Oscar Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Oscar Reviews

Updated 7 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Oscar Chief Executive Officer Andy Morrell
Andy Morrell
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oscar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After working in both the Manchester and London offices, I could not recommend Oscar more! Everyone that works there is so supportive and the, management really understand each employees needs. The base salary and extra benefits are some of the best you will find and they run some really exciting incentives such as winter and summer holidays. Their culture and values really are second to none and everyone really supports and celebrates each success. The training and progression they provide consultants is fantastic and they are happy for people to go in their own direction. If I hadn't moved abroad, I would definitley still be working with Oscar!

    Show More

    Cons

    Recruitment is hard and some people just aren't cut out for it. There are no downsides of working at Oscar.

    Oscar2020-01-08
  2. "Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Practice in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent input vs reward environment

    Cons

    still a smaller company, but that is not necessarily a bad thing

    Oscar2020-01-06
  3. "Great Culture & Exciting Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Partner in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Oscar in a number of positions (started as a Trainee / Resource Consultant), and it's been a pleasure to see the business learn, grow and become more recognized in the market for investing in its people. There is a common theme in the reviews which relates to the training and platform that Oscar provides for people to achieve their personal and professional goals - I couldn't agree more. My personal favorite Pros (US): - Fair base salaries and clear performance targets to hit promotions/rises (meritocratic) - No Threshold / Draw before earning Commission (up to 30% rate) - 100% contribution to healthcare starting with no waiting period (worth $490+ per month) - 20 days PTO + free vacation over Xmas - 12pm finishes every Friday - No KPIs The Leadership team have all been with the business for a long time, and it's easy to see that they all want to grow the business and create a success culture, but without sacrificing the wellness of employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    When I first started, I didn't feel that t the Vision was as clear as it is now, but I think some of that was down to communication between the UK HQ to the US offices. I still believe there is room for improvement on that front and with project collaboration opportunities. However, there has been lots of investment in new tools over the last few months and on the horizon. For career progression, the main path is to grow a team, which is excellent if that aligns with the individuals' personal development. Still, it would good if there were IC / SME, Account Management, or Delivery options offered and built out too. Other than that, the only other Cons are general as with most 360 Recruitment Agency positions. You have to work hard, continuously learn, and be self-motivated, and you will be rewarded accordingly.

    Show More
    Oscar2019-12-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Oscar is like a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Family feel environment where everyone looks out for everyone -Great training programs for trainees -Flexibility when needed -Continued Manager Support

    Cons

    -More communication needed between US and UK offices

    Oscar2019-12-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Tools for a life time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oscar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic training and support, creates a great positive working environment and I can see that has only gone from strength to strength since I have left. Managers that lead from the front, overseas opportunities, promotional opportunities, rewards, amazing commission, great out of work environment, good effort to be social. I can honestly say working for Oscar was the best career move I ever made. I

    Cons

    So recruitment isn't for everyone, but most think they can do it. This isn't necessarily a con for Oscar, but I look at some of the negative comments and think that recruitment just wasn't for that person

    Advice to Management

    Keep on with what you are doing!

    Oscar2019-11-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Oscar development & training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar

    Pros

    I have worked at Oscar for almost 6 months and I am so glad I made the move into Recruitment. I have been supported in many ways and by many talented people. I am really looking forward to the progression in my role.

    Cons

    I don’t have any right now

    Oscar2019-10-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having had previous experience working in customer service and sales roles, recruitment was really new to me but I was confident I had the skills to be successful. I have been here for 4 months now and I have received my first promotion to consultant. The training and support at Oscar has allowed me to reach my first goal and I cannot wait to achieve more.

    Cons

    looking forward to getting external training too as I progress

    Oscar2019-05-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "No Brainer..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training - new to getting into recruitment? it can be quite daunting... Oscar take all of that fear away, the award winning training is great, but what is even better is the management, I've never seen a company be able to tell where you will fit in best as good as Oscar, my manager got me to a confident consultant in just three and a half months... The Social life - if your like me and you embrace the social side of life theirs nothing better! From holidays, to nights out, to making new friends... I've worked in some great places previously but nothing has been as good as this.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some people would say the long hours when you start off; but in an industry where you get out what you put in, whats the problem?

    Oscar2019-03-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "I am very grateful for the support I have received"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I came into recruitment having previously only ever worked in a completely different industry, I also had no sales experience whatsoever. Oscar of course has a fantastic reputation for its training programme, this was a major factor in me joining the company, but the organisation is so much more than just brilliant training material. I didn’t take to recruitment straight away and like I was warned in my interview, the first few months were difficult to find my feet. As a trainee I didn’t do that many placements, but after three months in the job I wanted to go consultant and I entered the big bad world of billing. After a year and a few months, I was made a Senior Consultant, then a few months after that I started to build my own team. Everyone at Oscar has been super supportive along my journey, they saw I had potential with my work rate, willingness to graft and I was set realistic goals for me to progress up the ladder. The two Directors are very different personalities, but together make a strong team and will support employees’ ambitions, targets and goals, whatever different path they want to take within the business, or even outside the business too. The standout factor in me still enjoying my role and wanting to achieve more has been the support I have received. The culture also supports this, with a real team environment around the office. Moving into my third year of recruitment, I look forward to continuing my growth and exploring new targets that have been agreed on.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not a 9-5 job and must be prepared to put in extra hours when needed.

    Oscar2019-01-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Resource Consultant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started at Oscar in July 2018. From my first to my final interview the whole process was smooth and very pleasant. After meeting with the Head of Internal talent she made me feel at ease and I immediately felt like this was a company that I wanted to work for and be part of. The training that Oscar provides their employees is second to none. They constantly offer training to every single employee, no matter how long they have worked there in order to make sure that everyone is the best they can be. The office is full of genuinely lovely and funny people, and this is so important for me in an industry like recruitment where you can have your knock backs. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for me at Oscar

    Show More

    Cons

    Recruitment can be a tough industry to work in as it requires a lot of hard work and resilience.

    Oscar2018-11-12
Found 45 reviews