Nielsen Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Nielsen Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Nielsen CEO David Kenny (no image)
David Kenny
21 Ratings
  1. "Great place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quickly move high performers up the ladder

    Cons

    Difficulty moving up if your client doesn't like you.

    Nielsen2019-10-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nielsen Cares About You"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Cares about your health with great benefits regarding compensation, paid time off, health resources, wellness programs, etc. - Cares about your growth with a mentoring and coaching culture, leadership development programs, and lateral and upward opportunities between departments. - Cares about your experience encouraging a diverse and inclusive culture, connecting peers through employee resource groups, and... a be yourself mindset. - Cares about others from a social responsibility perspective with many initiatives to support the environment, local communities, disaster recovery, and so much more.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Rather than a work-life balance it is more of a work-life integration. - Like any work environment, there are pros and cons, but no other cons stand out to put here.

    Nielsen2019-10-10

    Nielsen Response

    October 11, 2019Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re happy to hear that you’re having a great Nielsen experience!

  3. "Reasearch Manager, Sales Effectiveness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Manager in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nielsen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent work environment and culture

    Cons

    the travel distance for me was too much for me

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Nielsen2019-09-27
  4. "Great experience and solid benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family leave- as of 2019, 20 wks full pay for maternity and 12wks full pay for paternity leave. Flexibly to work remotely based on team. Encourage and support division transfer if desire to change area of focus.

    Cons

    Working remotely can hurt visibility but that is with any large company.

    Nielsen2019-09-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to grow and discover roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Needham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I feel that I am well compensated and recognized for my contributions. The people here are the difference and the relationships you create and manage will allow you grow into the role that is right for you.

    Cons

    Volatility in the industry has added some interesting wrinkles to the high level strategy that needs to be course corrected with bold, intelligent investments in people and technology.

    Advice to Management

    Make the investment in modern technological improvements.

    Nielsen2019-09-04

    Nielsen Response

    September 9, 2019Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, both positive and constructive. If you haven't already, we encourage you to meet with your manager and/or HR Business Partner to share any specific ideas you have about ways we can improve and innovate.

  6. "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to move around the business and learn different things

    Cons

    On-going semi-annual practice of downsizing longer-term employees. Making too many changes, too rapidly for stability and understanding

    Nielsen2019-09-06
  7. "Demoralising, invest in infrastructure not people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Good flexibility, but it can be a battle to get it

    Cons

    Terrible pay for time and workload expectations

    Nielsen2019-09-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Environment before the new CEO and his team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, Remote Work, PTO, People you work with,

    Cons

    The 2019 reorganization was a disaster. Many of the C-level management decisions were poor, unhelpful, and completely contrary to what they were sending out in communications. Over six months of people on the edge worried about their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Rethink your C-Staff and their changes.

    Nielsen2019-09-05

    Nielsen Response

    September 9, 2019Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Nielsen continues to evolve to meet our clients’ needs, which sometimes means that our organizational structure and priorities will need to change. We believe that strong leaders are essential in helping our clients and our business grow. We hope that you address your concerns directly with your manager and/or your HR Business Partner, if you haven’t already.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Get ready..and buckle up! The road ahead will be really rough!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nielsen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the delivery teams are well versed and experienced in what they do. If you are on the Media side - you will be fine. Buy side will be bought and sold off.

    Cons

    The company is about to be split and many of the non-IT roles are being forcast to be sent to TCS - and if you are not a part of the leadership development program, go find a new job! Stock is down - Connect is pitiful as the Platform team cannot even enter the US.

    Advice to Management

    Get some experienced leaders. Having 30-yr old VPs is getting to be a problem, just look at your deployment capabilities.

    Nielsen2019-08-31

    Nielsen Response

    September 9, 2019Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't have a great experience. We believe that strong leaders are essential in helping our clients and our business grow. We will take your feedback into consideration as we continue to work on creating the best working environment for everyone.

    Show Less
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Nielsen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learning, client engagements, training, culture

    Cons

    Workload can be too much

    Nielsen2019-08-22
Found 527 reviews