NextRoll Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Jul 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 301 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
NextRoll CEO Robin Bordoli
Robin Bordoli
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-Life Balance: I will admit that I've never been good at striking a good balance here so I tend to be on the work-heavy end of the spectrum(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great people work for this company(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no 401k match, a current hiring freeze(in 14 reviews)

  • "Feels like normal growing pains when trying to shift the direction of a company(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A fantastic place to work

      Aug 28, 2015 - Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a growing company so if you like a fast paced environment you'll love AdRoll! The company is filled with bright energetic people and in my experience I have found management supportive. The AdRoll sales team is a performance environment, targets are not unrealistic and there's an uncapped commission structure with good perks. I have hit my target every quarter and there is a lot of ongoing training and support here. They give you the tools to succeed, it's up to you then, sitting there waiting for deals to come to you generally doesn't work and where's the fun in that?! (This isn't Google) Some of the brightest people I have ever worked with work in AdRoll, and I have experienced good communication from senior management. Leadership from the U.S. visit regularly and there is a clear long term vision for the company which keeps me motivated. I have a clear idea of my career path in AdRoll and I have found the company supportive of my goals in this regard. Overall if you are a bright, enthusiastic person you'll do very well in AdRoll, its great!

      Cons

      There are the same growing pains that occur with most high growth companies - changing structures, procedures - it can be tricky to keep up but we're all getting better at this. There isn't a lot of cons really, everyone works hard and if thats not for you there are plenty of places you can go chill in Dublin!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Feb 25, 2015 - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super happy to be part of AdRoll in Dublin. Upbeat work environment, smart people, can do mentality and management really cares about staff. I get a lot of freedom to drive growth in my area of responsibility. We're on a mission to make cross-channel retargeting (and display advertising in general) accessible to every business. A great goal to contribute to, as it helps to create an equal level playing field between SMBs and top players in the industry.

      Cons

      If I had to name any it would be dealing with the growing pains of a rapidly expanding company. We're developing left, right and centre; some business units are somewhat under-resourced to fully cope with this growth.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Opportunities abound in a dynamic, growing company.

      Jul 28, 2020 - Director of Marketing Analytics & Insights in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Autonomy: I've never been at a company that gives employees so much freedom in deciding what to work on. The expectation is that employees are leaders in their own fields and will appropriately prioritize their time. * Coworkers: I've had the pleasure of being surrounded by good coworkers at several companies but AdRoll really hires and retains good people. The employees here are hard-working, personable, and intelligent. * Compensation: NextRoll pays well and offers a robust benefits package. Of course any company could "do better" (especially compared to Silicon Valley giants) but my compensation reinforces the notion that I feel valued at work. * Values: This company not only talks about their values, it practices them. I've never seen a company so dedicated to diversity, equity, and inclusion - this cuts across age, gender, race, religion, sexual orientation, etc. * Work-Life Balance: I will admit that I've never been good at striking a good balance here so I tend to be on the work-heavy end of the spectrum. However, NextRoll really does have a culture of finding balance and I've never been encouraged to disconnect and find separation from work the way I have here.

      Cons

      * Autonomy: I'm repeating this in the cons section due to a double-edged sword issue around autonomy - sometimes this creates conflicting priorities when projects need to be cross-functional. These challenges can be overcome but it certainly requires work to get autonomous people/teams to collaborate. * Complexity: For a mid-sized company, NextRoll seems to have large company complexity. Everything from tools, to process, to data systems are all complicated. Data-driven-decisions, although highly encouraged, are difficult to make as the truth lies buried beneath layers of systems and teams. * Growing Pains: In having extensively read other reviews before posting my own, I believe a lot of the complaints (some valid, some more along the lines of vented frustration) can be summed up as "growing pains." NextRoll is evolving from tenured "startup" to a modern-day SaaS company. Changes in team structure, operations, programs, infrastructure, etc. are both inevitable and frequent. This absolutely can come across as chaotic (especially to folks with tenure at NextRoll) but it can also be an incredible environment for opportunity. I will be the first to admit that growing pains are exactly that - painful - but for those looking for real opportunities for growth, look no further than NextRoll. Expect to be challenged.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Dec 13, 2019 - Chief of Staff in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative teams, smart people, a genuine investment in supporting employees. Just increased to a 6 month maternity leave (3 months of family bonding!).

      Cons

      Feels like normal growing pains when trying to shift the direction of a company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great CEO

      Mar 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Adroll has a very smart leadership team

      Cons

      Growing pains made scaling culture difficult

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Def Worth Rollin'

      Sep 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The executive leadership team is A+, has vision, skill, and empathy for the team. Really fun place to work and good, smart people everywhere and great culture. It's great to work for a company too that believes and loves their product and industry. Who wouldn't like marketing to marketers!?

      Cons

      Org tends to be flat and siloed at times. This is not always a bad this and much is obviously just growing pains. There are oftentimes so many small projects happening that the big transformative initiatives may get overlooked.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      One of the top companies in San Francisco!

      Apr 18, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Excellent leadership: management has a clear, concise idea of where the company is headed which is communicated to employees every week -Fun, exciting, start-up experience, even as the company transforms themselves into a top-tier player -Transparency, transparency, transparency: I thought this was just the pitch they gave to new employees when I originally started but this still rings true over a year later. I have worked at three tech firms(two good, one bad) prior to this and none of them come even close to AdRoll.

      Cons

      -With the fast growth of the company, there are growing pains in every department. Then again, with growth comes opportunity!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Keep on Rollin'

      Mar 19, 2014 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Culturally has to be one of the best places to work in SF - Senior Management very strong and makes you believe we are doing great things - Career opportunities available if you are doing well and work hard. (meaning..hard work definitely gets noticed) - Cool office and personally, I like the location. You get exposed to some really odd things everyday that make for interesting office conversation....

      Cons

      - A lot of growing pains right now - product still has a long way to go - Not that this is a con...but don't expect this to be a job where you get to chill all day and collect your paycheck. We are growing and the way to stay on top is work harder and smarter than our competition.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Feel like you're making an impact in a supportive, fun-loving atmosphere

      Mar 12, 2014 - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company touts its culture all the time, and in AdRoll's case it turns out it's quite true. Most hires are referrals from other employees and even include spouses, siblings, etc. which shows it's a real family environment. You are in control of your career path and from my experience management is accessible and open to new ideas, as long as you have proof points to back it up. Work-life balance is decent for a fast-moving tech startup. Most people are in around 8/9 and gone around 6, unless it's Monday night (when they serve dinner) or Tuesday night (which is Trivia night). Lots of activities and culture clubs to join if you're interested. Compensation (from what I've heard) is competitive with other companies in the tech space.

      Cons

      The company's headcount is increasing very quickly so it's going through some growing pains-- ensuring communication consistency, etc. are going to continue to be a challenge as the company gets bigger. The company's pretty open though so if you raise a concern enough, it'll probably get addressed. The office is gorgeous but the neighborhood is a bit rough.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Exciting, Supportive, Down-to-Earth Culture

      Dec 27, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Super fast growth. Product is amazing, continually developing. Top in the industry. Fun to sell. Market for display ads is growing as more users are on mobile/internet. + You can tell how awesome the culture is by how the turnover is; extremely low turnover rate. + C-Level management down to earth, ambitious, honest, and extremely competent. Good to know the company vision is in good hands. Values your personal/family life. They don't just say it but lead by example. + Have run into very little micro-managing. Everyone is pretty ambitious and self-motivated. + New ideas get implemented quickly without much red-tape. + Celebrate victories and successes; small enough that people recognize your accomplishments. + Supportive teammates that ramp you up and take time out of their day to support you and answer any questions. + Inspiring Growth + Vision keeps you motivated. + Continually developing benefit/payment package. Rarely subtracting, always adding. + Huge opportunities for promotion in the states and abroad. + Hard work gets rewarded. + Many extra projects to do because the company is growing so fast. Company culture rewards the self-motivated. You get opportunities to branch outside of your "job description". + Relaxed dress code; just come presentable.

      Cons

      Major Ones: - Diversity: hire more candidates from various ethnic/social/cultural backgrounds. As other reviews have mentioned, company skews more towards the "fratty" side. Minor Ones that I don't mind but objectively someone might: - Crowded seating plan as the company is growing so fast. Nice that the 2nd floor opened up recently but I figure it'll get filled up pretty quickly. - Natural growing pains of a high-growth start-up. If you're not flexible and adaptable, I can see it getting pretty frustrating. Seating plans, rapid employment, quick promotions, etc... result in constant change. - Not sure if anyone "forces" you to work hard but everyone in the company works pretty hard so if you're looking for a job where you sit back and collect a pay-check, look elsewhere. - Shady neighborhood, especially at night. Company reimburses for Uber or Lyft though. Company also hired a full-time security guard to walk you to Powell Bart Station. - Great culture doesn't really include the perks of larger companies such as a big slide, massages, or meals. So if that's important to you, I'm not sure you'll find that here for awhile. - Starting to get clique-ish... sales hangs out with sales, marketing with marketing, HR with HR. Understandable as company gets bigger. Generally seating pods hang out together. - Building is unexplainably cold.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with NextRoll Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at NextRoll? Share Your Experiences

    NextRoll logo
    or