

    Pearson2019-10-10
  9. "Great company values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Research Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people who are passionate about education.

    Cons

    Frequent restructures in recent years

    Pearson2019-10-07
  10. "Work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in Bangalore

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance and very good team Employee friendly and a lot of events and celebrations with goodies

    Cons

    I found no cons during my tenure

    Pearson2019-09-26
Found 455 reviews