Nelnet Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Nelnet Reviews

Updated 7 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Nelnet CEO Mike Dunlap
Mike Dunlap
161 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Still in training so maybe not the most accurate review I’ll come back with more after I’m in the bubble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor I in Aurora, CO

    I have been working at Nelnet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So far it’s been great ! Training is super informative, fun, and engaging. Our trainer Jamie Young is an absolute ROCKSTAR! Everyone has been really inviting and professional. Huge kitchen and free coffee and drinks ! There is ALWAYS food being passed around the office. Casual dress , good benefits package, room for advancement , liberal PTO. Gym membership several shifts to choose from and soooo much more !

    Cons

    So far I have no complaints !

    Nelnet2019-12-07
  2. "Can provided invaluable experience, but only if you are extremely adaptable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aurora, CO
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nelnet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people, generous paid time off, and invaluable experience

    Cons

    Must be extremely adaptable to an ever changing industry, mentally exhausting, below average pay, and extremely repetitive work

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees a greater opportunity to adapt to the ever changing landscape in your industry

    Nelnet2019-11-24
  3. "Great company to move up in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor I in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nelnet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, easy work, easy to advance with added benefits

    Cons

    Long training and odd hours

    Nelnet2019-10-31
  4. "Good benefits, horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor I in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nelnet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay is acceptable for the work, great call center job for experience, immediate ETO accrual

    Cons

    Micromanaging, Training leaves you unprepared for call floor, hiring process is grueling and if not completed correctly, can lead to termination

    Nelnet2019-11-13
  5. "Poor benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Nelnet full-time

    Pros

    Good managers that care about you

    Cons

    Poor benefits That are expensive

    Nelnet2019-11-08
  6. "They don't like their IT department very much."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nelnet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home at times.

    Cons

    Crap technology that constantly breaks, highly ineffective middle management, lots and lots of lip service

    Nelnet2019-11-27
  7. "It is Simple, Just Apply!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor I in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nelnet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive wages 401K Medical, Dental, Vision Benefits Monthly Competitions Fun and Respectable Environment Flexible Scheduling

    Cons

    There are weekly mandatory overtime requirements.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fun, yet productive work!

    Nelnet2019-10-18
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nelnet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very flexible with people.

    Cons

    They have mandatory OT during the holidays

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    Nelnet2019-10-16
  9. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nelnet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people all care about each other. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of investment in tools and technology.

    Nelnet2019-08-28
  10. "Great people and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Support Analyst 

    I worked at Nelnet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People, benefits, and Wellness program

    Cons

    They have deductibles on Insurance

    Nelnet2019-08-20
Found 321 reviews