Nestlé Purina U.S. "pets to work" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Nestlé Purina U.S. Employee Reviews about "pets to work"

Updated 11 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend

Reviews about "pets to work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Some Pros, but the Cons far outweigh them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Saint Joseph, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Within the PTC the salary structure is OK. Bringing your pet to work is a nice perk in St. Louis, but I always viewed it as a distraction. When you have some employees that bring 2-3 dogs to work but then have to take them to the dog park every hour on the hour, how do they get work done. I liken this to smokers that take smoke breaks every 30 minutes, shouldn't non-smokers get this same break every 30 minutes? For the most part people are friendly and have the best interest in pets at heart.

    Cons

    Management in the PTC has no clue how to choose and maintain/keep good talent. It takes forever to hire new Petcare associates. It's turning out to be not what you know, but who you know. Even upper management is guilty of hiring associates that are good friends from previous jobs no matter if they fit the job description or not (the good old boys club). I've seen some managers get away with murder, but then other associates make a small error are relieved of their duties, even after giving 20+ years of their life to the company.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2020-02-11
  2. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager - PTC in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are so many positives but some of the highlights are the people, passion about pets, emphasis on quality, able to bring pets to work, the St. Louis campus. Also the senior leadership, both in the PTC and in the NA business. They are focused on the business but still really care about the people.

    Cons

    Only cons I can think of are that we are saddled with Nestle policies and procedures that are not necessarily the best for operating our business efficiently. Nestle is a great company but needs to recognize the uniqueness of our business and one size does not fit all.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2020-01-09

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    January 27, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience in the PTC. It’s rewarding to hear when our associates value the same things we do, like our people and quality in our products. We understand that being a part of a large, global organization can slow things down at times however, the organization globally and locally wants to combat this. Speak up about what’s not working and suggest solutions – the business will thank you for it. Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - ORM Business Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Opportunities for growth and advancement Pets at work

    Cons

    Fair amount of nepotism, resulting in some less than qualified colleagues Large company standardization leading to some headaches (required to have too many pointless meetings, for example)

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-10-17

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    October 24, 2019

    We appreciate your review on Glassdoor. We encourage all associates to notify their managers of any barriers to efficiency and will share your comments with leadership so that we can continuously strengthen the future of our organization. Thank you again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  4. "Used to be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bring your pets to work

    Cons

    Way too many directors and managers. Plays favoritism when promoting. Very stressful environment due to structural changes. This used to be a great company being Ralston Purina but since acquired by Nestle over the years just the typical average company. If you want to work for an average company then this is the right place.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-07-15

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    July 24, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback—we enjoy pets at work, too! We recognize that being too heavy in leadership is not ideal for any organization and the structural changes you mention are addressing just that, making us a flatter, more agile organization able to compete in an ever-changing market. We’re confident that these changes will ensure working for Nestlé Purina will far exceed average. Thanks, again.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "ORM Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ORM Associate in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been a part of the Purina Nestle team for two months now and I can say that I truly enjoy and love coming to work everyday! This company cherishes its employees—you can tell by the passion that the employees have for this company. Everyone is approachable and helpful. Wonderful benefits, flexible work schedules, bringing pets to work, health clinic on campus and volunteer opportunities are only a few of the great benefits. This is definitely one of the best places to work!

    Cons

    That I didn’t find this company sooner.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-04-10

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    April 25, 2019Human Resources

    Let us start by saying—welcome to the team! We’re glad to hear you have seen the value we have for each and every one of our associates through your onboarding process and in other associates! We wish you continued success and happiness in what we hope is a long career with us! Thank you for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  6. "Opportunities to Lead, Contribute, Develop, and Have some Fun too!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    * Key Focus on Health and Wellness of Pets * Commitment to Quality and Safety -- Never Compromise * Great opportunities to learn and develop in and across Purina and Nestle (including International) * Continues to focus on enhancing Diversity * Programs supporting working families * Continuous Improvement Approach * A place to build a career not just a job * Pets at Work! * Solid Benefits - Health, 401K, On Campus Screenings, On Site Gym * Major efforts on Sustainability ex Water Conservation, Recycling/Zero Waste, Clean Energy * Great People with a passion for Pets!

    Cons

    * Can, at times, be slow to make decisions - but making progress * Challenges in meeting short term targets with longer term strategies

    Continue reading
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-04-04

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    April 8, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments, you have many positive things to say and offer some very important advice! You’ll notice agility, with clear decision making space as a pillar, is no longer a project. We realize this is a key driver to our future success and has ingrained itself in our company culture, so you’ll notice it is there to stay as a part of our 5 ‘Talls’. You also mention a need to balance short term planning with long-term strategy. Know this is an ongoing priority for our organization & your advice will be shared with senior leadership to reiterate just that. Again, we appreciate your feedback—thank you!

    Continue reading
  7. "Nestle Purina R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nestle Purina and Nestle Purina R&D have the right focus on making lives better for pets and everyone who love and care for them. Research and Development has top-notch ethical scientists and nutritionists whose main goal is to bring the very best in nutrition to the pet food we produce. When I began my career years ago in R&D, I had no idea what was involved in making pet food. The passion and care given by our scientists and nutritionists to be sure we make the very best product for our pets is simply what R&D does every day. R&D works closely with the business to understand what the consumer wants and then works to make that happen with at all times maintaining high quality nutritional pet food. I am proud of what R&D has accomplished and will continue to achieve in the coming years. For someone looking for a career, they have excellent pay and benefits, great perks (bring your pet to work) is just one of them, professional development, and a culture of collaboration, inclusiveness and teamwork. You will enjoy working here whether you choose NPP or NPP R&D!

    Cons

    As with any large global corporation it is sometimes hard to change some of the ways we work to all associates quickly. NPP and R&D have made large strides in becoming more agile and as the pet food category continues to become more competitive, NPP will need to continue this focus in order to increase their wins in the market.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-01-23

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    January 29, 2019Human Resources

    Wow, we appreciate your feedback and perspective after more than 10 years with the organization. It’s great to hear not only the passion you have for your day-to-day work and how that is making an impact on the lives of pets but also your take on leadership and the sure impact it is having on those on your team. Know that your advice on continuing our focus on agility and listening to associates has been heard and will be shared with senior leadership at Nestle Purina and within R&D. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (24)

    "People Leave Managers, Not Companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall, Purina has been a really great company to me and my family. The salary and benefits feel comparable to any other company in St. Louis. The campus is beautiful, you can bring your pets to work (and sometimes your kids in a pinch), there is a gym on site, and there is some flexibility with schedules and working from home to meet each person’s needs. As with most companies, the heart of it really comes down to the people. Most everyone strongly believes in the products and the company. Over the years all of my direct teammates and support team members have been kind to one another, celebrating the victories and lifting each other up in more challenging times.

    Cons

    Purina is in a state of flux, budgets are continually being cut in an attempt to course correct from not keeping up with industry trends. Lack of direction has become the norm. While new teams have formed to be more agile, the result has been chaos. Purina’s executive and senior management are out of touch with average employee. They tend to manage to their own agenda, often to advance their own career or to push meaningless corporate initiatives, rather than practicing true leadership. Good leaders inspire, are uplifting, support their team’s success and are able to get the most out of their staff without even asking or applying some initiative that should already be regular practice….because they’re that good! Frequently, employees are moved into leadership/management positions they’re not qualified to hold. I’ve been lucky to have some great leadership during my time at Purina, but most recently that was not the case. For context on my specific situation, the managing director on my team is disengaged from the overall team, rather focusing her attention on the part of the team that provides her the greatest exposure with senior leadership. She often inserted herself at the 11th hour of a project, quite frequently resulting in criticism and rework, but not leading the work to a better place. There is zero morale on the team, people are burned out, and there is no respect for the managing director. It has been a struggle to recruit new senior team members, because they don’t want any part of working with her and her track record. In the past four years, three people intentionally transitioned off the team through available internal positions, and nine (of roughly 20) people have left the company. Three of those people left without another job!! The most frustrating part of all of this? HR is aware of the situation. Anyone who is brave enough to bring up their challenges and frustrations are met with “I know, but there is nothing I can do”. Most recently, I was assigned to a new middle manager. She came with a reputation for being difficult, aggressive and insecure. She held four positions within Purina in five years, which is not the typical career progression at Purina, but a sign that leadership knows there is an issue and they’re passing it along for someone else to handle. In a matter of months, she turned a successful small team into a toxic wasteland, fostering an environment of distrust and fear of retaliation if speaking out. She systematically pushed out one team member before setting her sites on me. She proceeded to reduce my successful fifteen-year career at Purina into a meaningless pile of rubble. All the while, complaints across the team were piling up with her manager and HR regarding her inability to collaborate, overstepping her position, and lack of flexibility. Nothing was done. This past year, I was blindsided with documentation which included false claims regarding my work ethic and defamation of character. When I provided pages of documentation to counter the accusations, HR’s response was “well that’s what your manager said” or “well this is what they really mean”. I was not supported by HR or the management team, and HR did not remain neutral. The truth, backed by other’s accounts on this manager’s behavior, was unimportant. HR and management were only interested in silencing a person with a point of view, who was not afraid to speak up. I wholeheartedly believed my track record would speak for itself, shame on me for giving Purina that kind of credit.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2018-12-13

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    December 19, 2018Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review; I agree with much of what you share in terms of work-life balance and culture. However, my impression is that your situation is unique and not emblematic of a broader trend at the company. Your observations about budgets and direction have more to do with us embracing our external realities. We simply must be more agile and must change some long standing practices (we have); this is true of all in our industry. We have made our shift more successfully than just about all others. Living through this kind of fast change is not for everyone and we get that. Most of our leaders do get it and have evolved and embraced the reality. Again, thank you for your feedback. -Steve D., V.P. of Human Resources

    Continue reading
  9. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S.

    Pros

    Discounts on pet food Bringing pets to work Schedule flexibility Beautiful campus Co-workers

    Cons

    The new stress on savings at the expense of employees. Workloads have increased and work/life balance is slipping away. Do more with less is the new way of thinking. The mantra is to get rid of non-value added tasks and concentrate on what grows the business. My job is still overloaded with nothing but more responsibility and work coming my way. This is all for the same amount of pay before the cost saving initiatives. I used to love coming to work and felt fully engaged. Now some days I feel like I’m in a blender of chaos with no end in site. I’m worried the company is is real trouble and wondering where my future is. I see cuts in people but no other strategy. I see Blue Buffalo commercials that rip us to shreds and we do nothing. Internet forums talk about us like we’re poisoning animals and we are silent.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-01-25

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    January 30, 2019Human Resources

    You mention many benefits of working at Purina like a flexible schedule and great co-workers, and I could not agree more. You also bring up the need to get rid of non-value added work. We look to employees to prioritize and concentrate on what helps us become a more agile and efficient business. If you need assistance with that ,or any other clarifications, we ask that you reach out to your manager and/or HR Business Partner for guidance. Negative competitive advertising and other online misinformation can be frustrating. Please know that we have and will continue to address false claims and correct inaccuracies whenever possible, while also promoting our high quality and nutritious products. If you aren’t already a member, I’d encourage you to join our employee Pack to share our positive posts with your social media networks. I appreciate your input—thank you! –Wendy V., Director of Corporate Communication

    Continue reading
  10. "One of the best places to work in St. Louis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Continuous improvement mindset, always trying to be more agile - Culture with employee perks and conveniences (employee store, bring pets to work, nurse's office, gym, daycare) - Being surrounded by pet lovers and experts in pet nutrition

    Cons

    - Like other big companies with conservative cultures, changes can take time - Historical tendency not to hire senior leaders from the outside, resulting in more narrow experiences to draw from in different specialties (but I think that's changing with time and retirements) - Diversity and female leadership could be increased (which could also be interpreted as an opportunity for diverse talent, so please apply) - Job security isn't what it once was with a tough business environment, changes at Purina and the always looming possibility of changes driven by Nestle

    Continue reading
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2018-12-11

    Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

    December 14, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! You mention a lot of the efforts we believe will help us be successful in the future, like continuous improvement and agility, in addition to a passionate culture and experts in pet nutrition. You also mention an opportunity for more female leadership. We’re proud of the female promotions we’ve seen across the organization and are committed to gender balance and diversity. To your point— please apply! We’re grateful for your open and honest feedback. Thank you!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 118 reviews