Okta Director Reviews

Updated 13 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Okta CEO & Co-Founder Todd McKinnon
Todd McKinnon
12 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Product Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good product that is loved by customers, competent CEO and co-founders, good people and fun work environment. WFH friendly.

    Cons

    Hard to break into the inner circles if your intention is to be more politically impactful

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-05-13
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Cool if you're in the boys club"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Market recognition and maniacal focus on competition

    Cons

    If you're not in the boys club, no possible room for advancement and unlikely to get your first-year vest

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-02-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Highly rewarding Work. Fast pace. Startup mentality."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely best product in the Identity as a service space. Maniacal focus on growth. Very sharp hires. Constant new hires. Open communication. CEO does an all hands call every Friday. You can ask anything.

    Cons

    Work-life balance. The motto is ‘Always On’ and I don’t agree with that. I work to provide for my family and I do need to be around to take care of them. Always-On is not my idea of balance. Too many apps for everything. Hard to navigate. Crazy amount of emails. You have to be very focused to not have email run your day.

    Continue reading
    Okta2019-09-19
  4. "Rapid growth career launching company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company is growing fast, lots of career opportunities, once in a lifetime opportunity.

    Cons

    long work hours, always on

    Okta2019-05-28
  5. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome leadership, great vision and execution

    Cons

    Getting big now which can be challenging to keep the culture and people.

    Continue reading
    Okta2017-12-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company, Awesome Products. The Future is Okta"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta

    Pros

    Okta is a truly great company to work for. We have best in class products and a genuine commitment to customer success that combine to make Okta undisputed market leaders. The technical team in particular is the best I have ever worked for in the field of Identity and Access Management and whilst it is a much over used term these folk are real technical Rockstars. The culture is open, collaborative and adult and Todd and Freddie have done an phenomenal job of growing a highly credible global organisation whilst maintaining the look and feel of a start up. Weekly all hands meetings ensure that everyone knows the direction of travel and there is a clear articulation of vision and strategy. The leadership is strong and inspirational. In EMEA we have created and developed an awesome team of subject matter experts and opportunities for growth are pretty much limitless.

    Cons

    Okta is not for the faint hearted. The sheer scale of the opportunities means that maintaining a work life balance can be challenging. However we are all treated like adults and given the freedom to manage our own time. It's not a 9 - 5 job but nothing great was ever created without a bit of hard work. There is no where to hide but you absolutely get out what you put in.

    Okta2016-09-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The Real Deal"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many companies impress during a loop, but once you join you quickly see the soft underbelly - product issues, customer sat issues, political infighting, etc. In my experience Okta is exactly what it appeared to be - A market leader with great technology, run by (and staffed by) people who want to build a great company with fanatic customer at the center. And I believe the same people that starting this company actually also know how to scale it - that is not too common.

    Cons

    Not a con to me, but worth noting. You do not have to work around the clock, but you better work with urgency and be very good at what you do.

    Okta2016-09-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company but you have got to have drive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director of Channel Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta

    Pros

    i started with Okta nearly 2 years ago now after a number of IAM start-up/Hyper growth US companies, Okta has proved to be challenging but in the right ways, the people are great the company wants to do the best thing for its customers and its employees. compensation packages are on average or slightly higher than the market offerings for the UK for me the best Pro is that the company wants you to have passion about what you do and what we offer to our customers as a solution, everybody is heard and can have a say which is great and the correct thing to do in a ever expanding company.

    Cons

    you have to be able to be self sufficient if you are looking for a company to put your feet up and work 9 - 5 this is not the place for you but i see that as a Pro Okta can seem disconnected and disjointed at times between the departments and to people who are used to large companies this would be a con but it is growing pains of a fast growing hight tech company

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-09-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Managment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Product, Focused on customer success and sustainability, Constantly challenged, Great culture, Market leader by a mile, solid benefits, good comp, tons of upward mobility

    Cons

    None, work hard play hard

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-06-22
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Director, Sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The space is interesting and customers typically struggle with IAM solutions. Okta has a nice platform to handle SaaS based IAM for cloud apps.

    Cons

    Okta flooded the field sales force. Revenue expectations were unreasonable. Contracting issues with certain verticals (Healthcare). The product had limitations with broad scale deployments.

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-04-18
Found 14 reviews