Oxfam Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Oxfam Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Oxfam CEO Mark Goldring
Mark Goldring
148 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes have to work alone as volunteers often leave(in 23 reviews)

  • "Not very diverse at senior management level(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Shop Assistan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxfam part-time

    Pros

    Working for a greater cause. Very good salary rates

    Cons

    Few hours per week only

    Oxfam2019-03-08
  2. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Blessington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxfam part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great volunteers, managers considerate about days off when needee

    Cons

    No Xmas bonus for all our hard work

    Advice to Management

    Xmas gift, bonus would be nice show appreciation

    Oxfam2019-09-22
  3. "Telemarketer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Oxfam full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great cause, great people, continuous feedback in first few weeks/months

    Cons

    working hours (late start, quite late finish), attainability of targets could be greatly influenced by the campaign in question

    Oxfam2019-05-22
  4. "Hard but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxfam full-time

    Pros

    Demanding but ultimately wry rewarding and worthwhile work

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for career progression

    Oxfam2018-12-01
  5. "Good pay but Hard job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Oxfam full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good commission, good atmosphere

    Cons

    difficult job and pressure placed on you early on

    Oxfam2018-12-03
  6. "Target-based work that can be rewarding but also get monotonous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Door-to-Door Fundraiser in Dublin, Dublin
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oxfam for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for good causes, can see in actual terms the amount of money being raised for these causes. Pay is good, particularly when you hit your targets.

    Cons

    It can get very monotonous talking to dozens of people everyday with the same pitch. Long days with plenty of walking, obviously much tougher when the weather's bad as you'll be working in all conditions. No formal contract. As soon as you drop off your target you'll be let go. Extremely high turnover rate for the firs couple of weeks. If you've proven yourself to be a decent fundraiser you'll be allowed a... little leeway if you fall of your targets once in a while, but not very much. While this is a con for the job I didn't mind it too much. It's a charity and I would feel bad not making my wage worth it to the organisation. Plus, after 7 months or so I was ready to leave so once I started to fall off my target it was essentially a mutual decision for me to leave. Naturally you'll have to deal with people who disagree with this style of door-to-door fundraising and payment for fundraisers. To be honest I didn't mind these confrontations too much, most of them were harmless enough and running into the odd person who is going to give out to you or about the organisation adds a bit of variety to what can become a very monotonous process.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Can be a great positive atmosphere when the team is doing well. Most of the time if you're falling behind you get good tailored advice and motivation from management. Occasionaly if the whole team was falling behind instruction could get slightly negative which for me personally never helped. A positive attitude is what breeds success when fundraising, and management understands that most of the time if occasionally... letting negative results get to them.

    Show More
    Oxfam2018-09-17
  7. "Don't do this to yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaigner in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxfam full-time

    Pros

    The money from the donations is used to maintain a really nice office.

    Cons

    Don't do this to yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Stop this pyramid scheme. Please.

    Oxfam2018-04-11
  8. "Campaigner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxfam part-time

    Pros

    Good ethic, Good team, Meaningful work

    Cons

    Working in all weather conditions.

    Oxfam2018-02-04
  9. "Doing good but doing its an employees a disservice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxfam

    Pros

    The organization is doing good in the world and you really feel that. Colleagues are happy and kind.

    Cons

    There is very little progression, raises are a couple of times a decade and the systems are slow and antiquated leading to constant frustration.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in better systems

    Oxfam2017-11-13
  10. "Grand job if you're a student or someone with lots of physical energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraiser in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxfam full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with, work nights out, decent pay with no experience required, good craic, trips away

    Cons

    Late finishes, pressure to secure donations, working in all kinds of weather conditions from freezing cold to rainstorms

    Oxfam2017-09-27
Found 525 reviews