OfficeMax Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

OfficeMax Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
OfficeMax Chief Executive Officer Gerry Smith
Gerry Smith
79 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Difference in work methods with Officemax vs Office Depot employees(in 113 reviews)

  • "Upper Management did not stand behind store management(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Jon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OfficeMax full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, paid time off, flexible hours

    Cons

    The pay itself is not that great

    OfficeMax2020-01-28
  2. "This place is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Engagement Manager in Glen Carbon, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OfficeMax full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission, Decent Pay for managers, PTO

    Cons

    Short Staffing, High Turnover, Rude Managers, Pushing to sell to customers who aren't interested. New things added to job daily, no consistency

    Advice to Management

    Actually train your employees, and stop pushing the managers to sell unrealistic ammounts. Half of the customers that come in, just want one item or two. They don't want to be sold the whole store.

    OfficeMax2020-01-18
  3. "Being a Supervisor at Office Max"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Engagement Specialist 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OfficeMax full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot, the day goes by pretty fast for me due to constant moving, multiple avenues of development, potential for bonus, PTO, benefits

    Cons

    Pay could be more, upper management trickles threats to associates about tasks that are not 100% on them such as sales and sign ups.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make more genuine connections with employees and communities.

    OfficeMax2019-12-30
  4. "Pretty awful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Service Manager 

    I worked at OfficeMax full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Could show up late all the time

    Cons

    Mostly incompetent management and co-workers. Co workers didn't want to learn how to do their job so they wouldn't have to. Management literally didn't know what they were doing despite pretending to. Worst of all the customers are terrible people and mostly mentally disabled.

    Advice to Management

    Update that resume

    OfficeMax2020-01-21
  5. "OfficeMax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 

    I have been working at OfficeMax part-time

    Pros

    Give you hours you want

    Cons

    On your feet all day

    OfficeMax2019-12-13
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising in Cleveland, OH

    I worked at OfficeMax full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    TIme off, work place Benefits are good

    Cons

    Long drive to work during rush hour

    OfficeMax2019-12-10
  7. "OfficeMax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at OfficeMax full-time

    Pros

    OfficeMax is a very ethical company.

    Cons

    Immediate manager was a micro manager.

    OfficeMax2019-12-08
  8. "Poor Staffing, Compensation, and Incentives Creates High Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Elkridge, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OfficeMax full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The company is willing to bring in outside experience for mid-level management roles - The company does try to find ways to motivate employees (however, they won't spend money to do so)

    Cons

    - Disconnect between senior management/ admin (office) and warehouse employees creates tension - Junior employees being offered compensation that will not allow them to support their families in high income areas - The company will not do anything to incentivize hard work. Emphasis is placed on meeting the standard, not exceeding it. - No opportunities for advancement based on immediate skill level. You will need to work years (nearly a decade!) before they will consider you for a position at the next level

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider your resources. Is it cheaper to pay the minimum and constantly need to train and certify new employees, or bring in quality applicants from the beginning. No one looks at OfficeMax as along-term employer. It's a job and when a better opportunity comes, no one hesitates in taking it. Also, provide training and opportunities for advancement. This isn't just in position, but in compensation as well. You can easily build those steps in and genuinely get employees excited about longevity and performance.

    Show More
    OfficeMax2019-12-11
  9. "misleading listing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OfficeMax full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relatively low-stress compared to other retail environments discount

    Cons

    relative to similar positions in my region of the united states, i'm being underpaid by at least 8k/year, even accounting for a lack of paid management experience and being an external hire. also, HSA instead of an actual health insurance program with a lot of fine print that essentially translates to me being better off private-paying. granted, i'm speaking from my experiences so far at a specific store in no particular order: my boss advised me to play mind games with an associate instead of interacting with them like a normal human being over an "incident" (strong word) i forgot immediately after it happened. just generally, has a huge thing for blaming other people when things go sour and kinda seems to be projecting his own insecurities and flaws onto others. possibly a bit misogynistic given his comments about my female coworkers, so i'm sure he's assigned a "female" stereotype to me by now (it'll come out eventually). a general lack of support and training after my two-week course in the district's training store - in fact, even though i have been with the company for a short amount of time i am under the impression that my boss is of the opinion that i should have learned everything by now, despite giving me very few tools to get up to speed short of me asking directly. being sold on the position by claiming that they were looking for "new ideas." so far, nothing meaningful is being changed, for all the talk of "working on it." i was also lied to about associates being cross-trained to all departments, given that only four people can actually flex between front-end and copy/print related to being misled about expectations, the goal posts are always shifting when it comes to task management. i have yet to see another manager or senior employee be pulled aside and lectured for any minor mistakes, even though one of my fellow managers has been bypassing tech service requirements because she doesn't like the current sop for work orders? hello? mostly i feel like a glorified associate. color me shocked upon learning that when my boss took over the store one of my predecessors lined up a job and quit, and then the one after was only here a few months before they also left for a different job. here's hoping i'll be out soon as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    if everyone else sucks at their job no matter who you hire for it, maybe it's time to rip the actual problem out by the roots

    OfficeMax2019-12-10
  10. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Batavia, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OfficeMax full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ok place to work but not competitive pay

    Cons

    Management not very professional not consistent expectations between different employees

    Advice to Management

    create an even playing field don't expect more out of some people than you do out of others

    OfficeMax2019-11-22
Found 2050 reviews