Old Navy Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Old Navy Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Old Navy CEO Sonia Syngal
Sonia Syngal
114 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Wish I was trained more in presenting Old Navy credit cards(in 421 reviews)

  • "Some turnover with part time employees(in 206 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great college or high school job. Customers will make you happy. Depending on the holiday. I stayed for 6 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Old Navy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meet new people. Volunteer opportunities. Great discount.

    Cons

    Sometimes you don't you don't get enough hours.

    Advice to Management

    Budgeting. Don't over hire employees if you cant afford to pay them.

    Old Navy2019-12-11
  2. "Seasonal Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Old Navy part-time

    Pros

    Made it clear that if I wanted to stay beyond the holiday, I would get a raise. When I turned in my resignation after the holiday period was up because I had to go back to school, they offered me my same position, with the raise, whenever I was home for breaks.

    Cons

    Incredibly monotonous work (folding clothes, organizing clothes, clearing the dressing room, etc)

    Old Navy2019-12-11
  3. "Okay place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time

    Pros

    You get a great discount at all gap stores!

    Cons

    If you aren't a manager your shifts will only be 4 hours

    Old Navy2019-12-11
  4. "Excellent Workplace Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - "Brand Associate" in St. Catharines, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -great energy -great staff -family like environment -excellent shift swap app -great for students -good music -great discount -excellent support -walkies on sales floor seriously help with communication -good training -excellent options for availability -lifelong friendships made

    Cons

    -short shifts (great for a little extra money here and there however) -very little hours (great if you are in school however) -no full-time positions available even after years of service -insufficient "raises" (literally cents or for example I did not get one this year?...)

    Old Navy2019-12-09
  5. "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Operations Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Old Navy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Old Navy fosters a be yourself environment! I worked along side really talented Merchandisers, who were amazing and fun to work with!

    Cons

    Honestly the pay and benefits aren’t great.

    Advice to Management

    Continue making it a fun place to work!

    Old Navy2019-12-09
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They start you at $8.75 and then after six months of employment, you're automatically bumped up to $10 per hour. After that you're eligible for small raises usually every year. Small meaning by a few cents or so if you've done a good job.

    Cons

    Retail sucks, but the work environment is fine if your coworkers are good people.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Old Navy2019-12-09
  7. "Enjoyable balanced work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Associate in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, low stress, fast paced environment

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive, no commission, hours are all over the place

    Old Navy2019-12-03
  8. "Work Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - pto / benefits - discount - lots of stores for oppertunitieis

    Cons

    work life balance lots of pressure noise from upper field unrealstic expectations

    Old Navy2019-12-04
  9. "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hiring and Training Lead in Holyoke, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Simple Job, Part-Time employees have some benefits with health, Overall good environment, amazing discount, reimbursed for volunteering

    Cons

    Employees aren't necessarily an asset to the store, strict attendance policy, no paid time off without penalty, pay is non-negotiable and bonuses are rare, some locations may not be on par with OSHA standards, climbing the ladder is difficult

    Old Navy2019-12-02
  10. "Low Wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time

    Pros

    Fast-paced environment (always on the move), provides good training

    Cons

    Very low wages, not so friendly management no benefits

    Old Navy2019-12-02
Found 5779 reviews