Nordstrom Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Nordstrom Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11043 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom CEO Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
187 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with the best customer service team(in 672 reviews)

  • "Great company morale employees work as a team to help each other(in 440 reviews)

Cons
  • "Returns that hurt your commission(in 705 reviews)

  • "Long hours standing and no flexibility in schedule(in 579 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place with nurturing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Caring people. Good work life balance. Diverse workforce.

    Cons

    Lower pay than market rate. While scrappy innovation is encouraged, a by-product is that efforts aren't fully resourced.

    Nordstrom2019-09-16
  2. "Great Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Really want you to understand the Nordstrom culture (training is definitely centered on "Why Nordstrom," and why customers come back. - Great focus on giving you the tools to grow your own business within Nordstrom

    Cons

    - Some managers are not focused on training and just throw you in without any product knowledge. - Sometimes the resources you need to succeed are not available and the timeline for training on certain products can be too long

    Nordstrom2019-09-16
  3. "Great place for career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are driven and willing to push yourself, there is a lot of opportunity to explore different career paths and continue to advance yourself within the company. There is also great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Given that it is retail, it feels sometimes driving short term results overshadow longer term strategy. Priorities from leadership can shift often.

    Nordstrom2019-09-16
  4. "Great company - good sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Women Shoes Sales Associate in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked here seasonally through college and always had positive experiences. Good people, company promotes from within, good salary if you work hard and make your numbers.

    Cons

    Some drama dealing with commissions. Long hours.

    Nordstrom2019-09-16
  5. "Great place to learn bartending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quiet bar with generally nice people coming in to eat. Customers typically also shop at Nordstrom so they expect a certain quality of service.

    Cons

    Bar itself doesn't see too much action. I averaged $10 in tips per hour, with my best days being $20 per hour in tips and my worst being $4 per hour. Your take home will change seasonally.

    Nordstrom2019-09-16
  6. "It's fine if you can fake it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandising 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible schedule

    Cons

    If you can get along with someone you just have to suck it up and take it since HR will do absolutely nothing

    Advice to Management

    Hold managers accountable for their mistakes and not just brush problems under the rug

    Nordstrom2019-09-16
  7. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Department Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, 401K, profit sharing.

    Cons

    Experience it then u know it.

    Nordstrom2019-09-17
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Flexible Building relationships Good experience

    Cons

    Busy season and nonbusy seasons.

    Nordstrom2019-09-17
  9. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Agent in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    not much cons the company is great

    Nordstrom2019-09-15
  10. "Good pay but not much guidance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - YSL Pop Up Shop Make Up Artist in The Grove, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay in comparison with other cosmetic jobs like Macy's or Bloomingdale's. Schedules and hours were good overall.

    Cons

    No managers were around when needed. Sometimes customer issues had to be dealt with alone and other employees are snobby or arrogant. I get its commission based but many coworkers were mean. Very few were actually nice and friendly.

    Advice to Management

    Train employees to be friendlier with each other and not so competitive all the time. Offer ways to get in touch with a manager when needed in emergencies.

    Nordstrom2019-09-14
Found 11043 reviews