Northrop Grumman Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Northrop Grumman Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4392 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working the 9/80 schedule is wonderful, because you have 3 day weekends every other week(in 338 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and work-life balance(in 319 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, upper management never seems to have much interest in the lower folk(in 121 reviews)

  • "large company not always easy to move up(in 95 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Work Life Balance is a plus

      Cons

      Starting out can be tricky

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-20
    • "Fantastic Company to Work for, But Leadership’s Disorganized"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great Benefits Flexible Work Schedule Above Average Compensation

      Cons

      Restructuring Every 2-3 Years Leaderships Disorganized

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-19
    • "Northrop at a glance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Program Management Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Offered many job growth opportunities.

      Cons

      Best growth potential is being open to moving to other Northrop locations.

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-20
    • "Excellent company with great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There is always room to grow

      Cons

      I cant think of any

      Advice to Management

      promote from within

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-18
    • "Your mileage will vary."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Systems Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      9/80 work week. Would be assigned projects and roles according to skills and not limited to formal job title. Example: a systems engineer could work as a software engineer on a project if he/she had the skills, desire and there was project need.

      Cons

      Some locations are great, others were notoriously bad. Management of the organizational structure often fails. Re-orgs happen annually and management fails to execute on large re-orgs.

      Advice to Management

      The next time you undertake a massive organization, take the time to execute it properly instead of leaving employees without managers or much connection to the organization.

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-16
    • "Socal Location is great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Program Planner 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

      Pros

      work life balance, flexible schedule, pay is great

      Cons

      Sometimes I dont feel heard

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-14
    • "Great People, Interesting Day to Day!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Friendly Atmosphere Government Subsidies Meaningful Work

      Cons

      Repetitive Strict Policies Management tends to emphasize deadlines

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-13
    • "Wonderful work environment and great learning opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - QA Analyst in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      99% of the group of employees that I worked with were outstanding at the site I worked at (formally known asTRW/ESL) ; integrity, work ethic, and person to person relationships. I learned the most while I worked there and was given opportunities and challenges to expand my knowledge. I have great respect for those I supported; 2nd family in many ways.

      Cons

      Not all company benefits where the same after NGC purchased TRW and slowly saw the benefits get cut down; but at the same time they adopted one of my favorite work schedules - 9/80. Benefits are still good, but not what I had started with. The company culture was different and it slowly started to show after a few years, but I would return to NGC over where I currently just left where the culture was difficult to comprehend...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Recognize your greatest asset is your employees. At times it is ok to bring in an over-arching company culture, but there are other layers of work cultures at each site which is unique and should be embraced when working successfully. If the culture is working and the site works as a cohesive team, drives results, and fosters creativity and learning; then look at what is working and adopt into the higher level or recognize...

      Show More
      Northrop Grumman2019-06-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Decent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Electronic Technician III in Dulles, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Friendly environment, possibility to learn many skills if desired.

      Cons

      Some employees do the bare minimum, while others take the brunt of the work.

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-09
    • "Would highly recommend!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Clearfield, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I have loved working here!! They are flexible and have a great work/life balance. My boss has always had my back and I love the community here!!

      Cons

      Honestly... none that I can think of!!

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-09
    Found 4392 reviews