Northrop Grumman Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Northrop Grumman Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "9/80 schedule is a good perk that allows to take care of errands(in 368 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance when there is no schedule pressure(in 348 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, upper management never seems to have much interest in the lower folk(in 124 reviews)

  • "large company not always easy to move up(in 104 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stamullen
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people there (crews) Friendships Gain work families

    Cons

    Pays always wrong Always shouted at Alway crews fault not matter what Hours are always wrong List goes on and on

    Advice to Management

    We will w ork fir you, dont shout We are not always wrong...... Isnt always our fault you are to blame aswel There are delays hospitals always gave delays

    Northrop Grumman2019-09-02
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner in Dulles, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great workers and bosses and pay

    Cons

    long hours but worth the pay

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-19
  3. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are many opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Work can sometimes be quite difficult.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-19
  4. "Not my cup of tea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Test Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Continuous learning opportunities. Easy to rotate into different roles. Typical big company perks.

    Cons

    Work can be mundane. Your technical skills are likely to atrophy if you're a new grad.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-18
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardware Intern in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is very friendly and diversity is better than anything I have seen.

    Cons

    Work can be slow or boring.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with lots of opportunities and room for growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The 9/80 schedule is an amazing benefit and the programs tend to be very interesting which makes the work never boring. There is lots of room for growth and always chances to learn if you are willing to take them.

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucracy because it’s a defense company.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-13
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Buyer beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The once a year layoffs (2010-2015ish) have stopped, stable long term employment.

    Cons

    Steady reduction in benefits (pto, credit hours, health care in years past) continues with a new, no exceptions cap on tuition reimbursement. Currently enrolled employees had this sprung on them with just 2 months notice. Combined with the policy that if you leave the company, you must pay back 2 years of tuition, this leaves current students who are unable to cover their tuition with the options of finding... another company willing to cover those two years as a signing bonus or simply abandoning their degree and riding out those two years at NG.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pulling the rug out from under people is not going to help with recruitment or retention. This is penny wise, pound foolish.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-07
  8. "Benefits and tuition disbursement is the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and tuition disbursement is the best.

    Cons

    Lack of ability to increase in rank.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-14
  9. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pay, people, ceo, work is good.

    Cons

    A software engineer can make more going to a public company and work on "cooler" things.

    Advice to Management

    promote people, or they will leave

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-14
  10. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility Relaxed environment Lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Not a lot of employee engagement

    Advice to Management

    Make a more inclusive environment

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-13
Found 4603 reviews