Cover image for OneSupport
Logo

OneSupport

Is this your company?

OneSupport

Add a Review

OneSupport Employee Reviews about "tech support"

Updated 19 Jan 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 744 of over 744 reviews
3.5
59% Recommend to a Friend
OneSupport President and CEO Anthony Herrera
76% Approve of CEO

Found 34 of over 744 reviews

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
OneSupport President and CEO Anthony Herrera
Anthony Herrera
343 Ratings
Pros
  • "Easy going decent pay work from home(in 307 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, supportive management and work from home(in 80 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Starts with low pay and alot of work(in 68 reviews)

  • "I requested to be a part of the tech support team, and it took me (and others) a week to realize we were being trained for account services(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "tech support"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Bonuses are nice, stress not worth it

      19 Jan 2021 - Account Services Supervisor in Oxford, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonuses: Can make up to an extra $500+ a month for hitting metric goals (if working account services for an ISP contract) Management: OneSupport Team Leaders are good bosses (mine was at least) Flexible with the schedule. Paid breaks, PTO. Easy to advance if on a new contract. I became a supervisor, got a $2 raise, and was allowed to train other agents within 5-6 months.

      Cons

      No recourse against angry customers. Customers can scream and insult you but you just have to take it. Cannot hang up or ask them to stop. 99% of the time issues that angered customers were company caused or caused by another employee not doing their job. No break in between calls. I've been told the industry standard is 30 seconds in between calls. Calls can be back to back for an entire shift depending on day of the week. Asinine policies from clients (this is more aimed at the client (large ISP) than OneSupport) (e.g. notes have to be left on an account after the account is accessed. ISP Client implemented a policy to where OneSupport agents have to leave a set of notes on the account itself, as well as a separate form just for ISP Client. This is not always possible when there's a high call volume, and you can be reprimanded for not doing both.) The recruiting team was untruthful during the interview. I requested to be a part of the tech support team, and it took me (and others) a week to realize we were being trained for account services. Get whatever they tell you in writing. Scripting makes you sound robotic. Client specifically states that they don't want you to sound like a robot and then make you say "My goal is to ensure your satisfaction. Have I resolved the reason for your call today?" Policy can change at the drop of a hat, with no warning. (e.g. TV Provider Client dropping channels with absolutely no warning to agents. Next day angry customers calling in asking where their channels are while we fumble reading a brand new script to explain what happened.) Its a decent gig if you have thick skin. Customers can be cruel and ungrateful, but that's the service industry in general. Despite the bonuses, good rapport w/ team, and great boss, the verbal abuse (although rare) and headache coming from the client was not worth it for me.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Adequate Pay

      15 Jun 2020 - Tech Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The ability to work from home was wonderful, but beyond that not much.

      Cons

      Certain Clients like Frontier treat their customers poorly, the bi product of this is that the customers will then treat the tech support person poorly. You have to be prepared to be screamed at all day for things that are out of your control. The Customer reviews and satisfaction surveys only amplify the fact that you have to take being treated like garbage and you can't do anything about it. You will get blamed for long call times and for how many menus that the customers have to go through. The Customer Service reps will frequently misroute calls to you, and you still have to pitch the survey even if you know the other peoples mess ups will reflect poorly on you, Having a high patience helps. A lot of people that call you are just fed up with being yanked around, and you want to help them, but you can't fix everything.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the OneSupport team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      4 years, multiple departments and a family member who also worked here in multiple departments.

      3 Jan 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      convenient work if there is nothing else.

      Cons

      Wouldn't know where to begin... This is the McDonald's of Tech Support. I cant say I learned anything particularly useful in several years being here other than how to work intensely for low wages with a broken spirit. If they paid better they would have better workers but they don't need that to meet their quotas. Most of this job is about taking abuse. Just know what you are getting yourself into.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Typical call center

      2 Jan 2019 - Tech Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Offered work from position with base pay plus commission.

      Cons

      Forced sales quota on tech support agents.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      teleNetwork Working At Home: Too Good to be True

      20 May 2018 - Tech Support in Charleston, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being able to work at home; one hour lunch

      Cons

      Obsolete ticketing system was crude, confusing, and full of bugs; constant VPN drops---even after resolving internet issues, and switching providers; VoIP calling software lacked updates, was buggy, and very sensitive to VPN issues; customer issue resolving time/ticketing window requirements were very unreasonable; system lacked access to some of the necessary tools to resolve some common customer issues; rarely received true full-time hourly work schedule; low pay rate; Tier 1 tech support agents from Consolidated's original staffing agency were generally more knowledgeable of the required work than most of this company's Level 2 agents/Team Leads; endless back-to-back calls with no grace period in between (unless you can maneuver quickly to clock-out for an upcoming break/lunch, or hurt your attendance by taking too many emergency/personal breaks in between).

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work from home company

      4 Apr 2018 - Sales in Thornton, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Feels like working in the office but you can do it from the comfort of your own home. I have recommended Telenetwork to both friends and family and still would.

      Cons

      Low pay (no expenses to go to work though). You pay your own internet costs and provide your own computer and headset. They provide minimal tech support to help you set things up

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Run

      18 Oct 2017 - L1 Tech Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can work at home.

      Cons

      They want you to submit your availability, but if you want to work 40 hours a week (for example) you need to give them 60 hours of availability. Then when it's slow they push early leave and if they don't get enough volunteers they will log people out at random. They get paid by the phone call, so you are highly encouraged to get people off of the phone as quickly as possible. You have to get permission to create a trouble ticket, you have to get permission to perform certain troubleshooting functions and it can take 2 or 3 minutes, sometimes more because L2s and LTs are taking calls also. But you will still be coached if your call times are too high. They broadcast the call times in the Slack chat room every hour, and you will be constantly harassed to get your talk times lower. Talk times already low? They will say that you can do better and get them even lower. You are also expected to make sales while simultaneously keeping your calls as short as possible. It takes a skilled sales person to sell to someone who called breathing fire because their internet is down; or their phone isn't working because it rained. Most tech support people are not skilled sales people. You may be trained to take FIOS calls in addition to DSL calls, but you will not get more money for it. They time your bathroom breaks, they will mark you late and dock you points if you're 1 minute late. They did give us 'shift prep' time to get our tools up and running, but it counts against your DND time, so you are actually penalized if you use it. One or more of the tools will go down every day. Count on it. Saturdays and Mondays will be filled with phone calls from irate customers that were expecting a field tech to come out and repair/install their service but the tech never arrived. The field techs have a nasty habit of closing tickets and notating that they called the customer and didn't get an answer and there was no answering machine. I've had so many customers say that they were home all day waiting for a tech and never got a call that I believe that the techs blow off the visits. Then when you have to create another ticket and tell the customer that the next appointment is 2 weeks out they go nuclear. Finally, I leave you with this: Being sick and having a doctor's note is NOT considered an excused absence because my TL thinks that a doctor's note violates HIPPA. Her suggestion is that we fill out the paperwork for FMLA which is interesting because 1)FMLA is unpaid, unlike the sick leave that we allegedly get 2) isn't intended to be used if you get the flu or something like that and 3) you have to go into extreme detail as to the reason and extent of your illness when filling out the FMLA paperwork, providing way more of your medical information than a simple note that 'X was seen today by Dr. SoandSo and can come back to work in 2 days'

      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay away!!

      14 Oct 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, some decent TL's and coworkers.....I have no more pros to offer, trying to make a 20 word minimum.

      Cons

      Some L2s are so horrible you do everything you can to avoid asking them for ANYTHING! They push you to up sale, however when a customer calls in and needs to use one of the services they were sold I.e. premium tech support, it takes an act of congress to get them to accept the call after they have spoken to you like you are a complete idiot. Way too much favoritism, pay is not,that great, and they push early leave way too much, thus making your check extremely short. They do not care for their employees or their customers. Not a very good place to stay employed for the long run.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Variety of Opportunities

      29 Aug 2017 - Technical Support Representative in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are several position opportunities (e.g. tech support, customer service) available for hire, many of which are work from home as I do. The company has various contracts with several companies to provide a variety of services. There are opportunities to move laterally within the company or move to a higher position. Within the year I have worked for the company, I am on my 3rd lateral position which better fits my skills, experiences, and interests.

      Cons

      Depending on the position and for which contract you are assigned, it can be overwhelming in terms of the number and type of customers one deals with on a daily basis. When I started, I was working with people experiencing cable and Internet issues and the call volume was non-stop. In my tech support position, the call volume is not overwhelming with customers whom are not as frustrated as those in my original position.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Level III Technician

      12 Sep 2017 - Level III Technician in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some I have seen have listed working from home as a pro, it only succeeded in making me hate being on my own computer or in my office. No real redeeming qualities at all.

      Cons

      To start with, the pay is horrendous for the work you are expected to do. No matter what department or calls you start off taking, you will make $9/hr. I say this because I see their ads all the time claiming that you will make $15,$20, or $25 an hour. I suppose a person could get to this point, but only through extremely high pressure sales situations. Basically, the tech is only allowed to help with certain issues for each ISP they support, after that point they are required (they screen calls to make sure you do) to pitch teleNetwork's "advanced tech support". This most often requires a very lengthy commitment on the customer's part, and is often used by low level techs to avoid calls they do not want to deal with. The training you will receive takes a couple of days to complete, normally 4-5, 5 hour days. It will consist mainly of you making sure you understand their company policy, will touch on the tools used in their completely outdated systems, and will have you shadow a trainer as he takes a few calls. After that you are tossed into the que, and will begin taking calls. You have not known pressure until you are on your 3rd call ever speaking with someone who is upset, and have no idea how to handle the call. You are allowed to put them on hold for 2-3 minutes (this affects your metrics though, and you will be "coached" if you do it too often) in an attempt to reach out to a team leader or your departments level II, but more often than not you will not even get a reply in that amount of time. They will tell you to fill this time with "personal connection" talk (also a metric they judge and coach on). The problem with this is, if you have ever been upset and called an ISP for support, how many people want to talk about the weather or really anything in the world except why their internet is not working? It often leads to making customers more upset. Call times at level 1 are expected to be in the ball park of 6 minutes or less. If you are much over this you will be coached, and will lose ability to move up or receive any kind of incentive increase until they are met. I've worked in IT for quite some time now, and to resolve any issue after going through the 2 or 3 minutes of REQUIRED qualifying questions is next to impossible. This is where many people hit a wall and either end up quitting or being fired because their call times are too high. If you do by some chance manage to keep your call times down, make sure you read all required sentences, and force enough sales on people you will be often be offered a "promotion". I phrase it that way because ever time I was "promoted" it always came with a disclaimer that this is simply a lateral move and didn't qualify me for any type of pay increase, only an increase in responsibility. After one of these lateral moves I found myself on the Onesupport team, this is when things began to be too much. Now along with taking back to back calls for my entire shift, I was responsible for helping people at Lvl 1 and 2 resolve their issues with software, customers, or their personal pc's not working. These came over in the form of a session through a remote support software, your calls did not stop as this was going on, and you could easily find yourself on a call with up to 10 or more sessions of people asking you to fix something. Towards the end of my time there this was exasperated by them adding a way for Onesupport retail customers to start a session with you as well. So on a call, taking sessions for internal issues, and taking sessions from external customer issues. Looking back i'm not sure how I juggled everything that was going on, and kept it straight in my mind. Just before I quit they finally added a period of paid time at the start of your shift to get all of the software and web pages you would need for work going, I attribute this to the ongoing class action suit against them for not paying workers for startup and shutdown time. But even when they added this "feature" we were still informed that the time used there would be counted against our dnd time for the day. More simply put, the more time you spend here, the more time you will need to sit in your chair and take calls later to make up for it, or again you will be coached, put on probation, or demoted. Break and lunch scheduling is a nightmare. The have a system where when you want a break or lunch, you must put yourself in a que and when an available spot comes open, if you aren't on a call you will be placed on break. The issue with this, is in times of larger call volume they will whittle it down to maybe 1 or 2 spots for a group of sometimes 60+ people. I had days that I could go 7 or 8 hours without being able to take a break simply because there were limited spots, or other employees would break company policy to make sure they were next by turning off their phone when a spot was about to open to make sure they weren't on a call. This was one of the most maddening things about working for them. In conclusion, overwhelming work load, angry customers, poor compensation, impossible metrics, slim to no chance of moving up, high pressure sales, and a break system that pits you against your colleagues. If you have ANY other option for work, consider it before doing this. I often hear people complain about working retail, I've done both of them, and I would work retail the rest of my life if this was my only other option.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with OneSupport Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at OneSupport? Share Your Experiences

    OneSupport logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    OneSupport Photos

    + Add Photo
    OneSupport photo of: teleNetwork
    OneSupport photo of: Holidays in the Call Center 2012
    OneSupport photo of: Yup!
    OneSupport photo of: Hey
    OneSupport photo of: Break
    OneSupport photo of: Holidays in the Call Center 2012
    OneSupport photo of: Woosah
    See All Photos

    OneSupport Job Seekers Also Viewed

    SYKES Logo
    SYKES

    3.3

    6,909 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 744 OneSupport reviews submitted anonymously by OneSupport employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if OneSupport is right for you.