Oracle Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated 13 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Oracle CEO Safra A. Catz
Safra A. Catz
611 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Less hikes or no hikes some years(in 757 reviews)

  • "No annual salary hike after you join(in 517 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great internship opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oracle for less than a year

    Pros

    - very chill environment - everyone is so friendly and open to help (tell you what to do, not actually help you do it) - very very self serviced (you need to do everything yourself, no one holds your hand) - great breakfast and lunch, that you pay for out of your salary at the end of the month - great benefits (bike2work) - flexible 40hr - work from home available but dependant on manager - paid bank holidays and 20 days holiday (as far as I remember)

    Cons

    - monthly pay - low pay - as an intern you have no chance of growing, unless you apply for a graduate job and hope they take you in for an interview - turnover of staff is very high - too much politics interns should not have to deal with - not enough training - no realistic or clear goals - some peer will act like your managers just because you are new - no chance to jump from intern to junior, you need to go from intern to graduate to junior.

    Continue reading
    Oracle2020-01-31
  2. "ok in the short term but not for a career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Oracle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work environment, buildings, canteens, benefits, work flexibility (hours, work from home)

    Cons

    Salary, Corporate image very bad

    Continue reading
    Oracle2019-04-04
  3. "Support"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst III in Clontarf
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oracle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Varying departments have the ability to work from home. Young multi national friendly workforce who for the most part are collaborative and hard working.

    Cons

    Best positioned or long serving not most capable more often getting promoted, leading to some inept management. Innovative thinking often quashed in order to uphold rank.

    Continue reading
    Oracle2016-10-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good on the CV but not for the soul"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oracle

    Pros

    Got to work with some great people, particularly in my team. Exposed to some interesting hardware and software, allowing me to learn things that normally would have to be learned outside of the working day. Work from home policy, while not official, can be handy. More so for people like me who suffer migraines, allowing to avoid the hassle of commutes/travel but not use a sick day if the migraine is "bearable".

    Cons

    No real rewards for hard work done. Level increases happen but in name only. With level increase you are expected to do more work at the new level but for the same pay as before. After three and a half years working there, having met every target and goal set before me and even going above and beyond, never once got a pay raise.

    Continue reading
    Oracle2013-01-24
  5. Helpful (874)

    "Great benefits, good people, slow innovation, no raises"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Analyst III (Support) in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oracle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Every group/division can be different in how they treat their employees, but I'd say overall there is very good atmosphere of trust and fairness. There is a strong focus on education, and they reimburse for outside classes taken (Up to 5k/year I think). Benefits are good, and I'd say quite competitive in the market. Good 401K matching (they'll contribute a max of 3% of your 6% or greater). Free drinks in the breakroom. Flexibility to work from home at times. (If you live 50+ miles away from an office you can work full-time from home...policy).

    Cons

    They don't try to make the workplace anything special (maybe a pool table and arcade game are cliche or gimmicky?). In the 10 years I've worked there, they've given 2 measly %1 cost of living raises (this is the same with most everyone I've spoken to, some don't get any raises). You will not get a substantial raise ever, unless you leave then get rehired on (they will not match offers, better to leave). New employees that you train will make 10 - 20K more than you several years after you hire on (not just me, they do this to all tenured employees). They will give these untrained, less experienced people higher titles (again this is done to everyone not just me). You learn pretty quickly that you're dispensable. The company has billions in cash and they don't re-invest in their employees, just in acquiring new companies and hiring new people that know nothing that you get to train.

    Continue reading
    Oracle2014-10-21
  6. "Software Development Manager"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Software Development Manager in Hyderābād

    I worked at Oracle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Better work life balance and work from home option.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive for employees who work for long time and also perform consistently

    Oracle2020-05-13
  7. "Good place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oracle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance Work from home available

    Cons

    No hike and bonus regularly

    Oracle2020-05-09
  8. "Very good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Oracle full-time

    Pros

    Work from home is best

    Cons

    Nothing bad to sat about

    Oracle2020-05-06
  9. "Great company but no hikes"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oracle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Work from home available

    Cons

    No hike. In three years got hike only once.

    Oracle2020-05-05
  10. "Great work life balance. Poor learning curve"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oracle full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is great Work culture is good. Almost no politics. Work from home available anytime

    Cons

    Poor learning curve Lot of software still relies on old tech stack

    Oracle2020-05-01
Found 1445 reviews