Officeworks Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Officeworks Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
70%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Officeworks Managing Director  Mark Ward
Mark Ward
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team environment can be a lot of fun(in 18 reviews)

  • "I have worked at over 5 different stores, have always found officeworks to be understanding of team members(staff) needs and as flexable as possible(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Overworking good team members is common as a cost saving measure with no financial compensation or recognition for hard work(in 22 reviews)

  • "Head Office disconnect from stores(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Programming in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits on team member discounts across variety of stores.

    Cons

    Can be bullied and taken advantage of by customers and supervisors.

    Officeworks2020-01-19
  2. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for a retail job, management and head office seemed to care about the health and safety of employees along with training

    Cons

    Understaffed in some areas such as Print & Copy and technology leading to unhappy customers when other staff could not assist, there was store politics and gossip that caused issues in the store

    Advice to Management

    Train more staff across departments (especially Print & Copy) to assist during the busy periods.

    Officeworks2020-01-01
  3. "Officeworks team member review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Relations Director 

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time

    Pros

    Up to 20 percent off

    Cons

    Constantly changing over management. Often resulting in person unfit for position

    Officeworks2020-01-13
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Night Fill 

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time

    Pros

    shifts are pretty chill, decent pay

    Cons

    not many shifts for casuals fortnightly pay

    Officeworks2019-12-23
  5. "Officeworks coardinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coardinator in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Officeworks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked at over 5 different stores, have always found officeworks to be understanding of team members(staff) needs and as flexable as possible.

    Cons

    The work is tough and really ramps up december-march

    Officeworks2019-12-10
  6. "Office works review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Chino Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They were fast about getting you your next job assignment

    Cons

    They no longer wanted to work for me because I turned down a position

    Officeworks2020-01-02
  7. "Great co-workers, Incompetent Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Co-workers and extensive in field and online training.

    Cons

    Casuals get treated like garbage. Shifts are cut for no reason other than to appease the 'budget'. Numbers and metrics are more important than employees.

    Advice to Management

    When you're cutting the shifts of an employee, at least offer a semblance of a reason. My shifts were basically cut to nil after there were cut to a minimum. I even offered to go part time to significantly decrease my pay as well as offered to work in print and copy for more shift opportunities but management did not budge. Also If my performance was really lacking (I am really unsure whether this was the case) then the issue should have addressed head on and without passive aggressive measures like shift cutting in hopes getting me move to another job. Also create better vetting procedures when hiring store managers as there have been 4+ managers in the space of my employment.

    Show More
    Officeworks2020-01-02
  8. "Great for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Replenishment in Mosman
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great people and pretty good pay

    Cons

    Some managers can be a bit so so as far as morale

    Advice to Management

    Look at making a 2 positives and a negative system for dealing with team members. Certain managers are unpredictable too.

    Officeworks2019-11-11
  9. "Great Job During Uni"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Member 

    I worked at Officeworks part-time

    Pros

    Fantastic people to work with. Most staff don't feel restricted to one area (they encourage multi-area knowledge) that makes you more likely to get more shifts of a week. Proactive with health & safety.

    Cons

    Used to be made to feel guilty about having sick days. Under some management if they stuffed up rostering and spent too much somewhere there would be serious understaffing for the rest of the month.

    Advice to Management

    Understand that your casual and part time staff 99.9% of the time would prefer to be at work and not lose a paid shift if they didn't have to. Guilting them puts them in a future position to keep working when they are truly sick.

    Officeworks2019-10-30
  10. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity if you are friends with the right people and vice versa. Generous benefits including bonuses and great discounts.

    Cons

    Too many "chiefs" for such small stores.

    Officeworks2019-10-28
Found 226 reviews