Nuance Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Nuance Software Developer Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
8 Ratings
  1. "Best place to start your career at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started my career at Nuance as an intern and then I converted to full time. I worked with different teams, under different managements. It's the best place to learn at, great technology and super team mates that are always willing to help. Work from home as you want, some people work from home everyday and it's okay as long as you do your job perfectly. Depends on the divisions you work in, you may end up working with old boring technology OR the top trending ones. I have been into both and I'm glad as it gave me the opportunity to experience both.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing in my opinion. All is great as far as I experienced

    Advice to Management

    If you feel that an employer is really worthy, please consider raising him good amount.

    Nuance2020-01-12
  2. "Software Developer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really amazing and talented people.

    Cons

    Sometimes, communication problems between the headquarters and the offshore team.

    Nuance2019-11-23
  3. "Senior Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is good as per market.

    Cons

    - No long term plan - They cant think of more than 5-6 months - Work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Indian upper management is literally useless.

    Nuance2019-12-05
  4. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for more than a year

    Pros

    work environment is relax, work and life balance

    Cons

    nothing more about cons till now

    Nuance2019-11-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Full of spaghetti codes, full of politicians, disrespectful environment for consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for more than a year

    Pros

    - Looks like a shining place to work from outside; Cutting edge technology, Machine learning, voice recognition, etc

    Cons

    - When you start working inside, there either very knowledgeable people who are in middle of codes which become spaghetti over years, and they are just patching here, and there or there are groups of people who have learned how to play politics in office. I remember in Montreal office, there was a person with title of principal solution architecture whose work was saving a word file as pdf. Her salary $115k which is a joke. She was playing office politics like a pro. - Projects are not agile, in the best case they are Kanban - Amazon, and Google are eating market with their open source libraries. Every product is exposed to death in Nuance - Full of internal product with 20 years old age which has no use in these days. - Full of top to bottom, arrogant behaviors in office, everybody is trying to teach a lesson to you while they never listen, - Consultants are behaved badly, and nothing is available to them

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of attending long meaningless meeting over Skype, I recommend you to have a look back into the current products please. drop useless one. kick long term politicians out of this big sinking ship. Hire agile coach, and agile scrum masters a separate role. Otherwise Nuance will a dot in history.

    Nuance2019-09-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great initial offering, don't expect much growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary (during initial offer), good benefits for new grads, nice office location, free coffee and sodie pop.

    Cons

    Too many management layers. Not enough resource filtering -- good resources are leaving because bad/incompetent people don't feel the need to improve.

    Advice to Management

    Be more cutthroat and reward ones who are very obviously outperforming others.

    Nuance2019-08-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Overall pretty good place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary is competitive. Benefits are awesome! Personally my managers have been very supportive and fair towards me. Can't say the same for all managers at Nuance from some colleagues/ex-colleagues testimonies. Location of MTL office is a plus. The impact of my work is satisfying. In my division, you know that your work will be used by thousands of people.

    Cons

    Teams are always understaffed. Hiring could be better both in terms of quality and quantity. While Nuance strives to maintain compensation parity among employees based on seniority, competence is not necessarily used as a factor. This can result in highly performing young people being rewarded less than average/low performance people who have more years in the business. No or very limited team bonding activities aka Nuance does not spend much on its team's victories or on building team chemistry. Lack of planning & clear directions from mid-level management. For the engineering leaders, culture is more about "do what you gotta do to make it work in the short term" than "let's do things properly to ensure efficiency and better results in the long term". This leads to unpaid, overtime hours way too often for full time employees. By extension, this also affects work-life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reward top employees better so you can retain them. Improve hiring process. Make sure goals set by upper management is being properly implemented by mid level managers. Reward teams generously for their successes.

    Nuance2019-08-19
  8. "I have been working at Nuance full-time for 7 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good, experienced people, friendly environment.

    Cons

    Social life is at minimum level.

    Nuance2019-07-02
  9. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Manager in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Pay and people were fine.

    Cons

    They are a large publicly traded corporation.

    Nuance2019-07-11
  10. "Career Stagnation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to work from home when necessary.

    Cons

    Company culture and investment in promoting from within are limited.

    Advice to Management

    Have clearer channels of communication and more transparency.

    Nuance2019-04-07
Found 37 reviews